Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship

28th Vanderkooi Endowed Lecturer

Roger Smith

Roger O. Smith, PhD, OT, FAOTA, RESNA Fellow
Professor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Rehabilitation Research Design & Disability Center Director

"The Implications of the Metaphysical Physical-Emotive
Theory of Occupation on Everything Occupation"

Friday, February 5, 2021
9 a.m. to 12 p.m. CST
Free Virtual Event

Register for the Event


  • 9 a.m. - Endowed Lecture by Dr. Roger Smith
  • 11 a.m. - Mentored Student Research Presentations

At the Eleanor Clark Slagle Lecture in 2017 we unveiled a new theory. It was of grand nature, suited for the 100th anniversary of the occupational therapy profession in Philadelphia. It grounded occupation as foundational in metaphysical existence. We named it the Metaphysical Physical-Emotive Theory of Occupation (MPETO). Today it has matured. This Vanderkooi Lecture will remind us of the core fundamentals of the MPETO. It will then take us on a journey deeper into its meaning and implications on occupational science and occupational therapy practice. Neuroscience, linguistics, physics, disability science, mental health and the arts directly relate to the MPETO. Essentially, the MPETO helps explain why occupation is central to healthy human behavior and thus, suggests a rationale for interventions based on a fundamental metaphysical reality. This lecture sets a new context for the study of human occupation and occupation-based interventions.

About the Lecturer

Roger O. Smith’s research focuses on measurement related to disability and the application of assistive technology and universal design. In measurement, Smith examines assessments to determine their reliability and validity in use. He has created a software-based evaluation system that uses a branching question structure called TTSS (Trichotomous Tailored Sub-branching Scoring.) Smith also investigates the effectiveness of assistive technology and universal design interventions on the lives of people with disabilities. Currently, Smith directs several federally-funded projects, has served as primary author and director for more than 35 grant and contract awards of over $10 million of extramural-sponsored research and training programs. These projects have supported many dozens of students in assistive technology training and in research support positions. Smith is the director of the R2D2 Center which provides an interdisciplinary home for basic research, applied research and development, as well as innovative instruction related to technology and disability.

Register for the Event


The Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship was established in 1994 to honor the first program director of occupational therapy at Texas Woman’s University, Fanny B. Vanderkooi. It celebrates the School of Occupational Therapy’s legacy of commitment to vision, professional values, and leadership development in occupational therapy education, practice and research. The event is typically attended by more than 250 occupational therapy professionals, inclusive of students. 

Founders – Vanderkooi Endowment

Roland & Virginia Chandler Dykes
George & Grace Gilkeson
Bonnie Strauss

Vanderkooi Advisory Committee

Noralyn Pickens, Chairperson
Regina Michael Campbell
Thomas Halka
Heather McBride
Monica McClain
Cynthia Evetts
Virginia Chandler Dykes (Emeritus)

Community Building Workshops Planning Committee

Gail Poskey, Chair
Shannon Levandowski
Jennie Martin
Marsha Neville

Previous Vanderkooi Lecturers

1993 Lela Llorens, PhD, OTR

1994 Charles Christiansen, Ed.D, OTR

1995 Penny Kyler-Hutchinson, MA, OTR/L, FAOTA

1996/97 Catherine Trombly, PhD, OTR

1998 Carolyn Baum, PhD, OTR

1999 Beatriz Abreu, PhD, OTR

2000 Shereen Farber, PhD, OTR

2001 Linda Fazio, PhD, OTR

2002 Karen Jacobs, EdD, OTR

2003 Barbara Kornblau, JD, OT/L

2004 Patricia Crist, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

2005 Jim Hinojosa, PhD

2006 Suzanne Peloquin, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

2007 Wendy Wood, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

2008 Penelope Moyers, EdD, OTR/L, BCMH, FAOTA

2009 Kenneth Ottenbacher, PhD

2010 Barbara A. Boyt Schell, PhD, OT, FAOTA

2011 Glen Gillen, EdD, OTR, FAOTA

2012 Florence A. Clark, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

2013 Mary Law, PhD, MSc, BSc

2014 Jane Case-Smith, EdD, OT, FAOTA

2015 Susan Coppola, MS, OTR/L, BCG, FAOTA

2016 Barbara M. Doucet, PhD, LOTR

2017 Anne G. Fisher, ScD, OT, FAOTA

2018 Thomas F. Fisher, PhD, OT, CCM, FAOTA

2019 Susan M. Cahill, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

2020 Deirdre R. Dawson, PhD, OT Reg. (Ont.)

Page last updated 2:15 PM, January 7, 2021