skip to content

TWU to honor alumni and student excellence at Accolades Luncheon April 11


DENTON — Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Former Students Association (TWU FSA) will present the TWU Accolades Luncheon on Friday, April 11.

The event will recognize the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award, the Hallmark Alumni honoree and the Outstanding TWU Students.

Tickets for the Accolades Luncheon are $25 each, payable to the TWU Former Students Association. The event begins with a reception at 11:15 a.m. in Hubbard Hall on the Denton campus, followed by a luncheon, also in Hubbard Hall. To purchase tickets, or for more information, call (940) 898-2586.

The 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient is Dr. Betty Bohon Alford, R.D./L.D., B.S. ’54, M.A. ’56, Ph.D. ’65, Cornaro Professor Emerita and former dean of nutrition, textiles and human development at Texas Woman’s University.

The 2014 Hallmark Alumni Award recipient is Jennifer Lee, M.S., CCC-SLP, M.S. ’09, inpatient speech therapist at the Children’s Medical Center – Dallas Campus. The Hallmark Award salutes graduates who have had a significant, positive effect on their chosen profession or on their community.

Since the 1960s, the FSA has honored select graduating students for their excellence in scholarship and service by naming them as Outstanding TWU Students. Receiving these awards for 2013-2014 are:

Wen (Wendy) Yu Chong of Houston, biology major,
Bailey Vrazel of Danbury, kinesiology and pre-physical therapy major and
Emma C. Zemler of Corinth, a double major in mathematics and computer science at TWU and enrolled in the TWU/University of North Texas dual degree program in math and engineering, majoring in electrical engineering at UNT.


Dr. Betty Bohon Alford

Betty Bohon Alford earned three degrees at Texas Woman’s University – her bachelor of science in home economics in 1954, her master of arts in nutrition in 1956, and her Ph.D. in nutrition in 1965.

During her doctoral research, which was sponsored by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), she studied optimum diet to maintain bone density in space. Her post-doctoral work included continuing to supervise all the diets during the years that NASA research was conducted by TWU.

Dr. Alford taught at TWU for 40 years, serving as chair of the Department of Nutrition and Food Sciences, dean of the College of Nutrition, Textiles and Human Development and director of the Didactic Program. In 1997, the university honored Dr. Alford with the Cornaro Award for distinguished teaching and commitment to scholarship. Upon retirement, she was named Cornaro Professor Emerita.

She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Association, North Texas Dietetic Association, the American Society for Nutrition, the American Society for Clinical Nutrition, Phi Upsilon Omicron (Honor Society of Home Economics), Phi Kappa Phi (National Honor Society) and Sigma Xi (National Honor Society of Science). She is a life member of the TWU Former Students Association and has served on the TWU Presidents Council.

Jennifer Lee

Jennifer Lee earned her master of science in speech-language pathology from Texas Woman’s University in 2009.

Ms. Lee works as an inpatient speech therapist at the Children’s Medical Center – Dallas Campus, where she cares for patients in acute medical settings and evaluates and treats patients admitted to the hospital with feeding/swallowing or cognitive-linguistic deficits. Since October 2013, she has worked specifically in the Neonatal ICU with premature and medically fragile infants. She has also worked for Our Children’s House at Baylor in Grapevine.

She uses her expertise to impact children in developing countries through her volunteer involvement with Connective Link Among Special Needs Programs International (CLASP), a nonprofit health care and social service organization that seeks to improve the lives of children and adults with disabilities in developing countries. CLASP International accomplishes its goals by providing formalized disability training to resident professionals in those countries and ultimately seeks to establish self-sustaining programs.

Ms. Lee is a member of the American Speech and Hearing Association and the Texas Speech Hearing Association.

Wen (Wendy) Yu Chong

Wen (Wendy) Yu Chong will graduate in May 2014 with a degree in biology and a 4.0 grade point average. A TWU Chancellor’s Research Scholar, Ms. Chong was chosen to participate in two prestigious summer fellowship programs – one at UT Health Science Institute - San Antonio in 2012 and one, relating to cardiovascular research, at the University of Michigan Health Science Center in 2013. She was voted the Outstanding Freshman in the TWU Honors Scholar program and led many service projects for the Athenian Honor Society.

Bailey Vrazel

Bailey Vrazel will graduate in May 2014 with a degree in kinesiology and will pursue a graduate degree in physical therapy at TWU. She has maintained a 4.0 grade point average while serving as a key member of the TWU Pioneer softball team. Her research project, the kinematics of windmill softball pitching, received the 2013 TWU Chancellor’s Research Scholar award. Ms. Vrazel has received many awards recognizing athletic and academic excellence including, the Lone Star Conference Academic Player of the Year in 2012 and 2013 and the TWU President’s Award in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Emma C. Zemler

Emma Zemler will graduate in May 2014 with two TWU degrees – one in mathematics and one in computer sciences. Through the cooperative degree program with the University of North Texas, she also will receive a degree in electrical engineering from UNT. She has maintained a 4.0 grade point average in all programs. She is a four-time presenter at the TWU Research Symposium, a member of the TWU Honors Scholar program, a member of many honor societies and recipient of numerous scholarships. Since 2011, Ms. Zemler has held various internships, co-operative work positions and full-time employment with the NASA Johnson Space Center. She will begin her professional career at NASA in summer 2014.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 5/9/2016 4:58 PM