Building a strategic enrollment plan

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce that Holly Hansen-Thomas, Ph.D. and Monica Mendez-Grant, Ed.D. have agreed to co-lead the development of a strategic enrollment plan. Dr. Mendez-Grant will serve as co-lead until the successful completion of a national search for an AVP of Enrollment Management. This initiative comes from the shared vision of the Strategic Enrollment Management Committee, a collaborative body leading the Division of Enrollment Management.

I believe Texas Woman's is the best choice for many Texans’ higher education given our programs, the opportunities you help open up for our students, and our shared commitment to excellence for all. In reality, enrollment management takes more than being “the best” to ensure strategic growth. It is a complex art form. It involves aligning workforce needs with student behavior, program offerings, and program capacities—and showing how we stand out through cost-effective marketing strategies. It consists of mixing dual credit, first-time in college, transfer, and graduate students. It means being efficient in making admission decisions and thoughtful in all the touchpoints between a potential student selecting Texas Woman’s and enrolling here. Most importantly, it involves retention strategies with an eye on admitting students with academic rigor that leads to student success. In all of these complexities, the higher ed landscape is also highly competitive.

The enrollment growth challenge looms large, but with our model of collaboration between divisions, I believe we can lean on our past success and leap forward. Please join me in thanking Drs. Hansen-Thomas and Mendez-Grant, all those tapped to lead the development of a strategic enrollment plan, and those leading the SEMC.

The Strategic Enrollment Management Committee, chaired by Dr. Mendez-Grant, includes:

  • Joshua Adams, Ed.D., Assistant Provost, Student Success
  • Mark Sebastián Hamner, Ph.D., Vice Provost, Institutional Research & Improvement
  • Holly Hansen-Thomas, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and Innovation and Dean of the Graduate School
  • Carolyn A. Kapinus, Ph.D., Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
  • Barbara Lerner, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies & Academic Partnerships
  • Cindy Pollard, Associate Vice President, Marketing & Communication
  • Jason Tomlinson, Vice President for Finance & Administration

I also want to thank our partners at Ruffalo Noel Levitz for their expertise in matching strategies that work elsewhere with our distinctive mission here at Texas Woman's. Onward and upward, as it were!

With a pioneering spirit,

Carine M. Feyten, Ph.D.
Chancellor and President

Page last updated 4:31 PM, June 4, 2021