Member Universities

The three state universities in the North Texas area that make up the Federation are within commuting distance of one another and the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. Each offers baccalaureate through doctoral degrees and has access to the library resources of area colleges and universities through the Alliance for Higher Education.

Texas A&M University-Commerce

Founded: 1889. Location: Commerce, Texas, sixty miles northeast of Dallas.

Approximately 12,320 students are enrolled, with about 4,950 at the graduate level. Texas A&M-Commerce offers graduate degrees in 50 master's and 6 doctoral program areas. Facilities include the James G. Gee Library; a Performing Arts Center; and a Metroplex Center in Mesquite, the newly renovated Temple Arts Building (including spacious studio areas) and the new state-of-the-art Jerry D. Morris Recreational Facility and a 110,000 square foot Science and Technology Center which includes a 40-foot dome planetarium.

Texas Woman’s University

Founded: 1901. Location: Denton, Texas, north of Dallas and Fort Worth.

Enrollment at Texas Womans University totals over 15,000 students, of which approximately 5,500 are graduate students. The TWU Libraries include over 770,000 print volumes, e-books, microform titles and media materials as well as 125,000 print and e-journals and are associated with the OCLC world-wide computer network. Although TWU is primarily for women, qualified applicants may enroll in all programs of the General Divisions, Institute of Health Sciences and the Graduate School. TWU offers 66 master's and 23 doctoral degrees at its Denton, Dallas, and Houston centers and through distance learning.

University of North Texas

Founded: 1890. Location: Denton, Texas, north of Dallas and Fort Worth.

As the nation’s 25th largest public university and the largest, most comprehensive in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, the University of North Texas is dedicated to providing an excellent educational experience to its 36,000 students while powering the North Texas region, state and nation through innovative education and research. A student-focused public research university with an emphasis on sustainability, UNT graduated 8,700 students last year from its 12 colleges and schools and offers 99 bachelor’s, 83 master’s and 36 doctoral degree programs, many nationally and internationally recognized. UNT provides services unique to the needs of graduate students, such as professional development workshops, dedicated discipline librarians and writing and statistical support. (For a complete list, please see Graduate Student Support Services on the UNT Toulouse Graduate School website.) UNT’s ultimate mission is to give a green light to greatness by helping its students, region, state and nation excel.

Page last updated 2:36 PM, December 20, 2016