Faculty and Staff

Denton Campus Faculty

Shane Broughton

K. Shane Broughton, PhD
Chair
Professor
SRC 204
kbroughton@twu.edu
940-898-2637

Research interests: Omega-3 fatty acids and immune regulation impact on polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and ovulation, and asthma and asthma diagnostics

Kathleen Davis

Kathleen Davis, PhD, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director – Denton
Associate Professor
SRC 204
kdavis10@twu.edu
940-898-2651

Research interests: Pediatric obesity prevention and weight management; pediatric developmental disorders and nutritional intervention

no image

Angela Griffin, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetics Program Director
Assistant Clinical Professor
OMB 311A
agriffin3@twu.edu
940-898-2657

A portrait of Xiaofen Du.

Xiaofen Du, PhD
Associate Professor
WH 211
xdu@twu.edu
940-898-2667

Research interests: Using instrumental and sensory approaches to characterize and create flavor (aroma, taste, trigeminal sensation) and texture of various agricultural produce and food products associated with human health and wellness and a sustainable planet.

Helen Everts

Helen Everts, PhD, RDN
Associate Professor
SRC 204
heverts@twu.edu
940-898-2639

Research interests: Vitamin A metabolism and function, with an emphasis on skin cancer and hair loss diseases

A portrait of Shanil Juma.

Shanil Juma, PhD
Professor
SRC 204
sjuma@twu.edu
940-898-2704

Research interests: The cause of age-related conditions such as osteoarthritis and osteoporosis and developing nutritional strategies to prevent and manage them

Monique LeMieux

Monique LeMieux, PhD
Associate Professor
SRC 204
mlemieux@twu.edu
940-898-2712

Research interests: Adipose tissue biology and its role in obesity-induced inflammation and PCOS; use of bio-actives as nutritional interventions for these conditions

no image

Jennifer Mills
Assistant Clinical Professor
OMB 312
jmills14@twu.edu
940-898-2814

headshot of Mandana Pahlavani

Mandana Pahlavani, PhD
Assistant Professor
SRC 204I
mpahlavani@twu.edu
940-898-2650

Research interests: High-density Lipoprotein (HDL) function, Reverse Cholesterol Transport (RCT), Inflammation and Atherosclerosis, use of bioactive food compounds and nutrients such as polyphenols, antioxidants, and functional foods in reducing cardiovascular disease (CVD), obesity, and inflammation.

no image

Zhipeng (Toby) Tao, PhD
Assistant Professor
SRC 204K
ztao@twu.edu
940-898-2641

no image

Danhui Wang, PhD

Assistant Professor
OMB 313B
dwang4@twu.edu
940-898-2709

Research interests: Food safety; food microbiology; rapid detection; microbial metabolomics

Cynthia Warren

Cynthia Warren, PhD
Associate Professor
OMB 313A
cwarren2@twu.edu
940-898-2647

Research interests: Interface between public health and the food industry; nutrition and food safety literacy

Houston Campus Faculty

Derek Miketinas

Derek Miketinas, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
dmiketinas@twu.edu
713-794-2376

headshot of Rachel Poland

Rachel Poland, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director - Houston
Assistant Clinical Professor
Houston Center 7118
cpoland@twu.edu
713-794-2344

Research interests: Clinical nutrition, professional issues and educational modules

A headshot of Mindy Patterson.

Mindy Patterson, PhD, RDN, LD
Associate Professor
Houston Center 7023
mpatterson14@twu.edu
713-794-2375

Research interests: The impact of nutrient intake on gut-derived satiety mediators, adipokines and body composition

A headshot of Wesley Tucker.

Wesley Tucker, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
Houston Center 7018
wtucker1@twu.edu
713-794-2379

Research Interests: Heart failure pathophysiology, obesity, dietary interventions, functional foods, exercise training, exercise testing, cardiorespiratory fitness, vascular biology, skeletal muscle function and cardiac function

Staff

Photo unavailable

Estée Easley
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Denton Campus - SRC 204
eeasley@twu.edu
940-898-2637

Photo Unavailable

Stephanie Turkel
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
WH 013A
sturkel@twu.edu
940-898-2468

Page last updated 1:34 PM, February 16, 2024