TWU Redbud Awards Recognize Students

Apr. 19, 2018 - DENTON Texas Woman’s University announced the winners of this year’s Redbud Awards, an annual tradition that honors the accomplishments of TWU’s student leaders and organizations as well as faculty and staff organization advisors.

The event traces its history to the TWU Redbud Festival, which began in 1939 as a way to improve and celebrate women’s poise and appearance. Today, the event recognizes students for other traits, including leadership, character and their desire to make a difference.

This year’s winners are:

Individual Student Leadership Awards

Glenda Brock Simmons Community Service - Awarded to students for demonstrating service beyond the TWU community and for exuding a servant leadership mentality.

  • Megan Gross
  • Hanna McDonald

Emerging Leaders of the Year - Awarded to students who began their personal journey of leadership at TWU in the past year, modeled student engagement for others and successfully balanced academic efforts and co-curricular leadership opportunities.

  • Ledua Atam
  • Mikoto Brunet
  • Jokabeth Castaneda
  • Alondra Flores

Richard Nicholas Outstanding Student Leaders – Awarded to students who demonstrate student leadership for more than a year, hold themselves and peers to the highest standards, provide opportunities for others to learn and develop leadership skills, balance academic and co-curricular efforts, and will continue to lead beyond their time at TWU.

  • Sushmitha Ananth
  • Terrence Benard
  • Blaire Jackson
  • Kristopher Johnson
  • Diocelin Martinez

Pauline Bishop Leman Memorial Award – Awarded to a graduating senior or master’s student who has made the most outstanding artistic achievement during the school year.

  • Crysten Ivy

Campus Leader with a Heart Award - Awarded to students for serving others, bringing about positive social change and leading from the heart.

  • Myah Anderson
  • Shannon Combest
  • Corbin Dotson
  • Layton Hernandez
  • Rachel Iacobucci
  • Nikki Perez

Student Organization Awards

Glenda Brock Simmons Community Service – Awarded to a charted or university sanctioned student organization that exceeds the organization’s minimum requirement for service and exemplifies the value of community service.

  • Association of Texas Professional Educators
  • Sigma Lambda Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Student Organizations of the Year – Awarded to a charted or university sanctioned student organization that maintains a positive presence at TWU, fosters ongoing collaborative relationships, maintains high standards, and focuses on effective transition among officers and members.

  • Enactus
  • Graduate Student Council
  • Kappa Epsilon Mu
  • Residence Hall Association

Faculty or Staff Advisor of the Year Awards

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Awarded to a faculty or staff member who served as an official advisor, contributed to positive growth of the organization and intentionally guided the organization’s officers to remain aligned with TWU’s core values.

  • Taylor Sandoval
  • Nasrin Mirsaleh-Kohan

Campus Leader with a Heart Award – Awarded to a faculty or staff member who serves others, brings about positive social change and leads from the heart.

  • Christopher Harris

In addition to these winners, Dr. Sheri Dragoo, Professor of Fashion and Textiles, recognized five students who submitted plaid designs to the Board of Regents earlier in the year. These designs were then voted on by the TWU community, and one was selected as the winner. Kelsey Sager was recognized as the designer of the new official TWU Plaid.

Other recognitions included the Greek Awards, Pioneering Spirit Awards, Residence Life and Housing Awards and the installation of the Student Government Association President. 

Page last updated 10:39 AM, March 14, 2024