Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Interim Department Chair

Profile photo of Jennifer Martin

Jennifer Martin, PhD
Interim Chair, Executive Vice Provost & Professor Emerita
SH 114
jmartin@twu.edu 
940-898-2246

Curriculum and Instruction

 Gina Anderson, EdD

Gina Anderson, EdD
Professor, Associate Dean for Educator Preparation and Partnerships
SH 202-G
ganderson@twu.edu
940-898-2980

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; higher education leadership; partnership development; curriculum and instruction; multicultural education; discussion pedagogies; educational foundations; interdisciplinary curriculum design; scholarship of teaching and learning

 Profile photo of Karen Dunlap

Karen Dunlap, EdD
Professor
SH 207
kdunlap@twu.edu
940-898-2764

Research Interests: Data-driven decision making; data-driven instruction; pedagogically appropriate use of technology in educational practice; new teacher induction; experiential learning

 Profile photo of Becky Fredrickson

Rebecca Fredrickson, EdD
Professor, Curriculum and Instruction Coordinator
SH 215
rfredrickson@twu.edu
940-898-2238

Research Interests: Testing, certification and accountability; diversity issues in education; partnerships; new teacher induction; experiential learning

Profile photo of Sarah McMahan

Sarah K. McMahan, PhD
Professor, Director of the Office of Clinical Practices
SH 213-A
smcmahan@twu.edu
940-898-2828

Research Interests: New teacher induction and mentoring; school/university partnerships

 Profile photo of Ludovic Sourdot

Ludovic A. Sourdot, PhD
Professor
SH 213
lsourdot@twu.edu
940-898-2216

Research Interests: The pedagogical possibilities television programming offers for visual culture studies and teacher education; curriculum studies; educational technology; multicultural education; serving the needs of English Language Learners; public pedagogy.

 Profile photo of Cheryl Upvall

Cheryl Upvall, MEd
Visiting Instructor
SH 110
cupvall@twu.edu 
940-898-2604

Educational Leadership

 Profile photo of Jerry Ausburn

Jerry Ausburn, EdD
Associate Clinical Professor
SH 115
jausburn@twu.edu 
940-898-2447

Research Interests: Improving student achievement; organizational evaluation and improvement; effective planning for future growth in student populations; legal issues impacting education and policy; media and public relations in schools.

 Jerry Burkett, EdD

Jerry Burkett, EdD
Assistant Professor
SH 208
jburkett1@twu.edu 

Research Interests: Staff development, new teacher instruction, classroom management, mentoring, school finance, instructional technology.

Profile photo of Amanda Hurlbut

Amanda Hurlbut, PhD
Associate Professor, Educational Leadership Coordinator
SH 209
amandahurlbut@twu.edu
940-898-2280

Research Interests: Assessment and intervention practices; 21st century instructional strategies; teacher preparation and pedagogy; technology integration; high leverage teaching practices; new teacher digital induction and mentoring

Profile photo of Laura Trujillo-Jenks

Laura Trujillo-Jenks, PhD
Professor
SH 214
ltrujillojenks@twu.edu
940-898-2154

Research Interests: Teacher and principal certification; organizational health; teaching and learning; case studies for professional development; school discipline; educational leadership

Special Education

Profile photo of Minkowan Goo

Minkowan Goo, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 120
mgoo@twu.edu
940-898-2047

Research Interests: Using technology (virtual reality and augmented reality) in teaching students with disabilities

Profile photo is unavailable

Jean Ann Joest, PhD
Instructor
SH 119
jjoest@twu.edu
940-898-2258

 Profile photo of Randa Keeley

Randa Keeley, PhD
Associate Professor, Special Education Coordinator
SH 111
rkeeley@twu.edu
940-898-2278

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; culturally responsive teaching; inclusive practices; mild/moderate disabilities; co-teaching; cultural and linguistic diversity; multicultural special education

  Maria Peterson-Ahmad, PhD

Maria Peterson-Ahmad, PhD
Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
SH 202 E
mpeterson3@twu.edu 
940-898-2214

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; high leverage practices; simulated learning environments; technology in education.

ESL Education

Carine M. Feyten, PhD
Professor, Chancellor and President
chancellor@twu.edu 

Research Interests: Second language acquisition, instructional technology

Jorge Figueroa Flores, PhD
Professor, Vice Provost for Curriculum and Strategic Initiatives
CFO 13
jfigueroa2@twu.edu  
940-898-2739

Research Interests: Intersection between emergent bilinguals (EBs), immersive technologies (XR), and culturally sustaining and responsive teaching; bilingual and ESL teacher training; gamification and game-based learning; multicultural education; critical literacy and critical pedagogies; higher education

Holly Hansen-Thomas, PhD
Professor, Vice Provost for Research, Innovation, and Corporate Engagement
ACT 7
hhansenthomas@twu.edu
940-898-3401

Research Interests: Translanguaging; language awareness; ESL and multilingual teacher training; academic language and literacy development

Profile photo is unavailable

Claudia Sanchez, PhD
Professor, ESL Coordinator
SH 216
csanchez@twu.edu
940-898-2009

Research Interests: Parental involvement in K-12 education; bilingual/ESL teacher preparation and professional development; grant writing; ESL teaching methodologies

Page last updated 5:15 PM, May 23, 2024