Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Department Chair

Diane Myers, PhD
Professor; Chair, Teacher Education
SH 114
dmyers1@twu.edu
940-898-2246 

Research Interests: Positive behavioral interventions and support at the school-wide, class-wide and individual student level; students with challenging behavior; supporting teachers' classroom management.

 

Curriculum and Instruction

Gina Anderson, EdD
Associate Dean, College of Professional Education; Professor
SH 202-G
ganderson@twu.edu
940-898-2980

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; higher education leadership; partnership development; curriculum and instruction; multicultural education; discussion pedagogies; educational foundations; interdisciplinary curriculum design; scholarship of teaching and learning.

Karen Dunlap, EdD
Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
SH 207
kdunlap@twu.edu
940-898-2764

Research Interests: Data-driven decision making; data-driven instruction; pedagogically appropriate use of technology in educational practice; new teacher induction; experiential learning.

Rebecca Fredrickson, EdD
Associate Professor; Undergraduate Program Coordinator
SH 215
rfredrickson@twu.edu
940-898-2238

Research Interests: Testing, certification and accountability; diversity issue in education; partnerships; new teacher induction; experiential learning.

Amanda Hurlbut, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 209
amandahurlbut@twu.edu
940-898-2280

Research Interests: Assessment and intervention practices; 21st century instructional strategies; teacher preparation and pedagogy; technology integration; high leverage teaching practices; new teacher digital induction and mentoring.

Sarah K. McMahan, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 213-A
smcmahan@twu.edu
940-898-2828

Research Interests: New teacher induction and mentoring; school/university partnerships

Aimee Myers, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 112
amyers8@twu.edu
940-898-2244

Research Interests: Culturally responsive teaching; urban education; engaging stakeholders; student-teacher culture gap; teacher learning

Denise Potter, MEd
Visiting Assistant Professor
SH 309A
dpotter@twu.edu 
940-898-2218

Ludovic A. Sourdot, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 213
lsourdot@twu.edu
940-898-2216

Research Interests: The pedagogical possibilities television programming offer for visual culture studies and teacher education; curriculum studies; educational technology; multicultural education; serving the needs of English Language Learners; public pedagogy.

Cheryl Upvall, MEd
Visiting Assistant Professor
SH 110
cupvall@twu.edu 
940-898-2604

Special Education

Mary Dell Donelson, EdD
Clinical Assistant Professor
SH 119
mdonelson@twu.edu
940-898-2267

Research Interests: Special education; special education evaluation/assessment; low-incidence disabilities.

Minkowan Goo, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 120
mgoo@twu.edu
940-898-2047

Research Interests: Using technology (virtual reality and augmented reality) in teaching students with disabilities.

Jean Ann Joest, PhD
Instructor
SH 117
jjoest@twu.edu
940-898-2845

Randa Keeley, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 111
rkeeley@twu.edu
940-898-2278

Research Interests: Teacher preparation; culturally responsive teaching; inclusive practices; mild/moderate disabilities; co-teaching; cultural and linguistic diversity; multicultural special education.

Jerry Whitworth, EdD
Professor
SH 208
jwhitworth@twu.edu
940-898-2248

Research Interests: Technology in education; test-taking strategies; inclusion; transition issues.

Bilingual and ESL Education

Melinda Cowart, EdD
Professor
SH 214
mcowart@twu.edu
940-898-2154

Research Interests: Effective, equitable teaching of all children, particularly those with ethnic, linguistic and academic diversity; the appropriate preparation of new teachers for real-world schools; the proper training of teachers to successfully address the needs and requirements of immigrant, refugee and homeless children.

Jorge F. Figueroa, PhD
Associate Professor
International Education Partnerships
SH 118
jfigueroa2@twu.edu
940-898-2273

Research Interests: Bilingual/ESL teacher training with technology; gamification and game-based learning for bilingual/ESL instruction; augmented reality and virtual reality for ESL/EFL instruction; psychological and socio-cultural factors in L2 teaching and learning; distributed and multimodal teaching and learning; digital divide; leadership in higher education.

Holly Hansen-Thomas, PhD
Professor
SH 111
hhansenthomas@twu.edu
940-898-2265

Research Interests: ESL training for mainstream secondary level teachers; English Language Learners' development of academic language in mathematics and science; language awareness; teacher identity.

Luis Hernandez
Visiting Assistant Professor
SH 117
lhernandez34@twu.edu
940-898-2845

Research Interests: Using emerging technologies as constructionist tools to create meaningful learning and facilitate language acquisition; online learning; English Language Learners' academic language development; Bilingual/ESL teacher preparation and professional development.

Claudia Sanchez, PhD
Professor
SH 216
csanchez@twu.edu
940-898-2009

Research Interests: Parental involvement in K-12 education; bilingual/ESL teacher preparation and professional development; grant writing; ESL teaching methodologies.

Educational Administration

Peggy Malone, EdD
Associate Professor
SH 309-B
pmalone@twu.edu
940-898-2207

Research Interests: Giving effective feedback in an instructional setting; school leadership performance.

Laura Trujillo-Jenks, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 210
ltrujillojenks@twu.edu
940-898-2447

Research Interests: Teacher and principal certification; organizational health; teaching and learning; case studies for professional development; school discipline; educational leadership.

Staff

Madyson Plummer
Administrative Assistant
SH 115
mplummer2@twu.edu
940-898-2271

Page last updated 8:35 AM, December 3, 2019