On winning a national award

Good morning! For the second time this week, I want to start your day with some good news (Krasinski style). As you saw Inside TWU today, the American Council on Education and Fidelity Investments chose Texas Woman’s for its 2023 institutional transformation award. Standing in front of a packed ballroom of other chancellors and presidents from across the country to accept this award on behalf of the faculty, staff, and regents was an absolute thrill.

In my acceptance speech, I referenced connecting the dots and the momentum we have built together from many tiny pushes on a heavy metaphoric flywheel. While there was no one miracle moment, I do see that period during 2016-17 as we built Learn to Thrive: Strategic Plan 2022 as one when we collectively chose to embrace our distinctive identity as a woman-focused institution of higher learning. That coalescence of believing in something led us beyond incremental improvement to an almost cultural breakthrough.

You have made the mission palpable across the university as the SACSCOC site visit committee noted. Your teaching, scholarship, and service to your professions is extraordinary. Several alums in the ACE audience came up to me after the luncheon and told me Texas Woman’s was the perfect fit for them because of the faculty and staff’s support of traditional and nontraditional students alike. That takes effort outside of the ordinary. Your dedication to the mission is boosting our national visibility and demonstrating everyday our #campuswithaheart.

I see our QEP, Amplify Your Impact, as a logical, natural step into the future. It teaches bravery. It amplifies Texas Woman’s student voices—voices often diminished in the national dialogue on essential innovation for the future. In fitting Texas Woman’s style—style that won us this transformational award—it pushes the envelope.;

In concluding my speech I asked the question, “if we have transformed from good to great, what is beyond great?” Let’s find out!

With a pioneering spirit,

Carine M. Feyten, Ph.D.
Chancellor and President

Page last updated 3:21 PM, April 19, 2023