TWU announces 2021 Redbud Award winners

Apr. 21, 2021 — DENTON — Each year the Center for Student Development hosts the Redbud Awards to recognize student leaders, student organizations and advisors for outstanding leadership and service to the TWU community. Like last year, due to ongoing coronavirus concerns, this year's ceremony was also held virtually with the winners being announced on Wednesday, April 21.

Redbud Awards recognize individuals for their strength of character, leadership and achievements. More than 120 students and student organizations were nominated this year, up slightly from last year's 99 total nominations.

This year's winners were as follows:

Individual Student Leadership Awards

Glenda Brock Simmons Community Service - Awarded to students for demonstrating service beyond the TWU community and for exuding a servant leadership mentality.

  • Corrie Earthman

Emerging Leaders of the Year - Awarded to students who began their personal journey of leadership at TWU in the past year, modeled student engagement for others and successfully balanced academic efforts and co-curricular leadership opportunities.

  • Maya Landgrebe
  • Lidia Rubio
  • Rediet (Rae) Perry
  • Tessa Butler

Richard Nicholas Outstanding Student Leaders – Awarded to students who demonstrate student leadership for more than a year, hold themselves and peers to the highest standards, provide opportunities for others to learn and develop leadership skills, balance academic and co-curricular efforts, and will continue to lead beyond their time at TWU.

  • Casey Montgomery
  • Emily Gentry
  • Juliana Bershell
  • Kayla Miller
  • Uzochi Onwukwe

Pauline Bishop Leman Memorial Award – Awarded to a graduating senior or master’s student who has made the most outstanding artistic achievement during the school year.

  • Sarah Turner

Campus Leader with a Heart Award – Awarded to students for serving others, bringing about positive social change and leading from the heart.

  • Aesha Desai
  • Dawna-Diamond Tyson
  • Fiama Villagrano-Ocasio
  • Nicole Silva

Student Organization Awards

Glenda Brock Simmons Community Service – Awarded to a charted or university sanctioned student organization that exceeds the organization’s minimum requirement for service and exemplifies the value of community service.

  • Child Abuse Prevention Society
  • Helping Hands Service Ambassadors

Student Organizations of the Year – Awarded to a charted or university sanctioned student organization that maintains a positive presence at TWU, fosters ongoing collaborative relationships, maintains high standards, and focuses on effective transition among officers and members.

  • G-Force
  • Residence Hall Association
  • Sigma Phi Lambda

Faculty or Staff Advisor of the Year Awards

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Awarded to a faculty or staff member who served as an official advisor, contributed to positive growth of the organization and intentionally guided the organization’s officers to remain aligned with TWU’s core values.

  • Amy O'Keefe
  • Martha Rew
  • Mere Maddox
  • Nadaya Cross
  • Shelia Hyde

Campus Leader with a Heart Award – Awarded to a faculty or staff member who serves others, brings about positive social change and leads from the heart.

  • Russell McKinley
  • Dr. Sarah McMahan
  • Simone Daniels

In addition to these winners, Monica Mendez-Grant, Ed.D., vice president for Student Life, recognized three TWU faculty and staff who made a significant impact to TWU students this past year and received the Distinguished Service Award: Colby Parsons, Dr. Patrick Bynane and Dr. Barbara Lerner.


Page last updated 12:03 PM, December 14, 2021