2016 News Releases

Accolades Luncheon to honor alumni and student excellence

Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Former Students Association will honor outstanding alumni and graduating students during the TWU Accolades Luncheon on Friday, April 15.

The event will recognize recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award, the Hallmark Alumni honoree and the Outstanding TWU Students.

The 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient is Therese Bartholomew Bevers, M.D., FAAFP, B.S. 1981, medical director of the Cancer Prevention Center and Prevention Outreach programs at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

The 2016 Hallmark Alumni Award recipient is Francine Wright-Anderson, Ph.D., PT, Ph.D. 1999, professor of anatomy and founding assistant dean for post-baccalaureate studies at the Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Lillington, North Carolina.

Since the 1960s, the FSA has honored selected graduating students for their excellence in scholarship and service by naming them Outstanding TWU Students. The 2015-2016 recipients are:

Desireee Patterson of Corinth, a kinesiology major;

Delanie Sager of Keller, a music education major;

Enrique Saldana of Dallas, a mathematics major; and

Lenora A. McWilliams of Houston, a Ph.D. candidate in nursing.

Dr. Therese Bartholomew Bevers

Dr. Therese Bartholomew Bevers graduated magna cum laude from Texas Woman’s University in 1981 with degrees in chemistry and biology. She also completed postgraduate training in analytical chemistry at TWU.

As medical director of the Cancer Prevention Center and Prevention Outreach programs at MD Anderson Cancer Center, Dr. Bevers has overseen the growth and program development of the first comprehensive clinical cancer prevention service program in the country since its opening in 1996. She also is a professor in the Department of Clinical Cancer Prevention, division of the Office of the Vice President, Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences at MD Anderson. Her clinical and research interests are centered on breast cancer prevention, screening and diagnoses.

Dr. Bevers was appointed to the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents from 2001 to 2007, serving as board chair for her last two-year term.

Francine Wright-Anderson

Francine Wright-Anderson earned her Ph.D. in physical therapy from Texas Woman’s University in 1999.

She is a professor of anatomy and founding assistant dean for post-baccalaureate studies at Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Lillington, North Carolina. She has served as a contract physical therapist and physical therapy coordinator at Rehabilitation Solutions in Dallas and in Richmond, Virginia. At Retreat Hospital in Richmond, she received the Clinical Ladder Award for her outstanding work as an acute physical therapist and a clinical instructor. More recently, she has presented clinical anatomy cadaver workshops for health professionals and has acted as a consultant.

With an extensive list of research presentations, funding and publications, Wright-Anderson has become a sought-after speaker and consultant in her field.

Desiree Patterson

Desiree Patterson will graduate in August 2016 with a bachelor of science in kinesiology. She served as president of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and was a member of the Honors Scholar Program. She also served as the student representative on the TWU Student Creative Arts and Research Symposium committee for two years. She plans to attend graduate school for a combined MD-Ph.D. program.

Delanie Sager

Delanie Sager will graduate in May 2016 with a bachelor of arts in music education. She served as the inaugural president of the Pioneer Music Educators Association, and was the student conductor for the Texas Choral Directors Association in 2014. She also is a TWU Honors Scholar. After graduation, she plans to become a high school or middle school choir director to gain experience before returning to graduate school.

Enrique Saldana

Enrique Saldana graduated in December 2015 with a bachelor of science degree in mathematics. As a G-Force team leader, he mentored high school students and advised families of many first-time-in-college students. He received the TWU Presidential Scholarship and is a member of many honor societies, including Phi Kappa Phi and Kappa Mu Epsilon, where he served as treasurer. He plans to attend graduate school.

Lenora (Lee) McWilliams

Lenora (Lee) McWilliams will complete the Ph.D. in nursing from the TWU Institute of Health Sciences-Houston Center in May 2016. She has been part of numerous presentations and research projects, and chaired the annual Fall Forum for the TWU College of Nursing. She currently serves as nursing lab administrator for the Clinical Competencies Learning Laboratory on the Houston campus, and next year will assume the presidency of Beta Beta Houston Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society of the nursing profession.

Media Contact

Staff Reporter

Page last updated 10:37 AM, October 3, 2019