Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Interim Department Chair

Holly Hansen-Thomas

Holly Hansen-Thomas, PhD
Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship, College of Professional Education
WH 115
hhansenthomas@twu.edu
940-898-2749

Education: PhD, University of Texas System: San Antonio; MA, University of Texas: San Antonio; BA, University of Texas: Austin; Other, Southern Methodist University

Research Interests: English Language Learners(ELLs) in Math and Science; Bilingual Education; Bilingualism and Biliteracy; Rural Education for ELLs; Secondary Education; Language Awareness; Culturally Responsive Teaching; Adolescent ELLs

Child Development / Child Life

Melissa McInnis Brown

Melissa McInnis Brown, PhD
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor
WH 102-F
mbrown50@twu.edu
940-898-2675

Education: PhD, University of Alabama; MA, University of Alabama; BA, The University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Conceptual/cognitive development; pretend play; imaginary companions; socioemotional development; theory of mind; empathy; executive functions; school readiness

photo unavailable

Erron Huey, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-D
ehuey@twu.edu
940-898-2619

photo unavailable

Elizabeth McCarroll, PhD, CCLS
MS in Child Life Program Coordinator
Professor
WH 110
emccarroll@twu.edu
940-898-2736

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Texas Tech University; BS, University of Texas; Certified Child Life Specialist, Association of Child Life Professionals

Research Interests: Social and emotional development of children, including peer relationships and friendships; impact of hospitalization on children and on parents/parenting; infant and toddler development

Katherine Rose

Katherine Rose, PhD
Professor
WH 015-B
krose1@twu.edu
940-898-3154

Education: PhD, Purdue University; MS, Purdue University; MS, University of North Texas; BS, Baylor University

Research Interests: Parental decision-making about non-parental child care arrangements; child care quality; professional development of child care providers

Brigitte Vittrup

Brigitte Vittrup, PhD
Assistant Chair
Professor
WH 102-G
bvittrup@twu.edu
940-898-2624

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Racial socialization; children's racial attitudes; child discipline; media influences on children

Counseling and Development

photo unavailable

Lisa Grubbs, PhD, LPC-S, CSC, CG-C, NCC
School Counselor Advisor, CACREP Liaison
Assistant Professor
WH 213-B
lgrubbs@twu.edu
940-898-2653

photo unavailable

Joel Muro, PhD, LPC, RPT, NCC
Program Coordinator, Dual Music Therapy Advisor
Professor
WH 104-E
jmuro@twu.edu
940-898-2705

photo unavailable

Lamar Muro, PhD, LPC
Associate Professor
WH 015-D
lmuro1@twu.edu
940-898-2693

photo unavailable

Angela Pena, PhD
Visiting Assistant Clinical Professor
WH 213-D
ashokouhi@twu.edu
940-898-2688

Lindsay Webster

Lindsay Webster, PhD, LPC, CSC, NCC
Visiting Assistant Professor
WH 104-A
lwebster1@twu.edu
940-898-2274

Education: PhD, University of North Texas

Research Interests: Professional Counseling; School Counseling; Counseling Supervision

Family Studies/Family and Consumer Sciences

photo unavailable

Joyce Armstrong, PhD, CFLE, CFCS
Graduate Program Coordinator
Professor
WH 104-G
jarmstrong@twu.edu
940-898-2690

photo unavailable

Rhonda Buckley, PhD
Associate Professor
WH 308-B
rbuckley@twu.edu
940-898-3152

photo unavailable

Catherine Dutton, PhD, CFCS
Assistant Professor
WH 104-D
cdutton@twu.edu
940-898-2681

photo unavailable

Nerissa LeBlanc Gillum, PhD
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Professor
WH 015-G
ngillum@twu.edu
940-898-2696

photo unavailable

Shann Hwa (Abraham) Hwang, PhD, CFLE
Professor
WH 015-H
shwang@twu.edu
940-898-3155

photo unavailable

Karen Petty, PhD
Professor
WH 310
kpetty@twu.edu
940-898-2698

Marriage & Family Therapy

photo unavailable

Linda Brock, PhD, LMFT-Supervisor, LPC
Associate Professor
WH 308-E
lbrock@twu.edu
940-898-2713

Adam Jones

Adam Jones, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-B
ajones116@twu.edu
940-898-2682

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Utah State University; BS, Weber State University

Research Interests: Sexual Communication; Sexuality; Psychophysiology; Couple Conflict; Dyadic Data Analysis; Structural Equation Modeling; Psychotherapy Training; Therapy Process; Family Therapy; Medical Family Therapy; Illness and Disability

Rebecca Lucero Jones

Rebecca Lucero Jones, PhD
Assistant Professor
WH 102-E
rlucerojones@twu.edu
940-898-2687

Education: PhD, Texas Tech University; MS, Texas Tech University; BA, Brigham Young University

Research Interests: Marginalized Populations; Mexican Americans; Bi-cultural Couples; Immigration; Trauma; Substance Use Disorders; Opioid Use Disorders; Sexual Relationships; Medical Family Therapy; Family Therapy; Qualitative Inquiry; Dyadic Analysis

photo unavailable

Linda Ladd, PhD, PsyD
Professor
WH 308-D
lladd@twu.edu
940-898-2694

Education: PhD, Pacific University; PhD, Oregon State University; MS, Portland State University; BS, Portland State University; BA, University of Texas at Arlington

Research Interests: Family psychology; clinical psychology; assessments; parenting education; ambiguous loss; families raising children with significant and multiple disabilities

Aaron Norton

Aaron Norton, PhD, LMFT
Ph.D. Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor
WH 213-D
anorton@twu.edu
940-898-2677

Education: PhD, Kansas State University; MS, Kansas State University; BS, University of Utah; BS, University of Utah; Associate Degree, General Studies, Weber State University

Research Interests: Online Therapy; Couples and Technology; Couples Relationships and Parenting; Couples and Military

Staff

Vivian Baxter, PhD
Academic Program Coordinator
WH 002-A
vbaxter@twu.edu
940-898-2692

Naomi Graham
Administrative Assistant
WH 115-D
ngraham2@twu.edu 
940-898-2699

Melissa Harper, PhD
Academic Advisor II
WH 002-B
melissaharper@twu.edu
940-898-2731

Whitney Mathison, PhD, LPC, NCC
Counseling & Family Therapy Clinic Director
WH 114-P
wmathison@twu.edu
940-898-2954

Caty Meza
Senior Secretary
WH 115
cmeza4@twu.edu
940-898-2685

Anna Stokes
Senior Secretary, Graduate Programs
WH 115-B
astokes1@twu.edu
940-898-2686

Contact Information

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 425769
Denton, TX 76204

Physical Address
115, Woodcock Hall (WH)
(formerly Human Development Building, HDB)
1202 Old Main Circle
(north of the Bell Avenue and Texas Street intersection)

Phone
940-898-2685

Fax
940-898-2676

Email
HDFSC@twu.edu

Page last updated 2:06 PM, December 16, 2019