Parking Rules and Regulations
Parking services are available, 24 hours a day 7 days a week, to the university community. Please use our online services.
Texas Woman’s University offers parking for students, faculty, staff and visitors who drive to our Denton or Dallas campuses. Vehicles must be parked between two parallel white lines and in appropriate zones for your type of parking permit during zone enforcement hours.
Parking permits are enforced Monday-Friday, 7 a.m.-9 p.m. Between 4 p.m. and 9 p.m., vehicles with a valid parking permit may park in any zone except visitor, reserved, yellow curbs and fire lanes.
Parking areas are designated by posted signs at the entrances to the lot or where the zone changes within the lot. Match your permit to the zone indicated by the sign.
TWU does not assume responsibility for the protection of motor vehicles or the property they contain. Only vehicles with current license plates and in operable condition may be driven on campus.
You must complete an online parking registration form to park on campus. All TWU parking permit purchases require registration fees. Contact the parking office for assistance with this process, if needed.
- The parking office will issue one permit to an individual upon purchase and payment of a permit. A TWU parking permit is transferable to any vehicle registered to that individual by the parking office.
- All citations issued to the permit are the responsibility of the registered owner of the permit regardless of who was driving or given permission to use the vehicle.
- Permits are not transferable to other individuals.
- Permits are void when the individual is no longer actively associated with Texas Woman’s University.
- Lost, Stolen, or deactivated permits found displayed on a vehicle are subject to immediate booting and impoundment.
- One (1) temporary permit is available each during the fall, spring, and summer session at no cost to individuals with an active and valid permit. Individuals may purchase additional temporary permits as required.
- Remove the entire protective cover on the permit and completely attach it to the vehicle's windshield. Do not affix the permit with tape or other materials.
- Adhere the permit to the inside of the motor vehicle on the passenger side, lower right-hand corner of the windshield.
- Placard type permits must be displayed from the rearview mirror stem with the printed information facing forward of the car.
- You may only purchase a permit that pertains to your classification (Student/Faculty/Staff).
- Resident permits must be returned to the parking office when leaving the residence hall. The permit may be exchanged for a commuter permit.
- The registrant of a vehicle is responsible for its safe operation and proper parking, regardless of who is operating the vehicle
- Vehicles registered for parking must comply with compulsory vehicle inspections as required by law.
- Motorcycles may display a TWU issued permit in a lockable permit holder where it can be seen easily and without difficulty.
- Motorcycles displaying a valid TWU parking permit may park in any space specifically designated as motorcycle parking.
- Motorcycles displaying a valid TWU parking permit may park in any available space appropriate for the permit displayed.
Permit Registration Fees
Permits are available for purchase online.
2021/2022 Registration Fees
Academic Year: $200*
Spring/Summer Semester: $120*
Academic Year: $115
Spring/Summer Semesters: $70
Commuter Lot Parking Only for Residents
This is new for the 2021/2022 school year.
This permit provides an option for residents living in the dormitories to park exclusively in commuter-zoned parking lots.
Academic Year: $350
Spring/Summer Semesters: $210
Oakland Complex Garage (Denton) General
Academic Year: $350
Spring Semester: $210
Summer Semester: $125
Faculty & Staff
Academic Year: $200
Spring Semester: $120
Summer Semester: $75
Faculty & Staff Surface Reserved
Academic Year: $350
Spring Semester: $210
Summer Semester: $125
Oakland Complex Garage (Denton) Reserved (FS Only)
Academic Year: $525
Spring Semester: $315
Summer Semester: $190
No expiration: FREE!
One Day Parking Pass
Surface Lot: $10
Denton Garage: $16
Additional permits are available for purchase at full price.
If a student withdraws from the university and the parking permit has not been used, a request for refund may be made at the DPS parking office within the first two weeks of the semester.
A payroll deduction plan is available for faculty and staff.
Lost Stolen & Damaged Permits
Report lost, stolen or damaged permits to the parking office as soon as possible. Vehicles displaying a permit reported lost or stolen will be immobilized.
|Permit Replacement Type||Fee|
|Damaged permit (return damaged one to the Parking office)||$25|
|Stolen permit (after police report is filed)||$10|
|"Lost in mail" (within 21 days of issue date)||Free|
Reserved & Special Purpose Spaces
The Chancellor and President may designate reserved parking spaces for the Chancellor and President, Provost, Vice Presidents, Deans and certain administrators. Spaces are also reserved for state vehicle use at various campus locations. These spaces are reserved for the designated individual at all times.
In addition, certain spaces are sold as reserved for permit holders.
TWU’s Dallas campus has a limited number of parking spaces for low emitting fuel efficient vehicles. (The T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Science in Dallas is a Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEEDS) certified campus.) The list of vehicles approved to use the designated spaces can be found at greenercars.org or in the DPS office. To park in the LEEDS spaces, you must have a valid TWU parking permit and drive a vehicle on the approved list.
Visitors or Clinic Patients
Visitors to Texas Woman’s University’s Denton campus can get a one-day visitor parking permit at the Information Booth on Administration Drive or at the parking office. Multi-day permits must be obtained at the parking office.
- Clinic patients may park in the clinic spaces during their appointments
- Students, faculty and staff are not allowed to park in visitor spaces or clinic spaces between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. Monday-Friday
- Dorm guests may purchase a daily permit at the parking office
If you are planning activities that involve campus parking, please contact the parking office at least one week prior to the event to allow us to establish traffic control for proper visitor parking.
To use an ADA parking space on campus, an individual must own and display a state issued ADA license plate, hangtag, or placard, and must also purchase a TWU ADA parking permit. To purchase your TWU ADA parking permit please visit the parking office and:
- If using a hangtag or placard, present a copy of TxDMV Form VTR-214. This is the same form you would have filed with the County Tax Assessor-Collector.
- If using a license plate, including a specialty plate (e.g. Disabled Veterans or Purple Heart) present a copy of the tax receipt for your plate.
If an individual has been issued a specialty license plate for extraordinary military service a parking permit is still required from the parking office for an individual to park on campus. Permitted parking areas require the purchase of an appropriate parking permit. If an individual chooses to park exclusively in an ADA parking space the parking office will issue a complimentary ADA only parking permit when the vehicle is registered.
ADA-Accessible Parking for Disabled Visitors
Designated ADA-accessible parking spaces are for the exclusive use of vehicles displaying state issued disabled placards or license plates and a valid TWU visitor parking permit. If parking is not available in the visitor's lot, or if special arrangements are needed, please call the parking department at 940.898.2925.
- All State of Texas general and criminal laws are in full force and effect within the areas under the control and jurisdiction of Texas Woman’s University
- TWU uniformed personnel are authorized to enforce state, city and TWU moving vehicle and parking laws and regulations and to issue citations for violation of such laws
- An individual may clear citations for university regulation violations by paying your fine online or at the parking office
- Citations issued in Dallas may be cleared online
- All credit card payments must be processed online, by phone, or through the Denton parking office
- The permit holder is responsible for parking citations issued to vehicles, under their control, when parked on university property
- All outstanding fines must be paid before purchasing a parking permit
|Parking in disabled-accessible space||$250|
|Parked in ADA without validation||$100|
|Blocking wheelchair ramp||$80|
|Parking in fire lane (red curb)||$60|
|Lost/stolen permit||$60 + immediate boot|
|Incorrect permit for area||$40|
|Failure to display permit||$40|
|Parking in reserved space
(may be enforced immediately by impoundment)
|Parked on/blocking sidewalk||$40|
|Parked in no parking space (yellow curb)||$40|
|Parked in visitor space||$40|
|Failure to observe Signs / Barricades||$40|
|Parked on left||$25|
|Improper display of decal||$25|
Penalty for Failure to Pay Fines
- It is the responsibility of the permit holder to clear any ticket online through the Denton parking office within 10 calendar days from the date of citation
- Failure to pay a fine will result in the addition of a $20 late fee per citation and the university’s withholding a student’s transcript.
- A vehicle is subject to impound, when found in violation, if the registrant or driver has accumulated three past due citations. The individual must pay all citations and fees to reclaim the vehicle
Impoundment & Booting
The cost of booting and/or impounding vehicles is borne by the owner. Contact the parking office or DPS dispatch office after hours for payment details. The university and other authorized personnel are not liable or responsible for any loss or damage resulting from a vehicle being impounded or booted. The university does not charge a student account for this cost.
- Booting Fee: $80
- Towing Fee: $90
- Daily Storage Fee: $5
Impound, towing and storage fees at the Dallas campus are higher. Contact the Dallas campus DPS, 214-689-6666, for information.
Parking Appeals Board
If the recipient of a citation believes that the citation is unwarranted, he or she may request a review by the University Parking Appeals Board.
- The appeal must be filed online within ten calendar days from the date of the citation
- The appeals board will notify the appellant of its decision
- Within ten calendar days after receiving the decision, the appellant may request the Chairman of the Board to set a date for a personal appearance to present additional pertinent evidence if they are dissatisfied with the board’s ruling
The decision of the appeals board is final. Impoundment and/or booting fees are not appealable.
Bicycles, Motorized Scooters, Rollerblades, & Skateboards
- Must be operated in accordance with TWU traffic rules and regulations and with state and local laws
- Are not permitted inside university buildings and residence halls
- Should be secured by locking to a bicycle rack when not in use
- Should not be secured in a manner that blocks passageways
- An optional and free permit can be obtained through the parking office
- Motorized scooters cannot be operated on any campus roadway unless they meet all the legal requirements of a motorcycle
- Motorized scooters, except those designed for and used exclusively by a disabled person, are prohibited from being in any university building or operated on any campus sidewalk
Rollerblades & Skateboards
Rollerblades, skateboards, roller skates, etc. are prohibited on all portions of the central Denton campus. The area is designated by signs and is generally bounded by Oakland Avenue, Bell Avenue, Chapel Drive and Texas Street.
Information about DPS
University police officers are commissioned police officers with all the powers of peace officers as authorized by the Texas Education Code.
All thefts, accidents, offenses and incidents that occur on the TWU campus should be reported immediately to the DPS office or the officer on duty.
Police personnel are glad to assist students, faculty, and staff in any way possible. Services such as jump starts and unlocking vehicles are provided by the department, as time permits. However, jump starts will not be provided in inclement weather. Department personnel do not change flat tires, push cars, or perform any automotive services. The Department of Public Safety will seriously consider suggestions for improvement in its policies and regulations.
The university reserves the right to change any or all parts of these regulations as necessary.
Oakland Complex, First floor
1201 Oakland Street
T. Boone Pickens IHS, First floor
5500 Southwestern Medical Ave
P.O. Box 425767
Denton, TX 76204-5767
Page last updated 12:14 PM, July 16, 2021