skip to content

TWU selected for Terry Foundation scholarship program


DENTON — The Terry Foundation – the state’s largest private scholarship program – will expand to include students from Texas Woman’s University beginning next fall.

“TWU is proud to join the outstanding universities in Texas who are benefiting from this highly recognized scholarship program,” said Dr. Richard Nicholas, TWU vice president for student life. “TWU is known for offering a quality education at an affordable price. Adding the Terry Scholars program to the university scholarship offerings will assist high achieving students and reinforce our reputation.”

Terry Scholarships are awarded for a student’s freshman year of college and are renewable annually at the discretion of the foundation’s board of directors for up to eight semesters. The award covers the cost of tuition, fees, books, on-campus room and board, as well as miscellaneous expenses. Leadership, academic excellence and financial need are criteria considered during the selection process.

The first class of 16 Terry Scholars at TWU will be selected from a group of 33 finalists by a Terry Foundation interview panel in spring 2013. In addition to their award, Terry Scholars at TWU will live in their own living-learning community on campus and participate in special programs designed to enhance their university experience.

“We are delighted to announce the establishment of the Terry Foundation Scholarship program at TWU,” said Edward T. Cotham, Jr., president of The Terry Foundation. “Terry Scholars at TWU will benefit from the university’s outstanding academic programs and growing national reputation for excellence.”

TWU’s Office of Student Life will manage the Terry Scholars program at the university. Prospective students interested in the program should complete the general scholarship application available Nov. 15 at TWU’s scholarship application deadline is March 15, 2013.

The Houston-based Terry Foundation was established by the late Howard Terry and his wife Nancy in 1986. Since its creation the foundation has awarded more than $77 million in scholarships to more than 2,400 students.

In addition to TWU, participating universities in the Terry Scholars program are the University of Texas at Austin, Texas A&M University at College Station, the University of Houston main campus, Texas State University – San Marcos, the University of Texas at San Antonio, the University of Texas at Dallas, the University of North Texas and Texas Tech University.

Media Contact:

Amanda Simpson
Director of Media Relations

page updated 10/2/2014 10:59 AM