Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Justice

Examples of DEIJ

True to Texas Woman's University's priority to celebrate inclusive excellence, the College of Professional Education (COPE) embraces it and believes in the positive transformational changes that education brings to society. COPE aspires to become a more diverse community and recognizes that the interconnectedness that exists between equity and inclusion is necessary to achieve academic excellence.

COPE affirms the inclusion of all populations while honoring our commitment to respect everyone. We do not tolerate any forms or acts of oppression based on sex, gender, race, ability, nationality/cultural identity, sexual orientation, citizenship status, religion, ethnicity, language, age, or class.

One of the ways COPE fulfills this commitment is through the work of its Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice (DEIJ) committee.

  • 1st (tied) in Texas
  • 5th Nationally
  • 57.9% of student population are people of color

Committee Members

scroll to see the full table

Name Position Department Email
Douha Abbasher Graduate Student Literacy and Learning dabbasher@twu.edu  
Sharon Bailey Administrative Assistant, Dean's Office/EPP Educator Preparation Program / COPE sbailey18@twu.edu 
Kristen Becker, EdD Assistant Professor School of Library & Information Studies kbecker2@twu.edu 
Briana Culp Undergraduate Student Teacher Education bculp1@twu.edu  
JaNiece Elzy, EdD Assistant Professor Literacy & Learning jelzy@twu.edu 
Lisa Huffman, PhD Dean College of Professional Education lhuffman1@twu.edu 
Shann Hwa (Abraham) Hwang, PhD Professor Human Development, Family Sciences & Counseling shwang@twu.edu 
Whitney Mathison, PhD, LPC, NCC Director Counseling & Family Therapy Clinic wmathison@twu.edu 
Aimee Myers, PhD Assistant Professor Teacher Education amyers@twu.edu 
Azucena (Suzie) Verdin Peralta, PhD Assistant Professor Human Development, Family Sciences & Counseling averdin@twu.edu  
Nausheen Qureshi Academic Advisor Educator Preparation Program nqureshi1@twu.edu 

Page last updated 11:25 AM, April 3, 2023