Interim provost announcement

March 18, 2019

Dear Colleagues,

I'm writing to let you know that our provost, Dr. Alan Utter, plans to step down from his position at the end of this semester. I want to recognize and thank Alan for his contributions in leading the division of Academic Affairs over the past two years, and I hope you will join me in wishing him well as he pursues new opportunities.

After consulting with the vice provosts, deans, Faculty Senate leadership, Council of Chairs leadership, and my cabinet, I have asked and am delighted that Dr. Carolyn Kapinus, dean of the Graduate School, has agreed to serve as interim provost. She will begin working immediately with Dr. Utter to maintain our academic momentum across campuses and ensure a seamless transition.

I have selected Dean Kapinus for this important interim role because of her outstanding leadership and record of achievements in advancing our Graduate School since joining us in August 2017. Collaborating closely with colleagues across all colleges and divisions, she championed a student recruitment strategy that resulted in unprecedented increases in new graduate student enrollment this spring. This strategy included significantly improved communications with prospective masters and doctoral students.

As you may recall, Dr. Kapinus came to Texas Woman's from Ball State, where she led a sponsored projects team that assisted faculty and staff in securing nearly $26 million in external funding during her final year there. Ball State recognized Dr. Kapinus for her teaching excellence as a sociology professor, a discipline in which she is also well-published.

I am confident that her academic and administrative experience, her innovative spirit, and her thoughtful, collaborative leadership style will serve Texas Woman's well in the interim. Please join me in supporting Carolyn in her new role. Additionally, I’d like to thank each of you for the vital part you continue to play in advancing our university, our students, and our state.

With Pioneer Pride,


Carine M. Feyten, Ph.D.

Chancellor and President

Page last updated 9:12 AM, March 18, 2019