2016 News Releases

Occupational therapy launches new alumni leadership award program

TWU distinguished alumna Virginia Chandler-Dykes joined by Noralyn Pickens, Associate Director of School of Occupational Therapy announced a new occupational therapy leadership award Friday, February 5 at the conclusion of the 23rd annual Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship held at the TWU T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center.

Virginia Chandler-Dykes established the OT-Alumni League of Leaders Award to honor Regina Michael Campbell, faculty emerita, for 15 years of service as Chair of the Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship Committee. The new alumni leadership is expected to serve as a catalyst to promote and support a league of leaders founded on commitment, relationship building, and accountability to colleagues, clients, and members of the community. The TWU Vanderkooi Advisory committee will establish criteria for the award this Spring. The first members of OT-ALL will be inducted in 2017, the centennial year for the profession of occupational therapy.

During the announcement, Chandler-Dykes and Campbell shared their stories of how leaders in the profession provided them with leadership opportunities for professional development. Chandler-Dykes spoke specifically of her mentor Fanny B. Vanderkooi, for whom the endowed lecture is named, and how Vanderkooi shaped her future as an occupational therapist:

Media Contact

Page last updated 3:24 PM, April 30, 2020