Grants, Awards and Accomplishments

Suzanne Burns, PhD, OTR, is the TWU PI for a NIDILRR funded project subaward from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Community Participation through Personalized Accessibility Information: The Access Ratings NextGen App (ARB) - $40,000.

Suzanne Burns, PhD, OTR, and Noralyn Pickens, PhD, OT, are partners with University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Roger Smith, PI) and Columbia University (Rochelle Mendonca) on $1,500,000 NIDILRR grant for HESTIA NextGen.

Tina Fletcher, EdD, OTR, received a Texas 60x30 two-year grant award from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board - Project Title: Planning for Autism in Venues and Events ‐ Innovative ASD Treatment Models. Project collaborators: My Possibilities and Autism Treatment Center - $267,000

Tina Fletcher, EdD, OTR, received an Autism Spectrum Disorder Screening and Early Action in Primary Care from the Sigma/American Nurses Credentialing Center Evidence-Based Practice Implementation Grant of $20,000.

Amy Gibbs, PhD candidate, and Patty Bowyer, EdD, (mentor) were awarded $4,100 for Gibbs’ doctoral research “The child assessment of self-care: Development and refinement” from the Jean A. Spencer Research Award.

Shannon Levandowski, OTD, OTR, 2020 chairperson for the AOTA Academic Leadership Council AFWCC, received the 2020 Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award from the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee.

Marsha Neville, PhD, developed the Discharge Planning Assessment Tool (DPAT) designed to strategically guide the occupational therapist in planning and implementing client-centered treatment for a successful discharge home. The tool measures critical factors known to contribute to failed discharges. The DPAT supports successful discharge planning and outcomes.

Angela Shierk, PhD, OTR, and Heather Roberts, PhD, OTR, received $6,888 from the TWU Research Enhancement Program to support their project the “Development of an Online Home Program Toolbox for Children and Adolescents with Cerebral Palsy.” They also received a $20,000 private donation for their Therapy Together program.

Angela Shierk, PhD, OTR, and Dr. Delgado-Ayala were selected as a protégé/mentor pair in the 2021 TWU Chancellor’s Research Fellows (CRF) Program. Shierk also is a research OT at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital.

Page last updated 8:59 AM, April 28, 2021