Texas Woman’s holds annual occupational therapy lecture, workshop

Jan. 14, 2020 - DALLAS - The Texas Woman’s University School of Occupational Therapy will host its 27th annual Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship at the T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center (5500 Southwestern Medical Ave., Dallas, TX 75235-7299) on Friday, Feb. 7.

The all-day event, which typically attracts more than 200 attendees from the North Texas region, is open to all occupational therapy practitioners and TWU occupational therapy students. Occupational therapy practitioners also can earn continuing education credits by attending the morning Fieldwork Educator course.

Deirdre Dawson headshot

The keynote speaker will be Deirdre R. Dawson, PhD, OT Reg. (Ont.), a licensed occupational therapist in Ontario, Canada, professor and interim chair in the Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy at the University of Toronto and a senior scientist with the Rotman Research Institute, Baycrest Health Sciences in Toronto. Dawson’s presentation will focus on Executive Dysfunction: The Keystone of Occupational Performance.

There also will be a panel discussion on Community, Transitions & Partnerships, featuring Charmaine Solomon, founder and chairman of the Board, My Possibilities; Carla Weiland, president and CEO, Camp Summit; and Valerie Gotcher, founder and executive director, BIND: Brain Injury Network of Dallas.

Throughout the day, concurrent sessions will be offered on a variety of topics. The event will conclude with a presentation on Shaping Practice through Education and Research, during which faculty will share current research and community projects that influence the profession.

For details and to register, visit twu.edu/occupational-therapy/our-events/vanderkooi-endowed-lectureship, or contact Noralyn Pickens at 214-689-7754 or npickens@twu.edu.

The Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship was established in 1994 by Roland and Virginia Chandler Dykes (occupational therapy ’53) to honor the first program director of occupational therapy at TWU, Fanny B. Vanderkooi. It celebrates the School of Occupational Therapy’s legacy of commitment to vision, professional values and leadership development in occupational therapy education, practice and research.

Media Contact

Ray Willhoft
Director of Communications, Jane Nelson Institute for Women's Leadership

Page last updated 3:42 PM, January 14, 2020