Organizational Scholarships

In addition to our undergraduate and graduate departmental scholarships, you may be interested in and qualified for the following. These are not listed in the Pioneer Scholarship System. Contact the individuals listed below for application information and due dates.

Johnnie Lee Feemster Memorial Scholarship

Given annually to a graduate student in English or rhetoric. Interested students should contact the Scholarship Committee of the Former Students Association, care of Mary Pagano, at 940.898.2587 or for application instructions.

Fran Hutcherson Memorial Scholarship

Awarded in support of an undergraduate or graduate student seeking a degree in English. Must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, and be ineligible for Pell Grants. May be renewed, with application, providing the applicant is making satisfactory progress. Awarded through the General Scholarship Committee.

Former Students Association (FSA) Scholarships

Two scholarship awards of $750 each will be made from donations provided by friends and former students in English. One award will be designated for an M.A. student, and one will be for a doctoral student. All applicants must be in good academic standing and enrolled at TWU. Calls for applications will be issued by the Scholarship Committee of the chapter in the spring. Questions may be directed to Phyllis Bridges, Ph.D., at

Omega Rho Alpha Scholarship in Memory of Agnes Tramel and Mildred B. Nelson

Interested current members of Omega Rho Alpha should contact either Vivian Casper, Ph.D., at 940.898.2344 or; or Matthew Brown, Ph.D., at 940.898.2371 or

Joyce C. Palmer Scholarship (through Omega Rho Alpha)

Interested current members of Omega Rho Alpha should contact Vivian Casper, Ph.D., at 940.898.2344 or

Sigma Tau Delta Scholarship

Coordinated by Ashley Bender, Ph.D. Interested current members of Sigma Tau Delta should contact Ashley Bender, Ph.D., at 940.898.2334 or

Page last updated 3:55 PM, January 13, 2020