Alumni Chapters & Groups

Alumni Association Chapters give alumni a chance to meet other alumni on a more personal setting. Whether it be a formal lunch aboard the Queen Mary, seeing a style show, hopping on a bus for a quick trip back to TWU, there is always something to do with AA Chapters. Joining any Geographic and Academic Chapter makes you an active member with any donation.

Want to network with other TWU graduates in your academic field? Feel like meeting other TWU graduates in your area for a social get together? Then it's time to find your place in a TWU AA Chapter!

Geographic Chapters

scroll to see the full table

Chapter Chapter Contact(s)
Capitol Area (Austin) Debbie Winegarten 
Sandy Tognetti
Corpus Christi Gaynel Torgerson, President
Kay West, Vice President
Cristina Herrera, Treasurer
Elia Gutierrez, Parliamentarian 
Dallas County  Alice Swank, 1978
Bonnie Potts, 1973
Judith Walker, 1960
Lee Blair, 1952
Denton Area 

Corinne French, President
Chelsea Mullin, Secretary
Jay Vanatta, Treasurer
Diane Dillion, Chapter Mentor
Quitney Pryor, Events Chair

Fort Worth

Lauren Friend, President
Lynn Gibbon, Vice President
Anniece McKanna, Secretary
Mary Beth Cummings, Treasurer 
Cheryl Boggess, Public Relations

Houston Alicia Ramirez, President-Elect
Hoy Gatlin
Vivian Bilby Ivy
San Antonio Beatrice "Bea" Zepeda, President
Denise Klapp, Vice President
Sylvia Sosa, Secretary
Jean Judy, Treasurer
Southern California* Carol Mitchell, President
Norma Fulcher
Ann Nomicos
Dora Guerra Aumann
Mary Strother
Laurie Riggio
Joan Wilson
Northern New Mexico Janine Brunjes

*The Southern California chapter offers a $1,000 scholarship to a student from California. The tuition of our scholarship recipient is waived the out-of-state tuition fee. 

Academic Chapters

scroll to see the full table

Chapter Chapter Contacts
BECA (Bilingual Education Centro de Accion)  Narce Uribe Scott, 1972
Rudy Rodriguez, retired TWU Professor
Dental Hygiene Michelle Hart, President
Brooke Leenerts, Treasurer
Angelica Reyes, Secretary
Denton County Nursing  Vivian Byers, President
Margaret Smith, Secretary
Mary Ann Baker, Program Chair
GayLynn Bynum, Treasurer
Kay Trietsch, Scholarship Co-Chair
Christina Trietsch Stenger, Scholarship Co-Chair 
English, Speech & Foreign Languages  Helen McCourt, President
Georgia Helton 
Dallas County Nursing Mary Ann Baker, Representative
Dallas Parkland Nurses Margaret Smith, President

BECA (Bilingual Education Centro de Accion)

The BECA program existed for a span of several years beginning in 1969 through the late ‘70s and early 80’s. This past April, 2016, a small group of alumni who participated in this unique educational program, reunited and shared where they went and where they are now. 

Dental Hygiene

As a proud supporter of the TWU's Dental Hygiene program, our chapter organizes our annual silent auction as our scholarship fundraiser. If you have items to donate, please contact Amy Teague or the chapter officers.


Page last updated 8:32 AM, January 14, 2019