skip to content


LS 5903 Assessment In Action is available for Fall 2016 enrollment.† More about “New this fall, ASSESSMENT IN ACTION”...

TLA New Executive Board Members Announced

Ling Hwey Jeng, Ph.D., Professor and Department Chair has been elected as President-Elect†of Texas Library Association.†Dr. Jeng's†term begins May 2016 and her presidential conference will be†in†Dallas in April 2018.† Congratulations! †

Alumni Awards Presented

SLIS Alumni Connect is pleased to announced Valerie Tagoe is the recipient of the S. Janice Kee Continuing Education Award†and Kerol Harrod is the recipient of the Ann Barnett Service Award for 2016.†The awards were presented†at the SLIS Alumni Reception held April 21, in conjunction with the Texas Library Association Conference 2016 in Houston, TX.

TWU SLIS Partners with Dallas ISD

TWU SLIS is†excited to announce a new partnership with the Dallas Independent School District†to educate new school librarians through the Librarian Effectiveness Initiative (LEI). The goal of this two-year program is to educate and certify Dallas-area teachers to become school librarians. More about “TWU SLIS Partners with Dallas ISD”...

Memorial Scholarship Established

Texas Woman's University School of Library and Information Studies is pleased to announce the establishment of the SLIS Memorial Scholarship Endowed Fund. More about “Memorial Scholarship Established”...

Online Orientation Webinar May 23

Want a successful beginning to your program of study? Join us at 7:00 pm on May 23 for our†webinar.† Register and attend and you might be the lucky recipient of a free LS 5083 textbook. More about “Online Orientation Webinar May 23”...

TWU Faculty Awards Announced

Dr. Sylvia Vardell has received the Distinction of Scholarship Award and Dr. Jennifer†Moore Richey has received the Distinction in Distance Education Award.†The awards were presented on Thursday, April 14, 2016. Congratulations!

Dr. Perryman Receives MLA Award

Congratulations to Dr. Carol Perryman for receiving the Medical Library Association (MLA), Professional Recognition Award for her contribution to research in health science librarianship.† The award will be presented at the 2016†MLA Annual Meeting in May.†

Winter 2016 Newsletter

The Winter 2016 Issue of the SLIS Newsletter is now available online. Highlights include the 1965 Class Visit, Courtney Kincaid receiving the "I†Love My Librarian" Award, Heidi Daniel as Ohio Librarian of the Year, new Alumni Awards, and more.† More about “Winter 2016 Newsletter”...

SLIS student tells why she chose TWU

Academic / Administrative Complaints & Appeals

Course Rotation [pdf]

THECB 18 Doctoral Characteristics†[pdf]

American Library Association Accredited
Information on Masterís Student Learning Assessment†[pdf]


SLIS Information