Faculty and Staff

Administration

Patricia "Pat" Watson, PhD
Interim Department Chair and Associate Professor
MCL 901-A
pwatson2@twu.edu
940-898-2011

Education: PhD, University of Missouri; MSEd, BSEd, Missouri State University
Research area: Adolescent literacy; Disciplinary literacy, Teacher education

Faculty

Nancy Anderson, PhD
Professor
MCL 906-B
nanderson@twu.edu
940-898-2235

Education: PhD, The Ohio State University; MEd, University of Houston; BA, Texas Lutheran University
Research area: Writing; Early literacy intervention

Amy Burke, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 901-C
aburke_@twu.edu
940-898-2234

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin; MEd, Texas Woman’s University; MAT, BA, Austin College
Research area: Language, literacy, and identity; Sociocultural theory and literacy practices; Social semiotic and multimodal composition; Qualitative research

Claudia Haag, PhD
Professor
MCL 908-J
chaag@twu.edu
940-898-2226

Education: PhD, MA, Texas Woman’s University; BA Texas Lutheran College
Research area: Multicultural literature, literacy and the arts, effective literacy practices for English language learners; Teacher collaboration

Elizabeth Kaye, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 906-A
ekaye@twu.edu
940-898-2240

Education: PhD, MA, Texas Woman’s University; BA, Trinity University
Research area: Early literacy intervention

Peggy Lisenbee, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 104-A
plisenbee@twu.edu
940-898-2635

Lin Moore, PhD
Professor
WH 104-F
lmoore@twu.edu 
940-898-2210

Sharla Snider, PhD
Graduate Program Coordinator
Professor
WH 111
ssnider@twu.edu 
940-898-2684

Education: PhD, MA, Texas Woman’s University; BS University of North Texas
Research area: Technology and young learners (literacy and technological thinking; digital citizenship); integrated technology in teaching and learning; early childhood classroom practices (pedagogy and action research).

Anne Simpson, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Director of Reading Recovery
asimpson@twu.edu 

Education: PhD, North Texas State University; MEd, Texas A&M; BA, Southern Methodist University
Research area: Early literacy; Teacher professional learning; Comprehensive literacy

Mandy Stewart, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 908-C
mstewart7@twu.edu
940-898-2232

Education: PhD, University of North Texas; MEd, BA, Texas Christian University
Research area: Second language literacy development; Biliteracy and bilingualism; Adolescent literacy; Multicultural literature

Annette Torres Elías, PhD
Associate Professor
MCL 908-H
atorres1@twu.edu
940-898-2444

Education: PhD, MEd, Texas Woman’s University; BA University of Puerto Rico
Research area: Early literacy; Biliteracy; Bilingual education; Teacher education and professional development

Staff

Lilia Bynum
Reading Recovery Program Director
MCL 908-G
lbynum@twu.edu
940-898-2441

Holly Duhon
Senior Secretary
MCL 907
hduhon@twu.edu
940-898-2227

Page last updated 8:22 AM, February 7, 2020