Faculty & Staff

Administration

George King

George King, PhD
Director, School of Health Promotion and Kinesiology
Office: PH 208A; CFO 10
Email: gking6@twu.edu 

smiling woman with short brown hair wearing a purple blouse

Barbara Barnick-Ben-Ezra, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
Internship Coordinator
Graduate Teaching Assistant Mentor
Office: PH 217
(940) 898-2340
Email: bbenezra@twu.edu

 

Gwen Weatherford

Gwendolyn Weatherford, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Sport Management
Associate Director of Graduate Programs
Office: PH 208F
(940) 898-2584
Email: gweatherford@twu.edu

Staff

Smiling woman with long brown hair, wearing a black blouse and red jacket

Janelle Davis, M.S.
Program Director
Office: PH 210
(940) 898-2714
Email: JDavis10@twu.edu

Dennise Mendez

Dennise Mendez
Undergraduate Academic Advisor II
Office: PH 212
(940) 898-2606
dmendez5@twu.edu 

Paula Tanner

Paula Tanner
Administrative Assistant
Office: PH 208B
(940) 898-2532
Email: ptanner@twu.edu

John Thompson

John Thompson
Academic Advisor II
Office: PH 211
(940) 898-2831
jthompson34@twu.edu

Photo unavailable

Jason Torres
Graduate Academic Advisor
Office: PH 213
(940) 898-2864
Email: jtorres9@twu.edu 

Photo unavailable

Brenda Watson
Sr. Secretary
Office: PH 216
(940) 898-2697
Email: bwatson5@twu.edu 

Associate Professors

Mandy Golman

Mandy Golman, Ph.D., MCHES
Associate Professor
Office: CFO 1009
940-898-2865
Email: Mgolman@twu.edu

Research Interests: Teen pregnancy prevention, eating disorder and obesity prevention, body image issues, adolescent and women’s health

photo unavailable

Marilyn Massey-Stokes, Ed.D., CHES, CWHC, FASHA
Associate Professor
Office: CFO 1003
940-898-2863
Email: MMasseystokes@twu.edu

Research Interests: Obesity prevention (including early obesity prevention), body image and eating disorder prevention, health and wellness across the life span, health and wellness coaching, and health literacy

Assistant Professors

Ann Amuta

Ann O. Amuta, Ph.D., MPH, CPH
Assistant Professor
Phone: 940-898-2856
Email: AAmuta@twu.edu

Research Interests: Public health genomics, minority health and health equity, obesity prevention (healthy diet and physical activity promotion) and chronic disease prevention (emphasis on Type 2 diabetes and cancer)

Mindy Menn

Mindy Menn, Ph.D., MCHES®
Assistant Professor
Office: CFO 1010
940-898-2844
Email: mmenn@twu.edu

Research Interests: Design, delivery and evaluation of online-delivered learning materials and online-delivered survey instruments

Visiting Assistant Professors

Renee Buster

Renee L. Buster, PhD, CHES, CSCS
Visiting Assistant Professor
(940) 898-2843
Email: rbuster@twu.edu

Research Interests: Biotechnology in health addressing personal, environmental and ethical health issues; social media influence on behavior adoption/practices; environmental policy and health; and public policy and life expectancy

Adjunct Instructors

Josh Bernstein, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: JBernstein@twu.edu

Amy Clark, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: AClark2@twu.edu

Amanda Espinoza, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: aespinoza8@twu.edu

Tiffany Hamlett, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: thamlett@twu.edu

Michelle Kampschroeder, M.S., CHES
Adjunct Instructor
Email: MKampschroeder@twu.edu

Tracey MacGowan, M.Ed.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: tmacgowan@twu.edu

Jim Melancon, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Email: jmelancon@twu.edu

Loan VanAuker, D-ABMDI, M.S.
Adjunct Profesor
Email: lvanauker@twu.edu

School of Health Promotion and Kinesiology Emeritus Faculty

  • Anne Duggan – Schley Professor/Dean, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Ronald French – Cornaro Professor, Kinesiology
  • Barbara Gench – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Sinah Goode – Associate Professor, Kinesiology
  • Bertie Hammond – Assistant Professor, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Marilyn Hinson – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Gay James – Professor/Chair, Health Studies
  • Joanne Kuhn – Assistant Professor, Kinesiology
  • Berton Lyle – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Bettye Myers – Professor, Kinesiology
  • David Nichols – Professor, Health Promotion and Kinesiology
  • Jean Pyfer – Professor/Dean, Kinesiology/Health Sciences
  • Hazel Richardson – Assistant Professor, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • Charlotte Barney Sanborn – Professor/Chair, Kinesiology
  • Claudine Sherrill – Professor, Kinesiology
  • Lisa Silliman-French – Professor, Health Promotion and Kinesiology
  • Ruth Tandy – Professor, Health Studies and Kinesiology
  • Leslie Thompson – Professor/Dean, Health Studies/Graduate Studies
  • Ann Uhlir – Professor/Dean, Kinesiology/Health Sciences

Page last updated 2:23 PM, September 8, 2020