Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Interim Department Chair

Laura Trujillo-Jenks, PhD
Interim Department Chair, Teacher Education
SH 210
ltrujillojenks@twu.edu  
940-898-2447

Research Interests: Teacher and principal certification; organizational health; teaching and learning; case studies for professional development; school discipline; educational leadership.

 

Curriculum and Instruction

Gina Anderson, EdD
Associate Dean, College of Professional Education; Professor
SH 202-G
ganderson@twu.edu
940-898-2980

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; higher education leadership; partnership development; curriculum and instruction; multicultural education; discussion pedagogies; educational foundations; interdisciplinary curriculum design; scholarship of teaching and learning.

Karen Dunlap, EdD
Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
SH 207
kdunlap@twu.edu
940-898-2764

Research Interests: Data-driven decision making; data-driven instruction; pedagogically appropriate use of technology in educational practice; new teacher induction; experiential learning.

Rebecca Fredrickson, EdD
Professor; Undergraduate Program Coordinator
SH 215
rfredrickson@twu.edu
940-898-2238

Research Interests: Testing, certification and accountability; diversity issue in education; partnerships; new teacher induction; experiential learning.

Amanda Hurlbut, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 209
amandahurlbut@twu.edu
940-898-2280

Research Interests: Assessment and intervention practices; 21st century instructional strategies; teacher preparation and pedagogy; technology integration; high leverage teaching practices; new teacher digital induction and mentoring.

Sarah K. McMahan, PhD
Professor, Director of the Office of Clinical Practices
SH 213-A
smcmahan@twu.edu
940-898-2828

Research Interests: New teacher induction and mentoring; school/university partnerships

Aimee Myers, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 112
amyers8@twu.edu
940-898-2244

Research Interests: Culturally responsive teaching; urban education; engaging stakeholders; student-teacher culture gap; teacher learning

Denise Potter, MEd
Visiting Assistant Professor
SH 309A
dpotter@twu.edu 
940-898-2218

Ludovic A. Sourdot, PhD
Professor
SH 213
lsourdot@twu.edu
940-898-2216

Research Interests: The pedagogical possibilities television programming offer for visual culture studies and teacher education; curriculum studies; educational technology; multicultural education; serving the needs of English Language Learners; public pedagogy.

Cheryl Upvall, MEd
Visiting Assistant Professor
SH 110
cupvall@twu.edu 
940-898-2604

Special Education

Minkowan Goo, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 120
mgoo@twu.edu
940-898-2047

Research Interests: Using technology (virtual reality and augmented reality) in teaching students with disabilities.

Jean Ann Joest, PhD
Instructor
SH 117
jjoest@twu.edu
940-898-2845

Randa Keeley, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 111
rkeeley@twu.edu
940-898-2278

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; culturally responsive teaching; inclusive practices; mild/moderate disabilities; co-teaching; cultural and linguistic diversity; multicultural special education.

Maria Peterson-Ahmad, PhD
Visiting Associate Professor
SH 310
mpeterson3@twu.edu 

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; high leverage practices; simulated learning environments; technology in education.

Jerry Whitworth, EdD
Professor
SH 208
jwhitworth@twu.edu
940-898-2248

Research Interests: Technology in education; test-taking strategies; inclusion; transition issues.

Bilingual and ESL Education

Melinda Cowart, EdD
Professor
SH 214
mcowart@twu.edu
940-898-2154

Research Interests: Effective, equitable teaching of all children, particularly those with ethnic, linguistic and academic diversity; the appropriate preparation of new teachers for real-world schools; the proper training of teachers to successfully address the needs and requirements of immigrant, refugee and homeless children.

Jorge F. Figueroa, PhD
Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Inclusion, and Innovation
International Education Partnerships
SH 118
jfigueroa2@twu.edu
940-898-2273

Research Interests: Computer-Assisted Language Learning (CALL), Emerging Technologies in Education, Bilingual and ESL Education Teacher Training, Culturally Relevant Education, and Critical Pedagogy.

Claudia Sanchez, PhD
Professor
SH 216
csanchez@twu.edu
940-898-2009

Research Interests: Parental involvement in K-12 education; bilingual/ESL teacher preparation and professional development; grant writing; ESL teaching methodologies.

Educational Leadership

Peggy Malone, EdD
Associate Professor, Program Coordinator
SH 309-B
pmalone@twu.edu
940-898-2207

Research Interests: Giving effective feedback in an instructional setting; school leadership performance.

Staff

Lorena Cavazos
Administrative Assistant
lcavazos2@twu.edu
940-898-2402

Deborah Mathis
Senior Secretary
dmathis@twu.edu
940-898-2271

 

Page last updated 11:31 AM, June 4, 2021