Faculty and Staff

Director

Ling Hwey Jeng

Ling Hwey Jeng, PhD
Professor and Director,
School of Library and Information Studies
SH 404
ljeng@twu.edu
940-898-2602

Research Interests: LIS Foundation; information organization; leadership development; marketing and advocacy.

Faculty

Kristen Becker

Kristen Becker, EdD
Assistant Professor
SH 309A
kbecker2@twu.edu 
940-898-2613

Research Interests: Leadership; Open Educational Resources; data-driven decision-making; building projects, including renovations and new construction; grant development; advancing technology in libraries.

Aaron Elkins

Aaron Elkins, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 417
aelkins3@twu.edu
940-898-2181

Research Interests: Media and information literacy education; role of libraries in advancing social justice; gaming and 21st century literacies.

Kerol Harrod Profile

Kerol Harrod, MLS
Instructor
SH 309
kharrod@twu.edu 
940-898-2617

Research Interests: Public libraries; outreach services; children’s programming; library marketing and advocacy.

Gretchen Hoffman

Gretchen Hoffman, PhD
Professor
SH 410
ghoffman@twu.edu
940-898-2152

Research Interests: Library cataloging and classification; organization of information; subject analysis; cataloging/metadata work.

Amy Lanier

Amy Lanier, MLS
Instructor
SH 416
alanier@twu.edu
940-898-2583

Research Interests: School library management; reference services; co-teaching in school libraries.

Hyuk-Jin Lee

Hyuk-Jin Lee, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 414
hlee@twu.edu
940-898-2187

Research Interests: Information theory; information retrieval; multimedia retrieval; cultural heritage study.

Katie Loomis profile

Kathryn (Katie) Loomis, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 418
kloomis1@twu.edu 
940-898-2614

Research Interests: School libraries; agency development in children; literature and materials for children and young adults.

Carol Perryman PhD

Carol Perryman, PhD
Associate Professor
SH 408
cperryman@twu.edu
940-898-2612

Research Interests: Medical librarianship; information retrieval; critical evaluation of information; evidence-based practice in librarianship.

Meti Tmava

Meti Tmava, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 409
atmava@twu.edu
940-898-2615

Research Interests: Digital libraries; open access archives/publishing; scholarly communication; information organization in an online environment (metadata); emerging technologies. 

Slava Zavalin profile

Vyacheslav (Slava) Zavalin, PhD
Assistant Professor 
SH 421B
vzavalin@twu.edu 
940-898-2626

Research Interests: Cataloging and classification; metadata; subject analysis; information organization; access in digital libraries; data analytics; Big and Smart Data; digital imaging; data visualization.

Profile photo of Tara Zimmerman

Tara Zimmerman, PhD
Assistant Professor
SH 415
tzimmerman1@twu.edu 
940-898-2609

Research Interests: K12 school libraries; qualitative study of social media information behavior; social noise; misinformation.

Faculty Emeritus

Sylvia Vardell
Professor Emerita
svardell@twu.edu 

Staff

Cindy Englehart

Cindy Englehart
Senior Academic Advisor and Retention Coordinator
SH 405
cenglehart@twu.edu
940-898-2720

Smiling woman with long, dark hair.

Mary Honard
Administrative Assistant
SH 404
mhonard@twu.edu
940-898-2603

Sally Antcliff

Sally Antcliff
Senior Secretary
SH 404
santcliff@twu.edu
940-898-2602

Kelly Meyer

Kelly Meyer, MS, MLS
Alumni Relations and Practicum Coordinator
SH 405
kmeyer2@twu.edu
940-898-2732

Sarah Merrill

Sarah Merrill, MM, MLS
Assessment Officer
SH 421
smerrill@twu.edu
940-898-2219

 

Page last updated 4:34 PM, September 19, 2022