Faculty and Staff

Denton Campus Faculty

A headshot of Shane Broughton.

K. Shane Broughton, PhD
Chair
Professor
OMB 307
kbroughton@twu.edu
940-898-2637

Research interests: Omega-3 fatty acids and immune regulation impact on polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and ovulation, and asthma and asthma diagnostics

A portrait of Kathleen Davis.

Kathleen Davis, PhD, RDN, CSP, LD
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
kdavis10@twu.edu
940-898-2651

Research interests: Pediatric obesity prevention and weight management; pediatric developmental disorders and nutritional intervention

A portrait of Xiaofen Du.

Xiaofen Du, PhD
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
xdu@twu.edu
940-898-2667

Research interests: Flavor chemistry and sensory evaluation of various fresh and processed foods and beverages; the relationship between food flavor, health benefits and nutritional values; and flavor reconstitution

A portrait of Helen Everts.

Helen Everts, PhD, RDN
Assistant Professor
OMB 301
heverts@twu.edu
940-898-2639

Research interests: Vitamin A metabolism and function, with an emphasis on skin cancer and hair loss diseases

A portrait of Vicky Imrhan.

Vicky Imrhan, PhD, RDN, LD
Professor
OMB 308A
vimrhan@twu.edu
940-898-2650

Research interests: Role of nutrition in preventing and treating chronic disorders, especially cancer and diabetes

A portrait of Shanil Juma.

Shanil Juma, PhD
Professor
OMB 308E
sjuma@twu.edu
940-898-2704

Research interests: The cause of age-related conditions such as osteoarthritis and osteoporosis and developing nutritional strategies to prevent and manage them

A headshot of Dolores Kearney.

Dolores Kearney, MPH, RDN, LD
Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) Director
Associate Clinical Professor
OMB 313B
dkearney1@twu.edu
940-898-2641

Research interests: Nutrition education, dietetics education curriculum development, foodservice management and culinary science

A headshot of Monique LeMieux.

Monique LeMieux, PhD
Assistant Professor
OMB 314
mlemieux@twu.edu
940-898-2712

Research interests: Adipose tissue biology and its role in obesity-induced inflammation and PCOS; use of bio-actives as nutritional interventions for these conditions

A headshot of Chandan Prasad.

Chandan Prasad, PhD
Professor
OMB 314
cprasad@twu.edu
940-898-2636

Research interests: Obesity and related metabolic disorders; fat cell and adipokines biology; role of botanicals and functional foods on obesity and adipobiology

A headshot of Martha Rew.

Martha Rew, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director - Denton
Associate Clinical Professor
OMB 308B
mrew@twu.edu
940-898-2657

Research interests: Medical nutrition therapy, nutrition education, dietetics education issues and obesity/weight management

A headshot of Parakat Vijayagopal.

Parakat Vijayagopal, PhD
Professor
OMB 308D
pvijayagopal@twu.edu
940-898-2709

Research interests: Role of plasma lipoproteins and arterial wall proteoglycans in the pathophysiology of atherosclerosis, anti-obesity compounds and metabolic syndrome athophysiology

A headshot of Cynthia Warren.

Cynthia Warren, PhD
Associate Professor
OMB 313A
cwarren2@twu.edu
940-898-2647

Research interests: Interface between public health and the food industry; nutrition and food safety literacy

Houston Campus Faculty

A headshot of Derek Miketinas.

Derek Miketinas, PhD
Assistant Professor
dmiketinas@twu.edu

A headshot of Carolyn Moore.

Carolyn Moore, PhD, RDN
Associate Professor
Houston Center 7017
cmoore8@twu.edu
713-794-2377

Research interests: Food security, vitamin D, functional ingredients and clinical practice

A headshot of Karen Moreland.

Karen Moreland, MS, RDN, LD
Dietetic Internship Director - Houston
Associate Clinical Professor
Houston Center 7021
kstone@twu.edu
713-794-2344

Research interests: Clinical nutrition, professional issues and educational modules

A headshot of Mindy Patterson.

Mindy Patterson, PhD, RDN, LD
Assistant Professor
Houston Center 7023
mpatterson14@twu.edu
713-794-2375

Research interests: The impact of nutrient intake on gut-derived satiety mediators, adipokines and body composition

A headshot of Wesley Tucker.

Wesley Tucker, PhD
Assistant Professor
Houston Center 7018
wtucker1@twu.edu
713-794-2379

Research Interests: Heart failure pathophysiology, obesity, dietary interventions, functional foods, exercise training, exercise testing, cardiorespiratory fitness, vascular biology, skeletal muscle function and cardiac function

Staff

Photo unavailable

Estée Easley
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Denton Campus - OMB 308
eeasley@twu.edu
940-898-2637

A headshot of Laura Huntsberry

Laura Huntsberry
Senior Secretary
Houston Center 7019
jhuntsberry@twu.edu
713-794-2371

Page last updated 3:59 PM, February 26, 2020