skip to content

EC-6 and 4-8 Generalists:
All Interdisciplinary Studies majors should visit the COPE Office of Student Support Services to meet with a staff advisor for an initial advising session.  Your advisor will assist in:
  • Preparing a degree plan worksheet
  • Determining appropriate course substitutions 
  • Making course recommendations
  • Checking the accuracy of transfer course work on your TWU transcript
  • Monitoring your progress in meeting requirements for the Teacher Education Program
  • Providing referrals for campus resources
  • Assisting if you have academic difficulty

After completing approximately 45 hours, you’ll be assigned to a faculty advisor; however, you’re encouraged to visit the support services office as often as necessary for guidance in meeting certification requirements.

8-12 and EC-12:
If you plan to teach high school or seek a certificate that covers all grade levels, you will major in the subject area of your certificate. Faculty advisors for students seeking degrees in the College of Arts and Sciences or the College of Health Sciences are listed below:

Department Advisor Office Phone Email
 Art  Diane Gregory  ART 203  (940) 898-2540  dgregory@twu.edu
 Computer Science  Don Edwards  MCL 302  (940) 898-3275  dedwards@twu.edu
 Dance  Gladys Keeton  DGL 302  (940) 898-2088  gkeeton@twu.edu
 Deaf Education  Tamby Allman  MCL 806  (940) 898-2025  tallman@twu.edu
 English  Stephen Souris  CFO 903  (940) 898-2343  ssouris@twu.edu
 Health Education  Gay James  CFO 1006  (940) 898-2860  gjames@twu.edu
 History  Lybeth Hodges  CFO 603  (940) 898-2136  lhodges@twu.edu
 Mathematics  Cathy Banks  MCL 416  (940) 898-2770  cbanks@twu.edu
 Music  Vicki Baker  MUS 204  (940) 898-2724  vbaker@twu.edu
 Physical Education  Kathryn Brown  PH 208H  (940) 898-2851

 kbrown7@twu.edu    

 Science-Major in Biology  Sandra Westmoreland  GRB 230  (940) 898-2560  swestmoreland@twu.edu
 Science-Major in Chemistry  Rich Jones  SCI 213P  (940) 898-2557  rjones2@twu.edu
 Social Studies  Lybeth Hodges  CFO 603  (940) 898-2136  lhodges@twu.edu
 Theatre Arts  Patrick Bynane  MUS 200  (940) 898-2518  pbynane@twu.edu
 Family & Consumer Sciences  Joyce Armstrong  HDB 104G  (940) 898-2690  jarmstrong@twu.edu

EDUCATION:
All students seeking teacher certification will minor in Education, which requires the following courses be completed with a C or better:
EDUC 2003:  Schools and Society
EDUC 3003:  Learning Theory and Development
EDUC 3482:  Teaching the Diverse Learner Through Technology Integration
EDUC 4113:  Design and Implementation of Instruction and Assessment
EDUC 4243:  Classroom Environment and Management
Student Teaching

DARS:
TWU uses an electronic degree-auditing system called DARS that matches courses you complete with the requirements of your academic degree program.  DARS allows students, and advisors, to track their progress toward meeting graduation requirements. One year before your anticipated graduation date, you must meet with an advisor to check the accuracy of your DARS report and, after necessary  adjustments are made, sign a DARS Verification Form for submission to the Registrar. All students must have a signed verification form on file in the Registrar’s office in order to graduate.
Interdisciplinary Studies majors should make an appointment in the Office of Student Support Services (regardless of whether you have a faculty advisor) to complete a DARS verification form.  Majors in other colleges should contact their faculty advisor.  During your appointment, you will:

  • Review your degree plan worksheet to make sure you will be able to graduate in one year’s time.
  • Make sure all course substitutions have been submitted to the Registrar and applied to your  DARS audit.
  • Correct any errors and verify whether you are core complete.

page last updated 4/17/2014 9:18 AM