Holmes Scholars Program

The TWU College of Professional Education (COPE), in partnership with the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) and the Jane Nelson Institute for Women's Leadership, offers the Holmes Scholars Program – an outstanding opportunity for female-identified doctoral students of color. 

The Holmes Scholar award offers uniquely relevant experiences and benefits to women of color within COPE who are committed to equity and diversity in educational practice. 

  • Mentoring
  • Financial support
  • Enriched learning
  • Conferences and boot camps
  • Job search support
AACTE Holmes

TWU is the only woman-centric university participating in the AACTE Holmes Program to date. A key goal of the COPE Holmes Scholar program is to increase the presence of doctoral candidates from historically underrepresented communities while providing crucial support towards their success.

Sponsored by both AACTE and the Jane Nelson Institute for Women’s Leadership, the COPE Holmes Scholar cohort develops outstanding candidates for future faculty and community leadership roles.

Jane Nelson Institute for Women's Leadership

COPE Holmes Scholars make a commitment to three consecutive years of enrollment and progress in their selected area. They must have a clear interest in pursuing a career as a faculty member, researcher, public policy expert, or other leadership position within education.


Gina Anderson, EdD
Associate Dean for Educator Preparation and Partnerships

Randa Keeley, PhD
Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor

2021 COPE Holmes Scholars