skip to content

TWU announces Ellen M. Painter and the Denton Benefit League as the 2013 Founders' Award recipients



DENTON — Ellen M. Painter, retired director of marketing and volunteers for the Texas Healthy Presbyterian Hospital Denton, and the Denton Benefit League will be honored for their exceptional service to the Denton community and to Texas Woman’s University as the 2013 TWU Founders’ Awards recipients.

The awards will be presented at the annual TWU Founders’ Awards Scholarship Luncheon at noon Thursday, April 25, in Hubbard Hall on TWU’s Denton campus.

Seats for the event are $40 per person. Patron seats are available for $75. Benefactor tables for eight are available for $750. For information on sponsorship opportunities, contact Patrice Benfield Frisby at (940) 898-3867. Reservations are required by Friday, April 12.

Proceeds from the luncheon benefit the TWU Chancellor’s Endowed Scholarships, the most prestigious scholarships awarded by the university. Established by Chancellor Stuart and other donors in 2000, these scholarships are the largest awarded by TWU and are the only academic scholarships that offer a stipend to recipients in addition to paying tuition and fees. They are awarded to TWU students on the basis of outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service in school and community activities.

The Denton Record-Chronicle and Luther King Capital Management (formerly Hester Capital Management) are the presenting sponsors of the TWU Founders’ Awards Scholarship Luncheon. PointBank and Verizon also are sponsors. As of Feb. 27, table sponsors of the luncheon are: AccessBank Texas; Sue S. Bancroft, Chair, TWU Board of Regents; BBVA Compass; Bill DeBerry Funeral Directors; Chancellor and President, TWU; City of Denton; DATCU Credit Union; Meridian Bank Texas; Bettye B. Myers, Ph.D.; Ramey & King Insurance; Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton; the TWU Black Alumni Association; the TWU Former Students Association and the TWU Foundation.

Dr. David Rylander, TWU associate professor of marketing, will serve as the keynote speaker for the luncheon.

Ellen M. Painter

Ms. Painter has been a fixture of the Denton community for more than 20 years as both a community advocate and volunteer.

Her many contributions to the Denton community include serving as a member of the Denton Chamber of Commerce, which includes being a member of the chamber’s board of directors for six years and the board chair from 2001-2002; being a lifetime member of the United Way of Denton County Board of Directors and serving as its Chair from 2005-2006; serving on the board of directors of the American Cancer Society’s Denton Unit and being its Chair from 1999-2001; and being a board member of the American Heart Association–Denton and serving as chair of the Go Red for Women Heart Luncheon from 2004 to 2010.

Ms. Painter also has had a long relationship with TWU and is known as one of the university’s biggest fans. She first connected with the university through her employer – then Denton Community Hospital – agreeing to sponsor TWU Athletics more than 15 years ago. Since then, Ms. Painter has been involved in several TWU initiatives and events, including the annual Power of a Healthy Woman event, the TWU Health Fair and as a member of the TWU Founders’ Award Scholarship Luncheon Advisory Committee.

“I am absolutely and truly thrilled and honored to receive a Founders’ Award from TWU, which is a wonderful institution that I truly respect and enjoy,” Ms. Painter said. “I look forward to working with TWU and in the community well through my retirement, as I know we will continue to do amazing things together.”

Denton Benefit League

For 40 years, the women of the Denton Benefit League (DBL) have served Denton by raising funds for non-profit organizations, volunteering in the community and building leadership skills in women.

The 300-member organization raises money through annual events such as the DBL Charity Ball in the spring, selling its “sensational settings” tablescapes in the fall and obtaining sponsorships for the DBL Tabloid section in the Denton Record-Chronicle. One-hundred percent of its raised funds are returned to the community through DBL grants.

Since its inception in 1973, the DBL has given more than $4 million to 182 Denton non-profit and charitable organizations including CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates), the City of Denton Animal Shelter, Communities in Schools of North Texas, Denton County Friends of the Family, Fred Moore Day Nursery School, Denton Independent School District and many others. Some of the many TWU organizations that have received DBL grants include the TWU Dental Clinic, the TWU Department of Music and Drama, the TWU Former Students Association, the TWU Historic First Ladies Dress Collection and TWU Athletics.

TWU also is a sponsor of the DBL Tabloid, placing an ad in the publication each year. This sponsorship enables TWU to share success stories of its faculty and staff with the Denton community. In addition, several TWU faculty, staff and alumni are current or past members of the DBL, and the DBL Charity Ball has been held on the TWU Denton campus on several occasions.

“TWU has a long standing relationship with the Denton Benefit League — our members have warm memories of the many balls held in Hubbard Hall, our records are carefully archived in the Mary Evelyn Blagg Huey Library, and we have been privileged to support several university programs through charitable grants,” said Edene Riggs, president of the DBL. “We value these ties with TWU and we appreciate the confidence TWU shows in the DBL by giving us this award.”

Keynote Speaker Dr. David Rylander

Dr. David Rylander, associate professor of marketing, has served on the TWU faculty for 12 years. He is a Sam Walton Fellow, the faculty sponsor of the Enactus student business organization and is an advocate of interdisciplinary programs and experiential learning projects.

He has taught a variety of marketing courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels and has led study tours to Europe, Asia and Central America. He has chaired multiple committees at TWU, including the Undergraduate Council, the State Employee Charitable Campaign and the TWU Quality Enhancement Plan selection process for the university’s reaffirmation of accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

His many awards from TWU include the Innovation in Academia award, the Redbud Faculty Advisor of the Year award and the Mary Mason Lyon award for outstanding junior faculty.

Founders’ Awards

The first Founders’ Awards were presented in 1998 to honor organizations and individuals who have supported TWU and exhibited leadership in the community. TWU celebrates Founders’ Day to commemorate the date the university was established by the state of Texas – April 6, 1901.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 10:58 AM