Faculty and Staff

Denton Campus Faculty

Shane Broughton

K. Shane Broughton, PhD
Chair
Professor
SRC 204
kbroughton@twu.edu
940-898-2637

Research interests: Omega-3 fatty acids and immune regulation impact on polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and ovulation, and asthma and asthma diagnostics

Kathleen Davis

Kathleen Davis, PhD, RDN, CSP, LD
Assistant Professor
SRC 204
kdavis10@twu.edu
940-898-2651

Research interests: Pediatric obesity prevention and weight management; pediatric developmental disorders and nutritional intervention

A portrait of Xiaofen Du.

Xiaofen Du, PhD
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
xdu@twu.edu
940-898-2667

Research interests: Flavor chemistry and sensory evaluation of various fresh and processed foods and beverages; the relationship between food flavor, health benefits and nutritional values; and flavor reconstitution

Helen Everts

Helen Everts, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
SRC 204
heverts@twu.edu
940-898-2639

Research interests: Vitamin A metabolism and function, with an emphasis on skin cancer and hair loss diseases

A portrait of Vicky Imrhan.

Vicky Imrhan, PhD, RDN, LD
Professor
SRC 204
vimrhan@twu.edu
940-898-2650

Research interests: Role of nutrition in preventing and treating chronic disorders, especially cancer and diabetes

A portrait of Shanil Juma.

Shanil Juma, PhD
Professor
SRC 204
sjuma@twu.edu
940-898-2704

Research interests: The cause of age-related conditions such as osteoarthritis and osteoporosis and developing nutritional strategies to prevent and manage them

A headshot of Dolores Kearney.

Dolores Kearney, MPH, RDN, LD
Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Director
Associate Clinical Professor
OMB 313B
dkearney1@twu.edu
940-898-2641

Research interests: Nutrition education, dietetics education curriculum development, foodservice management and culinary science

Monique LeMieux

Monique LeMieux, PhD
Assistant Professor
SRC 204
mlemieux@twu.edu
940-898-2712

Research interests: Adipose tissue biology and its role in obesity-induced inflammation and PCOS; use of bio-actives as nutritional interventions for these conditions

Martha Rew

Martha Rew, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director - Denton
Associate Clinical Professor
OMB 311A
mrew@twu.edu
940-898-2657

Research interests: Medical nutrition therapy, nutrition education, dietetics education issues and obesity/weight management

Cynthia Warren

Cynthia Warren, PhD
Associate Professor
OMB 313A
cwarren2@twu.edu
940-898-2647

Research interests: Interface between public health and the food industry; nutrition and food safety literacy

Houston Campus Faculty

Derek Miketinas

Derek Miketinas, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
dmiketinas@twu.edu
713-794-2256

A headshot of Carolyn Moore.

Carolyn Moore, PhD, RDN
Associate Professor
Houston Center 7017
cmoore8@twu.edu
713-794-2377

Research interests: Food security, vitamin D, functional ingredients and clinical practice

A headshot of Karen Moreland.

Karen Moreland, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director - Houston
Associate Clinical Professor
Houston Center 7021
kstone@twu.edu
713-794-2344

Research interests: Clinical nutrition, professional issues and educational modules

A headshot of Mindy Patterson.

Mindy Patterson, PhD, RDN, LD
Associate Professor
Houston Center 7023
mpatterson14@twu.edu
713-794-2375

Research interests: The impact of nutrient intake on gut-derived satiety mediators, adipokines and body composition

A headshot of Wesley Tucker.

Wesley Tucker, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
Houston Center 7018
wtucker1@twu.edu
713-794-2379

Research Interests: Heart failure pathophysiology, obesity, dietary interventions, functional foods, exercise training, exercise testing, cardiorespiratory fitness, vascular biology, skeletal muscle function and cardiac function

Staff

Photo unavailable

Estée Easley
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Denton Campus - SRC 204
eeasley@twu.edu
940-898-2637

Photo Unavailable

Senior Secretary
Houston Center 7019
713-794-2371

Photo Unavailable

Stephanie Turkel
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
WH 013A
sturkel@twu.edu
940-898-2468

Page last updated 2:25 PM, June 14, 2022