Center announces women entrepreneur grant winners

A woman in her business working on a computer.

Nov. 2, 2022 — DENTON — The Center for Women Entrepreneurs (CWE) at Texas Woman’s University has selected 25 female entrepreneurs to receive $5,000 awards through its StartHER Grant Program, part of an ongoing effort to boost women-owned businesses in Texas.

“We received a significant number of outstanding submissions for this round of grants, which not only demonstrates a need, but a desire by many women to become successful entrepreneurs and contribute to the economies of their communities,” said Tracy Irby, the center’s director.

The following awardees will receive $5,000 each to start or expand their businesses:

Grant funding can be used to purchase machinery, equipment, technology, inventory, raw materials, fixtures or display units, or can be used for property improvements, marketing or other business-related activity aligned with the program’s purpose. The enterprise had to be an existing or to-be-formed Texas, woman-owned, for-profit business.

Awardees are required to meet with a small business advisor, submit a business plan and complete a small business training course hosted by the CWE to receive funding. The course will cover topics such as business plan development, marketing, legal matters, insurance, accounting and financing. The CWE received 245 grant applications from across Texas. This marked the center’s sixth round of StartHER grants.

“We are thrilled to be able to support these women with the seed money and training they need to give their businesses a boost and help them succeed,” Irby said. 

The CWE is a program of TWU’s Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership. The institute is dedicated to preparing women to take on successful roles in business and public service to ensure women have the education to establish careers as successful C-suite executives, the skills for building entrepreneurial businesses and the framework needed to run for public office.

Media Contact

Matt Flores
Assistant Vice President, University Communications

Page last updated 8:57 AM, April 10, 2024