COMS Faculty & Staff

Administration

Cindy Gill-Sams

Cindy Gill-Sams, EdD, CCC-SLP
Interim Department Chair
Professor
MCL 845
cgill@twu.edu
940-898-2023

Education: EdD, Texas A&M; MEd, BS, Southwest Texas State University
Research areas: International professional preparation initiatives; treatment of language disorders

Education of the Deaf Faculty

A portrait of Tamby Allman.

Tamby Allman, EdD, CED
Advisor, Education of the Deaf Program
Professor
MCL 833
tallman@twu.edu
940-898-2028

Education: EdD, National Louis University; MS, Texas Woman's University; BS Baylor University
Research area: Literacy skills for children who are deaf/hard of hearing; inclusion of students who are deaf or hard of hearing in general education classrooms

Chad Smith

Chad Smith, PhD
Professor
MCL 841
csmith17@twu.edu
940-898-2041

Education: PhD, Nova Southeastern University; MS, BA, Lamar University
Research areas: Technology and deafness, health-related issues and the internet

Sarah Wainscott

Sarah Wainscott, PhD, CCC-A, CED
Associate Professor
MCL 843
swainscott@twu.edu 
940-898-2470

Education: PhD, Gallaudet University; MEd, BS, James Madison University
Research areas: Early detection and intervention for children with hearing loss

SLP Faculty

Erika Armstrong

Erika Armstrong, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor
Associate Dean, College of Health Sciences
WH 202
earmstrong@twu.edu
940-898-2474

Education: PhD, MS, BA, The University of Texas at Dallas
Research area: Pediatric feeding disorders

A portrait of Sneha Bharadwaj.

Sneha Bharadwaj, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor
MCL 847
sbharadwaj@twu.edu
940-898-4034

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Dallas; MS, BS, University of Mysore
Research areas: Speech, language, literacy and cognitive outcomes in children with cochlear implants

A portrait of Christopher Bolinger.

Christopher Bolinger, PhD, CCC-SLP
SLP Program Director, On-Campus Venue
Assistant Professor
MCL 848
cbolinger@twu.edu
940-898-2001

Education: PhD, MS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; BBA, Texas Tech University
Research area: Dysphagia

Alison Brockett

Alison Brockett, MS, CCC-SLP
Assistant Clinical Professor
Director, Speech, Language and Hearing Clinic
MCL 601-B
abrockett@twu.edu
940-898-2027

A portrait of Paula Chance smiling.

Paula Chance, MS, CCC-SLP
SLP Program Director, Distance Venue

Associate Clinical Professor
MCL 824
pchance@twu.edu
940-898-2012

Education: MS, Texas Woman's University; BS, Abilene Christian University
Research area: Inclusion of speech service in the public school classroom

Laura Green

Laura Green, PhD, CCC-SLP
PhD Coordinator
Professor
MCL 846
lgreen@twu.edu
940-898-2030

Education: PhD, University of Washington; MA, University of Houston; BS, Stephen F. Austin
Research areas: Child language disorders; morphology; literacy

photo unavilable

Michelle Herzer, MA, CCC-SLP
Assistant Clinical Professor
mherzer@twu.edu
214-689-6702

Education: MA, Texas Woman's University; BS, Texas Christian University
Research area: Noninvasive brain stimulation due to primary progressive aphasia

Rebecca Jimenez

Rebecca Jimenez, MS, CCC-SLP
Assistant Clinical Professor
MCL 619
rjimenez2@twu.edu
940-898-2031

June Levitt

June Levitt, PhD, CCC-SLP
Associate Professor
MCL 822
jlevitt@twu.edu
940-898-2033

Education: PhD, MS, The University of Texas at Dallas; BA, Musashino Woman's University
Research areas: Voice remediation and voice-related quality of life for individuals with Parkinson's disease

Catherine Lynch

Catherine Carrasco Lynch, MS, CCC-SLP
Practicum Director, SLP Distance Venue
Associate Clinical Professor
MCL 824
clynch4@twu.edu
940-898-2036

Education: MS, BS, Texas Woman's University
Research areas: Improving language literacy development of bilingual populations; promoting improved phonemic awareness for English language learners in their native languages

Jyutika Mehta

Jyutika Mehta, PhD, CCC-SLP
Director, Stroke Center - Dallas
Professor
IHSD 1729
jmehta@twu.edu
214-689-6610

Education: PhD, MS, The University of Texas at Dallas
Research areas: Treatment of various language, cognitive and motor disorders using non-invasive electrical brain stimulation

Kimberly Mory

Kimberly Mory, PhD, CCC-SLP
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Clinical Professor
MCL 617
kmory@twu.edu
940-898-2024

Education: PhD, Texas Woman’s University; MA, BA, California State University, Fullerton
Research areas: Traumatic brain injury and dysphagia

Michelle Nishida

Michelle Nishida, MS, CCC-SLP
Visiting Assistant Clinical Professor
MCL 848
mnishida@twu.edu
940-898-2066

Bita Payestah

Bita Payesteh, PhD, CCC-SLP
Associate Professor
MCL 848
bpayesteh@twu.edu
940-898-2026

Education: PhD, University of Minnesota; MS, BA, The University of Texas at Dallas
Research areas: Bilingual language acquisition and development in children; preservation of heritage languages in minority populations

Sarah Wainscott

Sarah Wainscott, PhD, CCC-A, CED
Associate Professor
MCL 843
swaincott@twu.edu
940-898-2470

Education: PhD, Gallaudet University; MEd, BS, James Madison University
Research areas: Early detection and intervention for children with hearing loss

A portrait of Alisa Woods

Alisa Woods, MS, CCC-SLP
Clinical Professor
IHSD 1721
awoods2@twu.edu
214-689-6657

Education: MS, Texas Woman's University; BS, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Research area: Adult neurogenics

Staff

photo unavailable

Kassandra Hernandez
Admissions Coordinator
MCL 824
khernandez58@twu.edu
940-898-2873

photo unavailable

Taylor Herrington
Admissions Coordinator
MCL 824
therrington@twu.edu
940-898-2042

David Infante

David Infante
Advisor, Undergraduate Program
MCL 823
dinfante@twu.edu
940-898-2021

photo unavailable

Karen Metker
Senior Secretary
Dental Hygiene
MCL 911A
kmetker1@twu.edu
940-898-2870

Linda Pacheco-Demski

Linda Pacheco-Demski
Senior Secretary
MCL 820-A
LPachecoDemski@twu.edu 
940-898-2419

Michael Phipps

Michael Phipps
Business Manager
MCL 837
mphipps@twu.edu
940-898-2019

Photo Unavailable

Carol Pickle
Senior Secretary, The Stroke Center - Dallas
IHSD 1703
cpickle@twu.edu
214-689-6592

photo unavailable

Lori Walker
Senior Secretary
Speech, Language and Hearing Clinic
MCL 601A
Lwalker3@twu.edu
940-898-2285

Emeritus Faculty

  • Robin Abellera
  • Laura Moorer
  • Melissa Stockholm
  • Delaina Walker-Batson
  • Alfred White

Page last updated 4:06 PM, December 6, 2022