Student Service Fees

The Student Service Fee Advisory Committee meets annually, usually in December or January, to consider budget requests and make recommendations regarding the allocation student fees. Committee proceedings are available via livestream

Departments that receive Student Service Fees provide a written request for funds then make a presentation to the committee on the department's role and goals for the next fiscal year. Allocation recommendations and the proposed amount of fees for the following year must be approved by the vice president for student life, the chancellor and the governing board of the institution.

The committee was created to meet the requirements of Texas Education Code 54.503

The primary areas that receive allocations include student life departments that do not receive state funding or funds from designated tuition. The chart below illustrates service fee revenues for the past five years. 

SSF Chart


Student Service Fee Committee Members 2023-2024


  • Madeline Ray, Denton, Chair
  • Alexa Hoekstra, Denton
  • Gillian Hayes, Denton
  • Mercedes Nerios, Denton
  • Peace Egar, Denton
  • Savannah Walker, Dallas
  • Nourhan Afaneh, Houston

Faculty and Staff

  • Dr. Rebecca Fredrickson, Faculty
  • Lacey Thompson, Staff

Student Life

  • Dr. Monica Mendez-Grant, Co-chair
  • Dr. Stephanie Brown
  • Melanie Baker
  • Lisa Valle

Hearing Schedule 2023-2024

swipe to see the full table

Monday, Dec. 18

Time Requesting Units Speakers
8:30 a.m. SSF Committee Introductions and Student Testimony  
8:45-9:30 a.m. Athletics Sandee Mott
9:30-9:50 a.m. Student Life Dallas Lydia Dillen
9:50-10:10 a.m. Student Life Dallas - SGA Savannah Walker
10:10-10:30 a.m. Student Life Houston Charlene Adams
10:30-10:50 a.m. Student Life Houston - SGA Dominique Johnson
10:50-11 a.m. BREAK  
11:05-11:25 a.m. Civility & Community Standards - Student Legal John Rentz
11:25-11:45 a.m. Disability Services for Students Nadaya Cross
11:45 a.m.-12:05 p.m. Counseling and Psychological Services Kristina Rodriguez
12:10-1 p.m. LUNCH BREAK  
1:05-1:25 p.m. Career Connections Center Aimee Laun
1:25-1:45 p.m. CARE (Campus Alliance for Resource Education) Amy O'Keefe
1:45-2:15 p.m. Center for Student Development Kyle Voyles
Lourdes Mendoza
Elizabeth Ramirez
2:15-2:35 p.m. Center for Belonging and First-Generation Students Becky Rodriguez
Simone Daniels
2:35-2:45 BREAK  
2:50-3:10  p.m. Lasso/Student Life Communications Amy Evans
3:10-3:30 p.m. Design Services Melissa Carr
3:30-4 p.m. Committee Review  


swipe to see the full table

Tuesday, Dec. 19

Time Requesting Units Speakers
8:30 a.m. SSF Committee Review and Student Testimony  
8:45-9:05 a.m. Student Union (Block Party, Programming) Mara Jackson
Abigail Ivey
9:05-9:25 a.m. Student Union Fee, Maintenance Fee,
Operating Reserve Fee, Annex Fee
Paige Brassart
9:25-9:45 a.m. Medical Services Fee Tanisha Freeman
9:45-10:05 a.m. Student Life/Assessment Melanie Baker
10:05-10:25 a.m. Student Life Advancement La'Bradford Harold
10:25-10:45 a.m. Scholar Programs Jessica Burchfield
10:50-11 a.m. BREAK  
11:15 a.m.-3 p.m. Deliberations (SSF Committee Only)  

Page last updated 2:28 PM, December 11, 2023