CHS Announces 2023 Faculty Awards

Four CHS award recipients stand next to CHS dean

The College of Health Sciences announced the 2023 faculty awards in teaching, scholarship, service, Interprofessional Education and synergy at its faculty meeting on Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2023.

View faculty awards page

Teaching Award

headshot of Laura Green

Laura Green, PhD, CCC/SLP

Department of Communication Sciences and Oral Health

Teaching Award Recipient: 2023

Dr. Green has creative and engaging approaches to teaching from honors undergraduate to doctoral students. 

Scholarship Award 

headshot of Ann Amuta

Ann O. Amuta, PhD, MPH, CPH

School of Health Promotion and Kinesiology

Scholarship Award Recipient: 2023

Dr. Amuta’s research aims to prevent cervical cancer in Sub-Saharan African immigrant women who are
burdened by high cervical cancer incidence and mortality through an intervention that incorporates HPV
screening via self-sampling, promoting cancer screening.

Service Award

headshot of William Sit

William Sit

School of Occupational Therapy

Service Award Recipient: 2023

Dr. Sit serves Texas occupational therapists at the AOTA representative assembly and is the 2022 Texas Occupational Therapy Association Roster of Merit recipient.

“People will forget what you said, but people will never forget how you made them feel through your service.” - Dr. Sit’s motto


Synergy Award

headshot of Charlene Dickinson

Charlene Dickinson, RDH, BSDH, MS

Dental Hygiene, Department of Communication Sciences and Oral Health

Synergy Award Recipient: 2023

Ms. Dickinson’s connects dental hygiene and related health students in grant-funded hands-on community service, modeling and teaching collaboration, critical thinking, and problem-solving, influencing their leadership and social integrity.


Interprofessional Education Award

Barb Baudler

Barb Baudler, MSN, RN

College of Nursing

Interprofessional Education Award: 2023

Wayne Brewer

Wayne Brewer, PT, PHD, MPH, OCS

School of Physical Therapy 

Interprofessional Education Award: 2023

headshot of Alicia Lohmann

Alicia F. Lohmann, OTD, OTR, CBIS

School of Occupational Therapy 

Interprofessional Education Award: 2023

Stacy Flynn

Stacy Flynn, PT, DPT, CWS

School of Physical Therapy

Interprofessional Education Award: 2023

Page last updated 11:31 AM, August 31, 2023