Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Department Chair

Brigitte Vittrup

Brigitte Vittrup, PhD
Professor
WH 115-F
bvittrup@twu.edu 
940-898-2624

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Racial socialization; children's racial attitudes; child discipline; media influences on children

Child Development / Child Life

Melissa McInnis Brown

Melissa McInnis Brown, PhD
Associate Professor
WH 102-F
mbrown50@twu.edu
940-898-2675

Education: PhD, University of Alabama; MA, University of Alabama; BA, The University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Conceptual/cognitive development; pretend play; imaginary companions; socioemotional development; theory of mind; empathy; executive functions; school readiness

photo unavailable

Rhonda Buckley, PhD
Associate Professor
WH 308-B
rbuckley@twu.edu
940-898-3152

Kathryn Cantrell, PhD, Certified Child Life Specialist
Assistant Professor
WH 104E
kcantrell1@twu.edu 
940-898-2619

Education: PhD, University of Massachusetts; MA, Tufts University; BA, Austin College

Research Interests: Racial disparities in child life services; chronic illness disclosure and illness narratives; social justice pedagogy in child life and pediatric psychology; and child life research methods

Elizabeth McCarroll

Elizabeth McCarroll, PhD, CCLS
Program Coordinator, MS in Child Life
Professor
WH 110
emccarroll@twu.edu
940-898-2736

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Texas Tech University; BS, University of Texas; Certified Child Life Specialist, Association of Child Life Professionals

Research Interests: Social and emotional development of children, including peer relationships and friendships; impact of hospitalization on children and on parents/parenting; infant and toddler development

Katherine Rose

Katherine Rose, PhD
Professor
WH 111
krose1@twu.edu
940-898-3154

Education: PhD, Purdue University; MS, Purdue University; MS, University of North Texas; BS, Baylor University

Research Interests: Parental decision-making about non-parental child care arrangements; child care quality; professional development of child care providers

Dimple Vadgama

Dimple Vadgama, PhD
Assistant Clinical Professor
WH 308-D
dvadgama@twu.edu 
940-898-2694

Education: PhD, Syracuse University; MS, University of Mumbai, India; BS, SNDT Women's University, India; BA, Pracheen Kala Kendra Chandigarh, India

Research Interests: Parenting and Co-parenting; immigrant families; work-family interface; effects of COVID-19 on children and families; empathy among children; motivation

Azucena "Susie" Verdin

Azucena (Suzie) Verdin Peralta, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 015B
averdin@twu.edu 
940-898-3153

Education: PhD, University of North Texas; MEd, Harvard Graduate School of Education; BA, Harvard University

Research Interests: Knowledge-making in BIPOC families; epistemic development of Latina mothers; women of color feminisms to challenge dominant constructions of motherhood and childhood; critical qualitative methodologies; home visitor identity development

Counseling and Development

Lisa Grubbs

Lisa Grubbs, PhD, LPC-S, CSC, CG-C, NCC
School Counselor Advisor, CACREP Liaison
Associate Professor
WH 213-B
lgrubbs@twu.edu
940-898-2653

Bonnie King, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 213D
bking13@twu.edu 
940-898-2688

Education: PhD, University of New Orleans; MA, Texas State University; BA, St. Edwards University

Research Interests: Ecotherapy and counseling in green space; best practices for working with transgender-idenitfying individuals; international counseling, international school counseling

Joel Muro

Joel Muro, PhD, LPC, RPT, NCC
Program Coordinator, Dual Music Therapy Advisor
Professor
WH 104-F
jmuro@twu.edu
940-898-2705

Lamar Muro

Lamar Muro, PhD, LPC
Associate Professor
WH 015-D
lmuro1@twu.edu
940-898-2693

Hongshan Shao, PhD

Hongshan Shao, PhD, NCC
Assistant Professor
WH 104-A
hshao@twu.edu 
940-898-2762

Education: PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; Med, University of Missouri-St. Louis

Research Interests: Career development of international students/Asian population; Cross-cultural training and supervision; Multicultural and social justice advocacy

Family Studies

Joyce Armstrong

Joyce Armstrong, PhD, CFLE, CFCS
Graduate Program Coordinator
Professor
WH 104-G
jarmstrong@twu.edu
940-898-2690

Dutton profile photo

Catherine Dutton, PhD, CFCS
Assistant Professor
WH 104-D
cdutton@twu.edu
940-898-2681

photo unavailable

Nerissa LeBlanc Gillum, PhD
Professor
WH 015-G
ngillum@twu.edu
940-898-2696

Shann Hwa Hwang

Shann Hwa (Abraham) Hwang, PhD, CFLE
Professor
WH 015-H
shwang@twu.edu
940-898-3155

Marriage & Family Therapy

Linda Brock

Linda Brock, PhD, LMFT-Supervisor
Associate Professor
WH 308-E
lbrock@twu.edu
940-898-2713

Education: PhD, Texas Woman’s University; MS, Texas Woman’s University; BBA, North Texas State University (now University of North Texas)

Research Interests: Human sexuality; Bowen Family Systems Theory; Grief & bereavement; Aging in families; Diversity in families

 

Brittany Huelett

Brittany Huelett, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-F
bhuelett@twu.edu 
940-898-2749

Education: PhD, Loma Linda University; MS, Loma Linda University; BS, University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Marginalized Populations, Medical Family Therapy, Couples and Illness

Adam Jones

Adam Jones, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-B
ajones116@twu.edu
940-898-2682

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Utah State University; BS, Weber State University

Research Interests: Sexual Communication; Sexuality; Psychophysiology; Couple Conflict; Dyadic Data Analysis; Structural Equation Modeling; Psychotherapy Training; Therapy Process; Family Therapy; Medical Family Therapy; Illness and Disability

Rebecca Lucero Jones

Rebecca Lucero Jones, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-E
rlucerojones@twu.edu
940-898-2687

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Texas Tech University; BA, Brigham Young University

Research Interests: Marginalized Populations; Mexican Americans; Bi-cultural Couples; Immigration; Trauma; Substance Use Disorders; Opioid Use Disorders; Sexual Relationships; Medical Family Therapy; Family Therapy; Qualitative Inquiry; Dyadic Analysis

Aaron Norton

Aaron Norton, PhD, LMFT
Program Coordinator, Marriage & Family Therapy
Associate Professor
WH 104-B
anorton@twu.edu
940-898-2677

Education: PhD, Kansas State University; MS, Kansas State University; BS, University of Utah; BS, University of Utah; Associate Degree, General Studies, Weber State University

Research Interests: Online Therapy; Couples and Technology; Couples Relationships and Parenting; Couples and Military

Faculty Emeritus

Linda Ladd
Professor Emerita
lladd@twu.edu 

Jennifer Martin
Professor Emerita
jmartin@twu.edu 

Karen Petty
Professor Emerita
kpetty@twu.edu 

Staff

Renee Blanchard, PhD
Undergraduate Advisor
WH 102-D
rblanchard@twu.edu 
(940) 898-2692

Naomi Graham
Administrative Assistant
WH 115-D
ngraham2@twu.edu 
940-898-2699

Whitney Mathison, PhD, LPC, NCC
Counseling & Family Therapy Clinic Director
WH 114-P
wmathison@twu.edu
940-898-2954

Anna Stokes
Senior Secretary, Graduate Programs
WH 115-B
astokes1@twu.edu
940-898-2686

Contact Information

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 425769
Denton, TX 76204

Physical Address
115, Woodcock Hall (WH)
1202 Old Main Circle
(north of the Bell Avenue and Texas Street intersection)

Phone
940-898-2685

Email
HDFSC@twu.edu

Page last updated 1:17 PM, November 4, 2022