Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Jamie Barker, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., Indiana University Pennsylvania
Office: CFO 914
Phone: 940.898.2348
Email: jbarker2@twu.edu

Ashley Bender, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; B.A. in English Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
Office: CFO 801
Phone: 940.898.2334
Email: abender@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Literature of the long eighteenth century, especially drama; Shakespeare in the eighteenth century; sex and gender in the eighteenth century; textual studies; service learning in the composition classroom; experiential education and multimodal pedagogy

Will Benner headshot

Will Benner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish; Spanish Minor Advisor
Ph.D., Tulane University
Office: CFO 910
Phone: 940.898.2316
Email: wbenner@twu.edu 
Website: sites.google.com/view/williambenner

Current Research Interests: Memory politics, human rights activism, and women's studies in the Southern Cone

Phyllis Bridges, Ph.D.

Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Office: CFO 806
Phone: 940.898.2345
Email: pbridges@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Shakespeare, Milton, Folklore, American Literature

Matthew Brown, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 901
Phone: 940.898.2371
Email: mbrown39@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Medieval Literature, Literary Theory, History of the English Language

Hugh Burns, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Email: hburns@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Rhetoric, Computers and Writing, Digital Humanities

Gretchen Busl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English; Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Office: CFO 912
Phone: 940.898.2331
Email: gbusl@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: World Literature, Adaptation, Translation, Multilingualism, Graduate Student Writing

Vivian Casper, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Rice University
Office: CFO 808
Phone: 940.898.2344
Email: vcasper@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Modern Drama

Rachel Daugherty headshot

Rachel Daugherty, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Assistant Director of First-Year Composition
Ph.D., Texas Christian University 
Office: CFO 902 
Phone: 940-898-2348 
Email: rdaugherty1@twu.edu 
Website: rachelcdaugherty.com

Brian Fehler headshot

Brian Fehler, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 913
Phone: 940.898.2220
Email: bfehler@twu.edu
Website: brianfehler.com

Current Research Interests: History of rhetoric, religious rhetorics, American literature (colonial through long nineteenth century)

Russell Greer headshot

Russell Greer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: CFO 908
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: rgreer@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Thomas Hardy, Anthony Trollope

Jackie Hoermann-Elliott headshot

Jackie Hoermann-Elliott, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English; Director of First-Year Composition
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 902
Phone: 940.898.2348

Current Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy, embodied writing, contemplative writing, multimodality, writing program administration

Dundee Lackey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Office: CFO 911
Phone: 940.898.2159
Email: dlackey@twu.edu 
Current Research Interests: Digital/Community Rhetorics and Literacies

Sarah Lennox

Sarah Lennox, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida
Office: CFO 913
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: slennox@twu.edu

Current Research Interests: 19th-Century British literature and culture, representations of the body in Victorian literature, nineteenth-century science and pseudoscience, sensation fiction, colonial and postcolonial Anglophone literature

Johnathan Smilges, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of English 
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University 
Office: CFO 909 
Phone: 940-898-2332 
Email: jsmilges@twu.edu 

Lou Thompson, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Texas Christian University
Office: CFO 908
Phone: 940.898.2347
Email: Lthompson2@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Documentary film, creative writing (fiction), disability studies, visual rhetoric

Genevieve West, Ph.D.

Professor of English; Chair, Department of Language, Culture & Gender Studies
Ph.D., Florida State University
Office: CFO 906
Phone: 940.898.2324
Email: GWest@twu.edu 

Current Research Interests: Zora Neale Hurston, Marita Bonner, the Harlem Renaissance, American women writers, Neo-slave Narratives, and reception theory

Adjunct Faculty and Graduate Teaching Assistants 

Alicia Beretta
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 127
aberetta@twu.edu

Laura Casey
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Ryan High School
lcasey2@twu.edu

Michael Cerliano
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 127
940.898.2410
mcerliano@twu.edu

Sarah Cho
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
scho@twu.edu

Gregory Coleman
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
gcoleman@dentonisd.org

Darby Dyer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Denton High School
ddyer@dentonisd.org or ddyer1@twu.edu

Timothy Mark Ellis
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Guyer High School
mellis@dentonisd.org

JennahRose English
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Birdville High School
jenglish3@twu.edu

James "Mike" Fraley, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
CFO 127
940.898.2254
jfraley@twu.edu

Jennifer Hadley
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Argyle High School 
jhadley1@twu.edu

Georgia Helton
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Paradise High School
M.A., Texas Woman's University
ghelton@twu.edu

Juliette Holder
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 127
jholder5@twu.edu

Esther Houghtaling, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University
CFO 127
940.898.2410
ehoughtaling@twu.edu

Amanda Hunt
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Founders Classical Academy
ahunt11@twu.edu

Jennifer Judd
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 127
jjudd1@twu.edu

Natalie Julian
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
njulian@twu.edu

Alexis Kopp
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Argyle High School
akopp@twu.edu

Angela Rodriguez Mooney, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
Ph.D., Tulane University
CFO 807A
940.898.2125
amooney4@twu.edu

Eric Mueller
Adjunct Instructor
M.A., University of North Texas
CFO 1114
940.898.2410
emueller2@twu.edu

Jason Parker
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
940.898.2254
jparker20@twu.edu

Meredith Pasahow
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
mpasahow@twu.edu

Jennifer Phillips-Denny, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor; Write Site Tutor Coordinator
Ph.D., University of North Texas
BHL 235
940.898.2118
jphillipsdenny@twu.edu 

Lia Schuermann
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128
lschuermann@twu.edu

Desiree Thorpe
Graduate Teaching Assistant
CFO 128 
dthorpe3@twu.edu

Margaret Williams
First-Year Composition Program Graduate Assistant
CFO 127

Carla Wilson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor; Write Site Tutor Coordinator
Ph.D., Texas Woman’s University
cwilson18@twu.edu

Christopher Works
Adjunct Instructor
M.A., Texas Woman's University
CFO 128
940.898.2254
cworks@twu.edu 

Sarah Zimmerman
Adjunct Instructor, Dual Credit
Braswell High School
szimmerman@twu.edu

Staff

Charles Dyer headshot

Charles Dyer

Senior Secretary
Office: CFO 131
Phone: 940-898-2323
Email: cdyer2@twu.edu 

Amber Fenton

Administrative Assistant
Language, Culture, and Gender Studies
Phone: 940.898.2326
Email: afenton2@twu.edu

Page last updated 9:18 AM, March 8, 2022