Child Development

What are the PIES?

PIES are the four areas of a child's development- physical, intellectual, emotional, and social. Each of these areas is important to a child's overall development and a parent should engage their children in the PIES every day. We have created resources that will help parents start incorporating the PIES through reading and activities, five days a week!

How to Use the PIES

When using the PIES, think about your child and what they like. The suggested books and activities can be modified to fit your child's unique needs. Think about interacting with each of the slices in ways that incorporate something different every day, however, staying focused on each slice using the calendar of activities to be a guide. The blank calendar is for parents to fill out with children 9 and above.

Activity Calendars

Download printable versions of the PIES activity calendars.