Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Spencer, Juliet, Ph.D., Professor and Chair
Office: GRB 301
Phone: 940-898-2352
Email: JSpencer7@twu.edu

Primary Teaching Areas: Microbiology, Virology
Research Interests: Viral Immunology, Virus Evolution, and Immune Evasion

Ahmed, Shazia, Ph.D., Associate Clinical Professor
Office: ASSC 321
Phone: 940-898-2390
Email: sahmed@twu.edu 

Teaching Areas: Molecular Biology, Genetics, Principles of Biology, Neuroanatomy labs, and Human Biology

Averitt, Dayna L., Ph.D., Assistant Professor/Vivarium Director
Office: GRB 113
Phone: 940-898-2708
Email: DAveritt@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Mammalian Physiology, Pathophysiology, Biology of Aging, Biology Seminar
Research Interests: Sensory Neuroscience; Pain Mechanisms and Analgesia

Bergel, Michael, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Office: GRB 223
Phone: 940-898-2471
Email: mbergel@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Molecular Cell Biology
Research Interests: Identifying novel chromatin-associated targets for cancer therapy and cancer prevention. 

Mandy Biggers, Ph.D., Lecturer II
Office: Stoddard Hall 310
Phone: 940-898-2258
Email: mbiggers@twu.edu

Primary Teaching Areas: Elementary and Secondary Science Teachers, Science Education, and Engineering Education

Brower, Christopher, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Office: GRB 323
Phone: 940-898-2706
Email: CBrower@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Genetics
Research Interests: Ubiquitin proteasome system, Role of proteolytic degradation in cellular biology, mammalian physiology, and human disease. 

Conrad-Webb, Heather, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Office: GRB 225
Phone: 940-898-2449
Email: hconradwebb@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Molecular Cell Biology, Gene Expression, Genetics
Research Interests: Regulation of rRNA synthesis. 

Davis, Ann M., Ph.D., Lecturer I
Office: ASSC 340
Phone: 940-898-2366
Email: adavis21@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Principles of Biology, Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Immunology labs

Elrod, Diana, Ph.D., Lecturer II
Office: GRB 325
Phone: 940-898-2355
Email: DElrod@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Anatomy and Physiology and Non-Majors Science

Gumienny, Tina, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Office: OMB 410
Phone: 940-898-2718
Email: TGumienny@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Biology, Advanced Genetics
Research Interests: Cell communication

Hammett, Amy Jo, Ph.D., Assistant Clinical Professor
Office: ASSC 320
Phone: 940-898-2397
Email: ahammett1@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching and Research Areas: Microbiology, Immunology, Botany, Ecology, Environmental Biology, General Life Science Teaching Labs

Hanson, Laura, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Office: GRB 228
Phone: 940-898-2472
Email: lhanson@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Immunology, Virology, Bacteriology
Research Interests: Viruses, host interactions

Hynds, DiAnna, Ph.D., Professor
Office: GRB 104
Phone: 940-898-2359
Email: dhynds@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Neuroanatomy, Advanced Cell Biology, Systems Neuroscience, Signal Transduction
Research Interests: Signal transduction mechanisms that mediate axon growth and guidance in neurons

Kottegoda, Samanthi, Ph.D., Visiting Lecturer I
Email: wkottedgoda@twu.edu

Primary Teaching Areas: Microbiology, Anatomy & Physiology, and Environmental Biology

Maier, Camelia, Ph.D., Professor / Herbarium Director
Office: GRB 328
Phone: 940-898-2358
Email: cmaier@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Plant Biology, Ecology, Environmental Biology, Plant Biochemistry and Physiology, Plant Environmental Biology and Plant Ecophysiology
Research Interests: Plant secondary compounds, role in plant development, stress responses and reproduction

Mills, Nathaniel C., Ph.D., Professor/Radiation Safety Officer
Office: GRB 311
Phone: 940-898-2391
Email: nmills@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Biology, Endocrinology, Biology of Aging
Research Interests: Hormonal regulation of gene expression in male reproductive tissues

Pislariu, Catalina, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Office: GRB 329
Phone: 940-898-4611
Email: CPislariu@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Microbiology, Plant Biology, Biotechnology and Molecular Biology
Research Interests: Plant molecular biology. Plant-microbe interactions, Functional genomics of symbiotic nitrogen fixation

Sadat, Eva, Ph.D., Visiting Lecturer I 
Email: esadat@twu.edu

Primary Teaching Areas: Neuroanatomy, Pathophysiology, Cell and Molecular Biology, Gene Expression, and Ecology Labs

Tanner, Shaumarie, M.S.T., Assistant Clinical Professor and Laboratory Coordinator
Office: ASSC 322
Phone: 940-898-2398
Email: sscoggins@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: Anatomy and Physiology labs

Tennakoon, Deepani, Ph.D., Visiting Lecturer I 
Email: dtennakoon@twu.edu

Primary Teaching Areas: Pathophysiology and Principles of Biology Labs

Westmoreland, Sandra L., Ph.D., Associate Professor
Office: ASSC 341
Phone: 940-898-2560
Email: swestmoreland@twu.edu 

Primary Teaching Areas: All areas of Biology
Research Interests: Electron microscopy/Science Teacher Education

Staff

Faber, Sarah, Administrative Assistant
Office: GRB 304
Phone: 940-898-2354
Fax Number: 940-898-2382
Email: Sfaber1@twu.edu

Faure, Lionel, Ph.D., Research Associate
Office: GRB 310
Phone: 940-898-2365
Email: LFaure@twu.edu 

Fawcett, Beth, Secretary
Office: GRB 201
Phone: 940-898-2351
Email: EFawcett@twu.edu 

Advising

Biology

Donohoo, Kirsten
Office: 230A
Phone: 940-898-3850
Email: KDonohoo@twu.edu 

College of Arts & Sciences

Contact the TWU College of Arts & Sciences Advisers

Page last updated 4:50 PM, September 11, 2018