Pilots from Air Race Classic 2017 pose with their plane

Women's air racing started in 1929 with the Women's Air Derby. Twenty pilots raced from Santa Monica, CA to Cleveland, OH, site of the National Air Races. Racing continued through the '30's and was renewed again after WWII when the All Women's Transcontinental Air Race (AWTAR), better known as the Powder Puff Derby, came into being in 1947. The AWTAR held its 30th, final and commemorative flight in 1977. When the AWTAR was discontinued, the Air Race Classic, Ltd. (ARC) stepped in to continue the tradition of transcontinental speed competition for women pilots and staged its premier race. Their collection is comprised of documents, records, race records, programs, printed materials, artifacts, photographs, and memorabilia celebrating women’s air racing.

Discover information about upcoming races, routes and past winners at the Air Race Classic website. 


Visit the ARC website