skip to content

There are three committees that are elected from among the eligible voting faculty each Spring, and they begin their committee work typically each Fall:

FEDC:  The Faculty Evaluation and Development Committee reviews/approves departmental performance evaluation plans used in the annual faculty evaluation process, reviews/approves departmental criteria used in promotion/tenure recommendations; reviews/recommends revisions to the Framework for Annual Faculty Performance Review.  Members must be full-time faculty and tenure is required.  The term of office for each member of the FEDC is two years and members may be re-elected for a total of four years.

FDLC:  The Faculty Development Leave Committee reviews faculty applications for development leave; makes recommendations to the Provost. Members must be full-time faculty, but tenure is not required.  The term office for each member of the FDLC is three years, and members may be re-elected for a total of 6 years.

FRC:  The Faculty Review Committee is an advisory committee to the Chancellor; hears any faculty member or professional librarian who believes that she/he has not received equitable treatment regarding salary, working conditions, workload allocation, teaching assignments, performance review, grants administration, student-faculty relations, professional treatment, promotion, tenure, and academic freedom not related to non-reappointment or termination.  The FRC is a standing committee of the University and consists of elected, full-time tenured faculty members and professional librarians.  The term of office for each member of the FRC is two years and members may be re-elected for a total of four years.

Elected Committee Membership as of January 2015:

Faculty Evaluation Development Committee

Health Sciences  O Jayne Bowman
Health Sciences  Suh-Jen Lin
Health Sciences  Parakat Vijayagopal
Health Sciences  Josephine Chan
COPE  Joel Muro
COPE  Lynn Akin
COPE Shann Hwa Hwang
CAS   Camelia Maier
CAS   Pam Baker
CAS   Ellina Grigorieva
CAS   Debra Mollen
Nursing   Margaret Peters
Nursing   Diane Montgomery
Nursing   vacant (no nominations)
LIB   Jonathan Wilson
Faculty Senate liaison (appointed by Senate) Deborrah Wegmann

Faculty Development Leave Committee

Health Sciences   Larry Petterborg
Health Sciences   Francie Baxter
Health Sciences   Melissa Stockholm
Health Sciences   Cynthia Warren
COPE   Gretchen Hoffman
COPE   Sandra McClintic
CAS   Ann Wheeler
CAS   Kenneth Foster
CAS   Pam Baker
CAS   Richard Shuster
CAS   Parker Hevron
CAS   Philip Yang
At-Large   Wyona Freysteinson (Nursing)
Nursing     Fuqin Liu
Nursing     Deborah Wegmann
Nursing     Rebecca Krepper

Faculty Review Committee

Professional Librarians    Stephany Compton
Health Sciences   Katy Mitchell
Health Sciences   vacancy
Health Sciences   Jyutika Mehta
Health Sciences   Sally Schultz
COPE   Claudia Sanchez
COPE   Lynn Akin
CAS   Nancy Hadsell
CAS   Stephen Souris
CAS   Denise Maricle
CAS   Vivian Casper
CAS   Ellina Grigorieva
Nursing   Rita Dello Stritto
Nursing   Susan Chaney
Nursing   Robin Toms

page updated 3/3/2015 2:11 PM

Faculty Senate Officers 2014-2015

Lizabeth A. Spoonts


 Lybeth Hodges
Speaker Pro Tem

Peggy Landrum, Secretary

Peggy Landrum

Delegate to the
Texas Council of
Faculty Senates:

O. Jayne Boman, Delegate to the Texas Council of Faculty Senates

O. Jayne Bowman


General Sessions
(Approved by Senate 9/12/14)):

September 12, 2014
October 10, 2014
November 7, 2014
December 5, 2014
January 16 2015
February 13, 2015
March 13, 2015
April 10, 2015
May 1, 2015

All meetings begin at 10am.
Please check meeting
schedule for locations.

For additional
information, contact:


Jill Stover
Administrative Assistant
Faculty Senate
940-898-3393 or