TWU shines a 'Spotlight on Faculty Excellence' in Dallas

The TWU Dallas campus at night


DALLAS— The Renowned faculty at the Texas Woman’s University Dallas campus include “Great 100 Nurses,” National Institute of Health grant recipients, app developers and national award winners in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech and language pathology and health systems management. These accomplishments are some of many hallmarks of faculty excellence TWU is honoring as part of its annual “Spotlight on Faculty Excellence” celebration in November.

The faculty at the TWU T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences- Dallas Center will be recognized for excellence in teaching, cutting edge research, obtaining grants and funds for research, serving on professional associations and other scholarship and service achievements. A luncheon in their honor will be held on Nov. 9th.

Some examples of TWU Dallas faculty excellence are:

  • Elaine Jackson, Ph.D., professor of physical therapy in Dallas, and Provost Robert Neely, Ph.D. are the co-principal investigators on a National Institute of Health grant to develop a TWU Institute of Health Sciences Dallas Office of Research and Sponsored Programs.
  • Noralyn Pickens, Ph.D., associate director of occupational therapy is currently developing an app for evaluating housing to determine whether the environment is suitable for a patient to return home. The development is funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • TWU Dallas faculty members Mari Tietze, Ph.D. (nursing), Peggy Mancuso, Ph.D. (nursing), and Mary Thompson, Ph.D. (physical therapy) have joined with faculty from Denton and Houston to develop interprofessional informatics education funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration.
  • Stephanie Woods, Ph.D., associate dean of nursing, was recently named one of the Great 100 Nurses in the DFW Area. Woods is also the principal investigator for the five-year Veteran’s Administration (VA) Academic Partnership Program for Undergraduate Nurses, which provides clinical experiences for undergraduate nursing students at the Veteran’s Administration Hospital. The program is designed to increase the number of nurses choosing employment at the VA Hospital.
  • Nursing faculty Sharon Denham, Ph.D., the Doswell Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence, has created vibrant faculty learning communities around active learning, care of the veteran family, and student success. She is creating a standardized family--a five-generation genealogy that connects the lives of five veterans representing the major wars over the last 70 years. Case studies for this virtual family will then be developed and used to help students learn about the unique care needs of veterans as a part of the VANAP program.
  • Occupational therapy faculty Marsha Neville, a member of the American Occupational Therapy Association Commission on Practice, was named to the 2015 Roster of Merit by the Texas Occupational Therapy Association.
  • Mary Thompson, Ph.D., professor of physical therapy, received the Lucy Blair Service Award from the American Physical Therapy Association.
  • Nursing faculty Barbara McAlister, Ph.D., was appointed to the Texas Department of State Health Services Texas Collaborative for Healthy Mothers and Babies.
  • Nursing faculty Jennifer Wilson, associate clinical professor is the 2014 Outstanding Honors Faculty of the Year. She established the Engaging Nursing Students Partnering in the Research Experience (ENSPIRE) internship program involving collaborative research partnerships with UT Southwestern Neuroscience Nursing Research Center and the Dallas Veteran’s Administration. Wilson’s work with honors students has resulted in a research internship at the National institutes of Health as well as numerous presentations of Nursing capstone projects at professional meetings.
  • Tina Fletcher, associate professor of occupational therapy, has been collaborating with the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) to enhance the experience of visitors to the museum who have learning differences. Fletcher worked with the DMA to adapt their exhibits to be more engaging to children who respond well to interactive exhibits.

Showing its ongoing commitment to faculty excellence, TWU established a new Center for Faculty Excellence in 2015. The center serves faculty of all ranks on all three campuses and is a “hub” for professional faculty development activities. The center also provides resources, support and inspiration for the development and advancement of faculty in all career phases as teachers, scholars, mentors and leaders.

Media Contact

Page last updated 2:48 PM, November 10, 2015