skip to content


Biology at TWU

Welcome to the TWU Biology Department.

Our mission is to promote understanding of the processes of life, its evolution, and its diversity and to prepare students for careers or advanced graduate/professional training in biological sciences.

We are delighted to have you look over our programs and perhaps choose us for your academic career.

We congratulate the following:

  • Dr. Shazia Ahmed appointed as Clinical Associate Professor

  • Dr. Ann Davis appointed as Lecturer I

  • Dr. Diana Elrod appointed as Visiting Assistant Professor

  • Dr. Amy Jo Hammett appointed as Clinical Assistant Professor

  • Ms. Shaumarie Tanner appointed as Clinical Assistant Professor

  • Dr. Lynda Uphouse recognized as Cornaro Professor Emerita

  • Dr. Merry McArthur recognized as Professor Emerita

  • Dr. Dayna Averitt appointed as Director of Vivarium

 • Ph.D candidates Sumod Sebastian and Remya A. Veettil for winning the Howard J. Arnott Student Competition Award at the Spring 2016 Texas Society for Microscopy meeting for their presentation: “Role of dynamin and caveolae in the endocytosis of surface functionalized nanospheres in neurons and neuron like cells.” Sumod Sebastian, Remya A. Veettil, Thomas McAllister, Santaneel Ghosh and DiAnna Hynds.

Dr. Michael Bergel for his distinction of having the cover of The Journal of Biological Chemistry February 12th, 2016, issue. Sincere gratitude is expressed to Ph.D Candidate Sanil Sansar (Hynds Lab) for his expertise in creating the cover art.

• In addition, please take note of the peer reviewed work published in the same issue: “Mitotic Activation of a Novel Histone Deacetylase 3-Linker Histone H1.3 Protein Complex by Protein Kinase CK2.” Hemangi Patil, Carrie Wilks, Rhiannon Wold Gonzalez, Sudheer Dhanireddy, Heather Conrad-Webb, and Michael Bergel. JBC Papers in Press, DOI 10.1074/jbc.M115.643874

The symbolic mitotic spindle fibers, composed of confocal microscopy images, demonstrate the colocalization of HDAC3 and H1.3 proteins to the polar microtubules and to the spindle poles in HeLa cells during various mitotic stages. The antibodies used for the indirect immunofluorescence staining were: anti-HDAC3 (green), anti-histone H1.3 (red), anti-Eg5 (polar microtubules motor protein) (green/red), and the DNA stain—Hoechst (blue).

  • 2016 New Investigator Research Enhancement Program:
    • Dr. Dayna Averitt, Effects of Estrous Cycle on Trigeminal Pain
    • Dr. Christopher Brower, TDP43 Toxicity and Its Degradation by the N-end Rule Pathway to Prevent Neurodegeneration
    • Dr. Tina Gumienny, Determining the Roles of Three Cellular Trafficking Regulators in TGF-beta Signal Regulation   


Dr. Sarah A. McIntire, 1941-2016

Areas of Study (PREFIX)

  • Bacteriology (BACT)
  • Biology (BIOL)
  • Botany (BOT)
  • Science (SCI)
  • Zoology (ZOOL)


Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or if you plan a visit to the campus.

Claire L. Sahlin Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Interim Biology Chair

Course Rotation - (pdf)

THECB 18 Doctoral Characteristics

Biology Seminars

Biology seminars are held every Friday from 3:00 - 4:00. See the TWU Biology calendar of events for specific topics. More about “Biology Seminars”...

Seminar Fall 2016

Sept 23:  Dr. Jeffrey Chen, Genomic and Epigenetic Bases for Polyploidy and Hybrid Vigor

Sept 30:  Matt Moustakas, Director of Environmental Safety, TWU, Safety Seminar

Oct 7:  Dr. Kevin A. Morano, "Modulation of protein homeostasis by Hsp70 cofactors"

Oct 14:  Celebration of Science

Oct 21:  Dr. Sarah Bondos

Oct 28:  Dr. A. Keith Dunkar (joint seminar with UNT)

Nov 4:  Dr. David Allelo

Nov 11: Sanil Sansar, TWU Ph.D. candidate

Nov 18:  Dr. Michael Buszczak


Dec 2:  Dr. Julie Pfeiffer

Dec 9:  Dr. Elisa Na