Faculty and Staff

Administration

George King

George King, Ph.D.
Director, School of Health Promotion and Kinesiology
Office: PH 208A
(940) 898-2575
Email: gking6@twu.edu

Barbara Barnick-Ben-Ezra

Barbara Barnick-Ben-Ezra, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
Internship Coordinator
Graduate Teaching Assistant Mentor
Office: PH 217
(940) 898-2340
Email: bbenezra@twu.edu

Kevin Becker

Kevin Becker, Ph.D.
Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs
Associate Professor
Motor Behavior and Sport Psychology
Office: PH 208D
(940) 898-2592
Email: kbecker1@twu.edu

Research Interests: Motor Learning; Motor Performance; Attentional Focus; Cognitive and Physical Stressors; Sport Psychology

Mindy Menn

Mindy Menn, Ph.D., MCHES, CPH
Associate Director of Graduate Programs
Assistant Professor
Office: CFO 1010, PH 208E
940-898-2844
Email: mmenn@twu.edu

Research Interests: Public Health Education and Health Promotion; Sexuality Education; Health Risks of Youth; Professional Preparation; Survey Design; College Teaching; Program Evaluation; Study Abroad Programming; Social Determinants of Health; Instructional Design; Distance Learning

Staff

Janelle Davis

Janelle Davis, M.S.
Program Director
Office: PH 210
(940) 898-2714
Email: JDavis10@twu.edu

Dennise Mendez

Dennise Mendez
Undergraduate Academic Advisor II
Office: PH 212
(940) 898-2606
Email: dmendez5@twu.edu

photo unavailable

Julieta Ramirez
Business Manager
Office: PH 208B
(940) 898-2532
jramirez58@twu.edu

Noelle Ratliff

Noelle Ratliff
Facilities Supervisor, Pioneer Hall
Office: PH 209
(940) 898-2585
Email: nratliff@twu.edu

Jason Torres

Jason Torres
Graduate Academic Advisor
Office: PH 213
(940) 898-2864
Email: jtorres9@twu.edu 

Photo Unavailable

Brenda Watson
Sr. Secretary
Office: PH 216
(940) 898-2697
Email: bwatson5@twu.edu

Faculty

Ann Amuta

Ann O. Amuta, Ph.D., MPH, CPH
Associate Professor - Health Studies
Phone: 940-898-2856
Email: AAmuta@twu.edu

Research Interests: Health disparities, community based participatory research, cancer prevention and control, immigrant and women’s health, health communication, fruit and vegetable access and consumption

Vic Ben-Ezra

Vic Ben-Ezra, Ph.D.
Professor - Kinesiology
Exercise Physiology
Office: PH 116A
(940) 898-2597
Email: VBenezra@twu.edu

Kyle Biggerstaff

Kyle Biggerstaff, Ph.D.
Associate Professor - Kinesiology
Exercise Physiology
Office: PH 116B
(940) 898-2596
Email: KBiggerstaff@twu.edu

Kathryn Brown

Kathryn Brown, M.S.
Senior Lecturer - Kinesiology
Teaching/Coaching
Office: PH 208H
(940) 898-2851
Email: KBrown7@twu.edu

Renee Buster

Renee L. Buster, Ph.D., CHES, CSCS
Visiting Assistant Professor - Health Studies
(940) 898-2843
Email: rbuster@twu.edu

Research Interests: Biotechnology in health addressing personal, environmental and ethical health issues; social media influence on behavior adoption/practices; environmental policy and health; and public policy and life expectancy

Kat Coffey

Kat Coffey, Ph.D.
Associate Clinical Professor - Kinesiology
Office: PH 214
(940) 898-2643
Email: kcoffey@twu.edu

Suzanna Dillon

Suzanna Dillon, Ph.D.
Professor - Kinesiology
Adapted Physical Education, Adapted Physical Activity
Office: PH 119B
(940) 898-2582
Email: sdillon@twu.edu

Anthony Duplanty

Anthony Duplanty, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor - Kinesiology
Exercise Physiology
Office: PH 215
(940) 898-2591
Email: aduplanty@twu.edu 
Exercise Physiology Laboratory

Research Interests: Biology; Strength and Conditioning Research; Post Resistance Exercise; Muscular Performance Recovery

photo unavailable

Michelle Ferrer, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor - Kinesiology
Adapted Physical Education, Adapted Physical Activity
Office: PH 208N
(940) 898-2571
Email: mferrer3@twu.edu

Photo Unavailable

Jessica Gillaspy, M.S., CHES
Assistant Clinical Professor - Kinesiology
Office: PH 214
(940) 898-2643
Email: jgillaspy@twu.edu

Joshua Gold

Joshua Gold, Ph.D., MPH
Assistant Professor - Health Studies
Office: PH 208G
Phone: 940-898-2577
Email: jgold@twu.edu 

Research interests: Psychosocial aspects of weight-related behaviors and outcomes, community-based participatory research, translational science, health disparities, rural health

Mandy Golman

Mandy Golman, Ph.D., MCHES
Associate Professor - Health Studies
Office: CFO 1009
940-898-2865
Email: Mgolman@twu.edu

Research Interests: Teen pregnancy prevention, eating disorder and obesity prevention, body image issues, adolescent and women’s health

Young-Hoo Kwon

Young-Hoo Kwon, Ph.D.
Professor - Kinesiology
Biomechanics
Office: PH 123A
(940) 898-2598
Email: YKwon@twu.edu

Mark Mann

Mark Mann, Ph.D.
Associate Professor - Kinesiology
Sport Coaching
Office: PH 208K
(940) 898-2578
Email: mmann2@twu.edu

Marilyn Massey-Stokes

Marilyn Massey-Stokes, Ed.D., CHES, CWHC, FASHA
Associate Professor - Health Studies
Office: CFO 1003
940-898-2863
Email: MMasseystokes@twu.edu

Research Interests: 6 pillars of lifestyle medicine (healthful eating, physical activity, stress management, relationships, sleep, & tobacco cessation), health promotion across the lifespan, chronic disease prevention, obesity prevention (including early obesity prevention), body image & eating disorder prevention, health & wellness coaching

Rhett Rigby

Rhett Rigby, Ph.D.
Associate Professor - Kinesiology
Exercise Physiology
Office: PH 123B
(940) 898-2473
Email: brigby@twu.edu

Research Interests: Exercise interventions for adults and children with chronic diseases

Photo unavailable

Kerri Staples, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor - Kinesiology
Health Promotion & Kinesiology
Office: PH 208L
(940) 898-2522
Email: kstaples@twu.edu

Aya Yoshikawa

Aya Yoshikawa, Dr.PH., Ph.D., CHES®
Assistant Professor - Health Studies
Office: PH 208F
(940) 898-2584
Email: ayoshikawa@twu.edu 

Research Interests: Healthy aging, fall prevention, physical activity, age-friendly and dementia-friendly communities, and health communication

Adjunct Faculty

Josh Bernstein, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: JBernstein@twu.edu

Sarah Brown, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Kinesiology
Email: sbrown73@twu.edu 

Amy Clark, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: AClark2@twu.edu

Thomas (Doug) Coyle, PhD
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: tcoyle@twu.edu

Sandra Cravens, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Kinesiology
Email: slcravens@twu.edu 

Amanda Espinoza, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: aespinoza8@twu.edu

Rebekah Garcia, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor - Kinesiology
Email: rgarcia14@twu.edu

Leah Goudy, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Kinesiology
Email: lgoudy@twu.edu 

Michelle Kampschroeder, M.S., CHES
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: MKampschroeder@twu.edu

Anna Love, PhD
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: alove@twu.edu

Jim Melancon, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: jmelancon@twu.edu

Alejandra Quezada, PhD
Adjunct Instructor - Health Studies
Email: aquezada2@twu.edu

Kembre Roberts, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor - Kinesiology
Email: kembre@twu.edu

Loan VanAuker, D-ABMDI, M.S.
Adjunct Profesor - Health Studies
Email: lvanauker@twu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

  • Ron Davis  Professor, Kinesiology
  • Anne Duggan – Schley Professor/Dean, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Ronald French – Cornaro Professor, Kinesiology
  • Barbara Gench – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Sinah Goode – Associate Professor, Kinesiology
  • Bertie Hammond – Assistant Professor, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Marilyn Hinson – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Gay James – Professor/Chair, Health Studies
  • Joanne Kuhn – Assistant Professor, Kinesiology
  • Berton Lyle – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Bettye Myers – Professor, Kinesiology
  • David Nichols – Professor, Health Promotion and Kinesiology
  • Jean Pyfer – Professor/Dean, Kinesiology/Health Sciences
  • Hazel Richardson – Assistant Professor, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Charlotte Barney Sanborn – Professor/Chair, Kinesiology
  • Terry Senne  Associate Professor, Kinesiology
  • Lisa Silliman-French – Professor, Health Promotion and Kinesiology
  • Ruth Tandy – Professor, Health Studies and Kinesiology
  • Leslie Thompson – Professor/Dean, Health Studies/Graduate Studies
  • Ann Uhlir – Professor/Dean, Kinesiology/Health Sciences

Page last updated 9:11 AM, April 19, 2022