Advising

The Office of Educator Preparation Services (OEPS) staff members are available to answer questions concerning admission, advising, and certification requirements and procedures Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m (limited evening and weekend appointments are available). OEPS advising services are available through Zoom. However, if you have a general advising question or need additional assistance, please contact copeadvising@twu.edu.

To request information on education degree options or if you need help with the certification process, schedule an appointment with an OEPS advisor.

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA): During an advising appointment, advisors may only discuss educational records with the student. Students may authorize third parties, such as parents or guardians, access to review their academic records. To grant such access, a student can complete and sign the TWU Authorization to Release Educational Records form and submit it to the Registrar's Office with a copy of their photo ID.

Schedule an Appointment

Students seeking high school subject-level certification or a certificate that covers all grade levels major in the subject area (e.g., English, Theatre Arts) of their certificate and minor in education. Students seeking degrees in the College of Arts and Sciences or the College of Health Sciences should contact the appropriate advisor below in addition to scheduling a meeting with OEPS:

scroll to see the full table

DepartmentAdvisorOfficePhoneEmail
Dance Ilana Morgan DGL 205A 940-898-2003 imorgan@twu.edu
English Ashley Bender CFO 801 940-898-2334 abender@twu.edu 
History/Social Studies Lybeth Hodges CFO 603 940-898-2136 lhodges@twu.edu
Mathematics Cathy Banks MCL 416 940-898-2770 cbanks@twu.edu
Music Vicki Baker MUS 204 940-898-2724 vbaker@twu.edu
Physical Education Kathryn Brown PH 208H 940-898-2851 kbrown7@twu.edu
Science (Biology) Mandy Biggers GRB 214 940-898-2258 mbiggers2@twu.edu
Science (Chemistry) Lynda Peebles ASSC 331 940-898-2556 lpeebles@twu.edu
Theatre Arts Patrick Bynane MUS 200 940-898-2518 pbynane@twu.edu
Family & Consumer Sciences Joyce Armstrong WH 104G 940-898-2690 jarmstrong@twu.edu

 

The Undergraduate Minor in Education prepares educator candidates for the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) exam (State Board for Educator Certification through the Texas Education Agency). If you are a resident of another state, contact the Office of Educator Preparation Services to determine whether our program fulfills requirements to take the certification exam in your home state.

Page last updated 3:52 PM, June 25, 2021