Our Events

Our events are updated on the School of Occupational Therapy homepage as more information becomes available. The events described below are signature events hosted by the School of Occupational Therapy:

Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship

The 27th Annual Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship: Friday, February 7, 2020

The Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship was established in 1994 by Roland and Virginia Chandler Dykes to honor the first program director of occupational therapy at Texas Woman’s University, Fanny B. Vanderkooi. It celebrates the School of Occupational Therapy’s legacy of commitment to vision, professional values, and leadership development in occupational therapy education, practice and research. The event is typically held in February and has become known as a favorite homecoming event for alumni of the TWU School of Occupational Therapy.

Community Building Workshops

The School of Occupational Therapy Community Building Workshops were established in 2001 to celebrate the professional community that surrounds and supports the School, showcase emerging and established area expertise, and to provide a vehicle for networking to foster collaborations between the professional resources of this regional occupational therapy community. The workshops are generally held in conjunction with the Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship.

Bridging The Gap

Bridging the Gap is an annual event hosted by the Pi Theta Epsilon honor society in Denton. A researcher from a related field is invited to address students, alumni, and guests and then a panel of occupational therapy experts discuss the topic to help ‘bridge the gap’ between research and occupational therapy practice. The event provides continuing education for occupational therapy practitioners.

December 6th
1:00-1:30 Research walk through/open house
1:30-3:30 Programming

Denton Campus - CFO

Mary Joyce Newsom Award

The award was established to honor Mary Joyce Newsom for her professional contributions, her personal qualities, and to honor and promote student excellence at the Houston Center. Mary Joyce Newsom received both her BS and MA degrees in occupational therapy from Texas Woman’s University. She served as Director of Occupational Therapy at The Institute for Rehabilitation and Research in Houston for 20 years, until she resigned in 1980 because of ill health. Donald and Harriett Davidson, following Miss Newsom’s death, established the Newsom Award fund in 1982. This fund was transferred to the Mary Joyce Newsom Endowment Fund for Occupational Therapy in 1994. The Newsom Award was first given at the Houston Center in 1982, at the time of a recognition ceremony for students leaving the center to go to their Level II fieldwork experiences. In 1994 a separate ceremony was begun, in which the awardees from the prior year returned to TWU to present a lecture to current students. Students, faculty, staff, and community members are invited to the lecture; light refreshments to follow.

The criteria for the award are based on Miss Newsom’s concept of the ideal occupational therapist. Specifically, these include scholarship, professional/community service, and personal characteristics including an ability to see things in perspective, a genuine sense of humor, a commitment to finding better ways to do things, a commitment to the theoretical base of occupational therapy, and a genuine interest in and concern for people.

Celebration of Scholarship

Celebration of Scholarship is a student organized workshop that features the research endeavors of students in the School of Occupational Therapy. It is held by Pi Theta Epsilon each spring semester on the Dallas Campus.

The purpose of “Celebration of Scholarship” is to recognize and encourage academic excellence that contributes to the advancement of the field of occupational therapy through the pursuit of scholarly works.

The tradition of “Celebration of Scholarship” includes a presentation by the invited scholar followed by a combination of poster presentations and short courses that will be presented to showcase student occupational therapy research. This is an excellent opportunity to give students feedback and enable them to learn about developing research in the field.

Past student presentations have included such topics as: home modification assessment, art cart use among blood and bone marrow transplant patients, neuro-rehabilitation therapy, low vision devices, sleep across the lifespan, the effectiveness of the TV teacher on improving handwriting, intentional legacy in a palliative care settings, and protocols and outcomes of serial casting.

For more information, email pte.dallas.cos@gmail.com

Page last updated 7:50 AM, November 13, 2019