Advising

The Office of Educator Preparation Services (OEPS) staff members are available to answer questions concerning admission, advising, and certification requirements and procedures Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. OEPS is located in Stoddard Hall, Room 211.

To request information on education degree options or if you need help with the certification process, schedule an appointment with an OEPS advisor.

To continue to promote health and well-being, the Office of Educator Preparation Services advising services will only be available via email until further notice. Please contact copeadvising@twu.edu with any questions or concerns.

Schedule an Appointment

Students seeking high school subject-level certification or a certificate that covers all grade levels major in the subject area (e.g., English, Theatre Arts) of their certificate and minor in education. Students seeking degrees in the College of Arts and Sciences or the College of Health Sciences should contact the appropriate advisor below in addition to scheduling a meeting with OEPS:

scroll to see the full table

DepartmentAdvisorOfficePhoneEmail
Dance Ilana Morgan DGL 205A 940-898-2003 imorgan@twu.edu
English Stephen Souris CFO 903 Email only ssouris@twu.edu
History/Social Studies Lybeth Hodges CFO 603 940-898-2136 lhodges@twu.edu
Mathematics Cathy Banks MCL 416 940-898-2770 cbanks@twu.edu
Music Vicki Baker MUS 204 940-898-2724 vbaker@twu.edu
Physical Education Kathryn Brown PH 208H 940-898-2851 kbrown7@twu.edu
Science (Biology) Mandy Biggers GRB 214 940-898-2258 mbiggers2@twu.edu
Science (Chemistry) Lynda Peebles ASSC 331 940-898-2556 lpeebles@twu.edu
Theatre Arts Patrick Bynane MUS 200 940-898-2518 pbynane@twu.edu
Family & Consumer Sciences Joyce Armstrong WH 104G 940-898-2690 jarmstrong@twu.edu

 

The Undergraduate Minor in Education prepares educator candidates for the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) exam (State Board for Educator Certification through the Texas Education Agency). If you are a resident of another state, contact the Office of Educator Preparation Services to determine whether our program fulfills requirements to take the certification exam in your home state.

Page last updated 8:20 AM, October 16, 2020