L. Ruth Guy

L. Ruth Guy, Texas Women’s Hall of Fame Inductee 1989

1989 Inductee
Professional Leadership

Dr. L. Ruth Guy of Dallas, professor emeritus in the Department of Pathology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, published or presented more than 100 scientific papers. She also organized and/or participated as a faculty member in over 35 workshops in blood banking.

This Kemp native earned her undergraduate and master’s degrees from Baylor University and her doctoral degree from Stanford University. She returned to Dallas in 1953, and thus began her positive influence on blood banking locally, nationally and, ultimately, internationally.

Dr. Guy and Dr. E.E. Muirhead founded the School of Medical Technology, and for 30 years she was personally responsible for training hundreds of students. Two of her former students were recently awarded the Nobel Prize.

In 1969 she was named the first chairman of the Department of Medical Technology. Subsequently the program for specialists in blood bank technology was formed.

She made numerous educational and technological contributions to the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and to Parkland Memorial Hospital. At Parkland Memorial she was instrumental in developing a “rape kit” now used routinely in examining rape victims. She was involved in numerous community service organizations such as Zonta Club (president), Dallas County Big Sisters (advisory board), Business Women in Art (chairman), and Business and Professional Women’s Club of Dallas (president).

In her profession she received numerous honors such as the John Elliot Award in 1973, presented by the American Association of Blood Banks. She also was presented an honorary fellowship of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists — the first person (man or woman) that was not a medical doctor to receive this distinction.

Page last updated 5:08 PM, March 4, 2020