Office of Educator Preparation Services

The Office of Educator Preparation Services (OEPS) at Texas Woman’s University supports all TWU students seeking educator certification. Both undergraduate and graduate students can earn their initial teaching certificates at TWU.  Certified educators can pursue professional certifications through graduate programs offered in the College of Professional Education. The OEPS processes all applications for certification. OEPS staff members are available to answer questions concerning certification requirements and procedures Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. OEPS is located in Stoddard Hall, Room 211.

To request information on interdisciplinary degree options or if you need help unraveling the complexity of the certification process, schedule an appointment with an OEPS advisor.

Schedule an Appointment

Students seeking high school subject-level certification or a certificate that covers all grade levels major in the subject area (e.g., English, Theatre Arts) of their certificate and minor in education. Students seeking degrees in the College of Arts and Sciences or the College of Health Sciences should contact the appropriate advisor below in addition to scheduling a meeting with OEPS:

 

scroll to see the full table

DepartmentAdvisorOfficePhoneEmail
Dance Ilana Morgan DGL 205A 940-898-2003 imorgan@twu.edu
English Stephen Souris CFO 903 940-898-2343 ssouris@twu.edu
History Lybeth Hodges CFO 603 940-898-2136 lhodges@twu.edu
Mathematics Cathy Banks MCL 416 940-898-2770 cbanks@twu.edu
Music Vicki Baker MUS 204 940-898-2724 vbaker@twu.edu
Physical Education Kathryn Brown PH 208H 940-898-2851 kbrown7@twu.edu
Science (Biology) Mandy Biggers GRB 214 940-898-2258 mbiggers2@twu.edu
Science (Chemistry) Rich Jones SCI 213P 940-898-2557 rjones2@twu.edu
Social Studies Lybeth Hodges CFO 603 940-898-2136 lhodges@twu.edu
Theatre Arts Patrick Bynane MUS 200 940-898-2518 pbynane@twu.edu
Family & Consumer Sciences Joyce Armstrong WH 104G 940-898-2690 jarmstrong@twu.edu

 

The Undergraduate Minor in Education prepares educator candidates for the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) exam (State Board for Educator Certification through the Texas Education Agency). If you are a resident of another state, contact the Office of Educator Preparation Services to determine whether our program fulfills requirements to take the certification exam in your home state.

Page last updated 12:26 PM, September 30, 2019