skip to content

TWU to recognize students, staff and faculty at Honors Convocation


DENTON — Texas Woman’s University will honor students, faculty and staff in a celebration of excellence during Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 19. Ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the Margo Jones Performance Hall, located at Oakland and Sawyer streets on TWU’s Denton campus.

Outstanding Student Awards are based on academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities.

Outstanding Senior Awards will be presented to:

• Sarah Adams, a biology and chemistry major from Whitehouse;
• Amy Menge, a kinesiology major from Denton; and
• Christina Wagoner, an English and history major from Carrollton.

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards will be presented to:

• Katie Dial Benton, a DPT candidate in physical therapy from Midland; and
• Kirsten Tulchin, a doctoral candidate in kinesiology from West Haven, Conn.

Graduate Council Awards for Exceptional, Original Scholarship will be presented to:

• Lisa Fleisher, a Ph.D. candidate in physical therapy from Dallas; and
• Thomas Hecht, a doctoral candidate in dance from Cambridge, Mass.

TWU staff members receiving recognition are:

• Kathy Woods, bursar, TWU Award of Excellence; and
• Martha Ann “Annie” Plummer, research funding coordinator for the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; and Morgan O’Donnell, academic advisor for the Department of Health Studies — Outstanding Staff Achievement Awards.

TWU faculty receiving recognition are:

• Dr. Paula Ann Hughes, professor and director of the School of Management — the Cornaro Award;
• Dr. Derek Crews, assistant professor of management; and Jordan Fuchs, assistant professor of dance — the Mary Mason Lyon Award;
• Dr. Deborah Young, professor and director of the fashion and textiles program — the Humphries Award;
• Dr. Sheri Dragoo, associate professor of fashion and textiles — Distinction in Service;
• Dr. Lou Thompson, professor of English — Distinction in Teaching;
• Dr. David Rylander, associate professor of marketing — Innovation in Academia; and
• Dr. Mark Tengesdal, associate professor of finance — Distinction in Distance Education.

Media Contact:

Karen Garcia
Senior Writer

page updated 10/2/2014 10:59 AM