TWU shines a 'Spotlight on Faculty Excellence' in Denton

The TWU library fountain on the Denton campus at dusk


DENTON— Texas Woman’s University faculty in Denton excel in all areas of academia, in leadership and in service. Their contributions to their fields have been recognized on the international, national and state levels. These accomplishments are some of the many hallmarks of faculty excellence TWU is honoring as part of its annual “Spotlight on Faculty Excellence” celebration in November.

The faculty on TWU’s Denton campus were recognized for receiving awards, authoring books, obtaining research funding and service during a Nov. 16 luncheon in their honor.

Some examples of TWU Denton faculty excellence are:

  • Connie Briggs, Ph.D., professor and chair of reading, serves as the United States representative on the executive board of the International Reading Recovery Trainers’ Organization.
  • Suzanna Dillon, Ph.D., associate professor of kinesiology, is serving as president of the National Consortium of Physical Education for Individuals with Disabilities.
  • Mandy Golman, Ph.D., assistant professor of health studies, and Nila Ricks, Ph.D., assistant professor of social work, are part of a North Texas coalition working to reduce teen pregnancy in Dallas County through a five-year, $4.9 million grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Dr. Holly Hansen-Thomas, Ph.D., associate professor of teacher education, received a $1.6 million, five-year grant to develop, implement and evaluate an online professional development program for secondary math and science teachers in rural areas.
  • Jordan Fuchs, MFA, associate professor of dance, and Richard Shuster, DMA, professor of music, served as Fulbright specialists in Taiwan (2014) and the Philippines (2015), respectively.
  • Tina Guminney, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology, received a five-year, $182,693 grant from the National Institutes of Health to study Molecular Mechanisms Regulating Intercellular Transit of TGF-beta.
  • Ron Palomares, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, was awarded the Texas Psychological Association’s 2015 Outstanding Contribution to Public Service Award.
  • Martha Rew, M.S., associate clinical professor of nutrition and food sciences, is president of the Texas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
  • Donna Scott Tilley, Ph.D., professor of nursing and assistant provost for promotion of research and sponsored programs, was appointed to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission’s Task Force on Domestic Violence.
  • Jennifer Martin, Ph.D., professor of family sciences and senior associate provost, was named the 2015 Professional of the Year by the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Texas Affiliate. She also received the 2014 Conference of Southern Graduate Schools Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education in the Southern Region.

Showing its ongoing commitment to faculty excellence, TWU established a new Center for Faculty Excellence in 2015. The center serves faculty of all ranks on all three campuses and is a “hub” for professional faculty development activities. The center also provides resources, support and inspiration for the development and advancement of faculty in all career phases as teachers, scholars, mentors and leaders.

Media Contact

Karen Garcia
Communication Specialist

Page last updated 4:06 PM, August 22, 2018