Grades are received and processed by the Registrar’s Office the week after the term ends.
All grades submitted by the deadline listed on the academic calendar (typically the Monday after the end of the term) will be viewable the following day. To view grades, students may either log into their WebAdvisor and select My Grades from the Student Menu or view their unofficial transcript via Student Self-Service.
Honors as they pertain to graduation: Students must have earned at least 30 hours of coursework at Texas Woman’s University prior to applying for graduation to be eligible to graduate from Texas Woman's University with the distinction of having honors. Honors are based on a student’s cumulative grade point average.
3.9 - 4.00: Summa cum Laude
3.7 - 3.89: Magna cum Laude
3.5 - 3.69: Cum Laude
Based on a term grade point average of 4.0 in a fall or spring semester, degree-seeking undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students who complete at least 12 graded TWU semester credit hours (excluding courses with pass/fail) are eligible for the Chancellor’s List in recognition of their excellence in academic work. Students are notified of this honor by the Office of the Chancellor.
Based on a term grade point average of 3.5 - 3.99 in a fall or spring semester, degree-seeking undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students who complete at least 12 graded TWU semester credit hours (excluding courses with pass/fail) are eligible for the Dean’s List in recognition of their excellence in academic work. Students are notified of this honor by the Dean of the college in which their selected academic program resides.
Grades of Incomplete
The Incomplete (I) grade is given only when a student has passing grades in 2/3 of assigned work but cannot complete all the course work by the end of the semester because of extenuating circumstances. Extenuating circumstances include:
- Incapacitating illness which prevents a student from attending classes;
- A death in the immediate family;
- Change in work schedule as required by an employer; or
- Other emergencies deemed appropriate by the instructor.
A grade of Incomplete should not be requested nor given for lack of completion of work because of procrastination or dissatisfaction with the grade earned.
Once the appropriate work is completed, the instructor must submit to the Registrar’s Office a completed change of grade form, signed by both the instructor and the chairperson of the department. If no grade change is submitted within 365 days of the grade of Incomplete being assigned, the default grade indicated on the application for grade of incomplete form will be applied to the course.
Incomplete work cannot be finished by repeating the class. If such an option is preferred, the student should accept the grade earned and re-enroll in the course with the expectation of earning a better grade. The higher grade will be calculated in the GPA.
Any exceptions to the regulations listed in the student catalog pertaining to grades of incomplete require the approval of the instructor, department chair, and the dean or director of the academic unit in which the course was offered.
If you feel there has been an error in grading, please review the Grade Appeal Policy in the undergraduate and graduate catalogs. Appeals must begin no later than 10 class days after the grade is awarded.
Page last updated 4:38 PM, April 7, 2022