TWU introduces the Jane Nelson Institute Legacy Leaders program

Jun. 9, 2020 — DENTON — Building on its mission of empowering and educating the next generation of leaders, Scholar Programs at Texas Woman’s University has launched the Jane Nelson Institute Legacy Leaders program, a multi-year, structured experience designed for exceptional student leaders with a heart for serving their communities.

Beginning fall 2020, the inaugural cohort of first-time students will receive annual scholarships of $11,000, renewable for up to four years. The scholarship, funded by the Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership, can be combined with other select university awards, including new student merit awards.

“The Jane Nelson Institute for Women's Leadership is proud to sponsor the Legacy Leaders Scholarship Program,” said Mary Anne Alhadeff, executive director/chief officer, Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership at TWU. “This comprehensive, four-year program will expand the mission of the Jane Nelson Institute to provide leadership opportunities to all students at TWU. Women's leadership is a cornerstone of the TWU strategic plan, and Legacy Leaders will play a key role in achieving the vision of that plan.”

With a focus on student leaders who want to improve their local communities by serving nonprofits, the program seeks to prepare participants for a lifetime of service, commitment and contribution. Students will deepen their understanding of leadership and the complex nature of addressing social issues through experiential learning opportunities that complement classroom experiences.

“Legacy Leaders provides a tremendous opportunity for our communities,” said Elizabeth Durham, director of Scholar Programs at TWU. “By focusing on the unique contributions that women bring to all facets of leadership, this program will help prepare our students for tomorrow’s challenges.”

To be eligible for the program, students must be first-time students entering college, demonstrate academic merit and demonstrate leadership in school and/or their community. Pell Grant eligibility is preferred, but not required.

By working in a truly collaborative environment in partnership with faculty across the university and with the Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership, the Legacy Leader program will help students connect with peers who aspire to affect a positive change in their local and global communities and will create a pipeline of leaders. 

The inaugural class of 2020 Jane Nelson Institute Legacy Leaders represent a variety of majors, including business, kinesiology, psychology and more, and are all from Texas:

  • Lori Abalos, Ferris
  • Chloe Allen, Blossom
  • Lesly Alvarado, Grapevine
  • Jordyn Barsh, Aquilla
  • Amber Brockmann, Plano
  • Jaycee Brown, Celeste
  • Nicholas Cavazos, San Antonio
  • Blake Christen, La Porte
  • Astra Elliott, Austin
  • Serena Fernandez, San Antonio
  • Reesha Goes, Irving
  • Audrie Hackett, Bedford
  • Nevaeh Hoskins, Glenn Heights
  • Silu Joseph, Carrollton
  • Anna Kajs, Austin
  • Isabelle Kenneke, Lantana
  • Greyson King, Haslet
  • Juliana Liano, El Paso
  • Alexis Manzano, Warren
  • Melisa Martinez Morales, Mesquite
  • Sarah Mathew, Mesquite
  • Diane Mendoza, Garland
  • Brenna Merillat, Royse City
  • Danielle Morin, Irving
  • Amit Ohayon, Keller
  • Jeremi Ann Sampelo, Frisco
  • Autumn Sanders, Fort Worth
  • Alexa Vasquez, Justin
  • Constance Williams, Little Elm
  • Xaria Williams, Desoto


Page last updated 3:34 PM, May 17, 2024