Faculty and Staff

Director

Gretchen Hoffman, PhD

Gretchen Hoffman, PhD
Professor and Director, School of Library and Information Studies
SH 404
ghoffman@twu.edu
940-898-2152

Research Interests: Library cataloging and classification; organization of information; subject analysis; cataloging/metadata work.

Faculty

Kristen Becker, EdD

Kristen Becker, EdD
Assistant Professor
SH 309A
kbecker2@twu.edu 
940-898-2613

Research Interests: Leadership; Open Educational Resources; data-driven decision-making; building projects, including renovations and new construction; grant development; advancing technology in libraries.

Aaron Elkins

Aaron Elkins, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 417
aelkins3@twu.edu
940-898-2181

Research Interests: Media and information literacy education; role of libraries in advancing social justice; gaming and 21st century literacies.

Kerol Harrod Profile

Kerol Harrod, MLS
Lecturer
SH 309
kharrod@twu.edu 
940-898-2617

Research Interests: Public libraries; outreach services; children’s programming; library marketing and advocacy.

Ling Hwey Jeng

Ling Hwey Jeng, PhD
Professor
SH 411
ljeng@twu.edu
940-898-2607

Research Interests: LIS Foundation; information organization; leadership development; marketing and advocacy.

Priya Kizhakkethil, PhD

Priya Kizhakkethil, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 407
pkizhakkethil@twu.edu  
940-898-2666

Research Interests: Human information behavior and practice; information and document experience; social media and cultural heritage; qualitative research methods; metadata; critical information literacy

Amy Lanier

Amy Lanier, MLS
Lecturer
SH 416
alanier@twu.edu
940-898-2583

Research Interests: Information behavior, information grounds, school library management, and reference services.

Hyuk-Jin Lee

Hyuk-Jin Lee, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 414
hlee@twu.edu
940-898-2187

Research Interests: Information theory; information retrieval; multimedia retrieval; cultural heritage study.

Katie Loomis profile

Kathryn (Katie) Loomis, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 418
kloomis1@twu.edu 
940-898-2614

Research Interests: School libraries; agency development in children; literature and materials for children and young adults.

Photo unavailable

WyLaina Polk, MLS
Visiting Lecturer
SH 410
wpolk@twu.edu 
940-898-2616

Research Interests: Public libraries; services to children and teens; children's literature.

Meti Tmava

Meti Tmava, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 409
atmava@twu.edu
940-898-2615

Research Interests: Digital libraries; open access archives/publishing; scholarly communication; information organization in an online environment (metadata); emerging technologies. 

Slava Zavalin profile

Vyacheslav (Slava) Zavalin, PhD
Assistant Professor 
SH 421B
vzavalin@twu.edu 
940-898-2626

Research Interests: Cataloging and classification; metadata; subject analysis; information organization; access in digital libraries; data analytics; Big and Smart Data; digital imaging; data visualization.

Tara Zimmerman, PhD

Tara Zimmerman, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 415
tzimmerman1@twu.edu 
940-898-2609

Research Interests: K12 school libraries; qualitative study of social media information behavior; social noise; misinformation.

Faculty Emeritus

Betty Carter
Professor Emerita

Robert S. Martin
Professor Emeritus

Keith Swigger
Professor Emeritus

Sylvia Vardell
Professor Emerita

Staff

Cindy Englehart

Cindy Englehart
Senior Academic Advisor and Retention Specialist
SH 405
cenglehart@twu.edu
940-898-2720

Val Warwas

Val Warwas
Administrative Assistant
SH 404
vwarwas@twu.edu 
940-898-2265

Kelly Meyer

Kelly Meyer, MS, MLS
Alumni Relations and Practicum Coordinator
SH 405
kmeyer2@twu.edu
940-898-2732

Sarah Merrill

Sarah Merrill, MM, MLS
Assessment Officer
SH 421
smerrill@twu.edu
940-898-2219

 

Page last updated 10:51 AM, February 22, 2024