Faculty and Staff

Administration

 Sharla Snider, PhD

Sharla Snider, PhD
Interim Department Chair and Professor
MCL 901-B
ssnider@twu.edu 
940-898-2011

Education: PhD, MA, Texas Woman’s University; BS University of North Texas
Research area: Technology and young learners (literacy and technological thinking; digital citizenship); integrated technology in teaching and learning; early childhood classroom practices (pedagogy and action research).

Faculty

Nancy Anderson, PhD

Nancy Anderson, PhD
Professor
MCL 906-B
nanderson@twu.edu
940-898-2235

Education: PhD, The Ohio State University; MEd, University of Houston; BA, Texas Lutheran University
Research area: Writing; Early literacy intervention

 Amy Burke, PhD

Amy Burke, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 901-C
aburke_@twu.edu
940-898-2234

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin; MEd, Texas Woman’s University; MAT, BA, Austin College
Research area: Language, literacy, and identity; Sociocultural theory and literacy practices; Social semiotic and multimodal composition; Qualitative research

Heather Cato
Visiting Assistant Professor
MCL 908-D
hcato@twu.edu 
940-898-2304

Education: PhD, Texas Woman’s University; MS, University of Texas at Arlington; BS, Texas Tech University
Research area: Teacher knowledge and professional development, adolescent literacy, writing assessment

JaNiece Elzy, EdD

JaNiece Elzy, EdD
Assistant Professor
MCL 908-E
jelzy@twu.edu
940-898-2282

Education: EdD, National Louis University; BS, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Research area: Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy; Linguistic Diversity; Early Literacy Instruction and Assessment

Photo unavailable

Aimee Hendrix-Soto, PhD
Assistant Professor
MCL 901-C
ahendrix4@twu.edu
940-898-2215

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin; MA, University of North Texas; BA, University of North Texas
Research area: Adolescent Literacy; Digital Literacy; Young Adult Literature; Critical Literacy; Youth Participatory Action Research; Teacher Action Research; Qualitative Research

Betsy Kaye, PhD

Elizabeth Kaye, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 906-A
ekaye@twu.edu
940-898-2240

Education: PhD, MA, Texas Woman’s University; BA, Trinity University
Research area: Early literacy intervention

 Peggy Lisenbee, PhD

Peggy Lisenbee, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 908-I
plisenbee@twu.edu
940-898-2635

Education: PhD, Oklahoma State University; MS, University of Missouri; BS, Oklahoma State University
Research area: Technology use and integration, early childhood curriculum, literacy, STEM activities including coding and robotics, culturally responsive teaching

 

 Lin Moore, PhD

Lin Moore, PhD
Professor
MCL 908-F
lmoore@twu.edu 
940-898-2210

Education: PhD, Texas Woman's University; MS, Texas Woman's University; BS, Texas Woman's University
Research area: Early childhood, special education, language development, mathematics development, social and emotional development, quality in early childhood programs

 Jennifer Quong, PhD

Jennifer Quong, PhD
Visiting Assistant Professor
MCL 908-J
jquong1@twu.edu 
940-898-2011

Education: PhD, Texas Woman’s University; MS, Texas Woman’s University; BS, Stephen F. Austin State University
Research area: Use of early childhood education strategies in higher education, early childhood classroom practices, the use of play in public schools, quality learning environments, early childhood curriculum, the use of sign language in language development

Mandy Stewart, PhD

Mandy Stewart, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 908-C
mstewart7@twu.edu
940-898-2232

Education: PhD, University of North Texas; MEd, BA, Texas Christian University
Research area: Second language literacy development; Biliteracy and bilingualism; Adolescent literacy; Multicultural literature

Annette Torres Elias, PhD

Annette Torres Elías, PhD
Professor
MCL 908-H
atorres1@twu.edu
940-898-2444

Education: PhD, MEd, Texas Woman’s University; BA University of Puerto Rico
Research area: Early literacy; Biliteracy; Bilingual education; Teacher education and professional development

Faculty Emeritus

Billie J. Askew, Cornaro Professor of Reading

Connie Briggs, Professor of Reading

Ruth Caswell, Professor of Reading

Margaret Compton, Professor of Reading

Margaret Griffin, Cornaro Professor of Reading

Claudia Haag, Professor of Reading

Anne Simpson, Professor of Reading

Staff

Lilia Bynum

Lilia Bynum
Reading Recovery Program Director
MCL 908-G
lbynum@twu.edu
940-898-2441

Holly Duhon

Holly Duhon
Program Coordinator
MCL 907
hduhon@twu.edu
940-898-2227

Page last updated 11:21 AM, June 24, 2022