skip to content


Chapter Information

TWU's chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, chartered in 1980, seeks to recognize the academic excellence of its outstanding student citizens.  Each year, the chapter initiates new members, recognizes eligible juniors and seniors, and sponors local scholarships for student members.  Additionally, our chapter has nominated one student member for the national fellowship competition for several of the last years - each of these nominees has received a fellowship award.

Have you recently received an invitation?

Did you know that you were invited based upon your academic eligibility, but that you were also recommended by a faculty member in your department? Unlike other national interdisciplinary honor societies, Phi Kappa Phi is your local chapter and you have been chosen by your faculty as being worthy of the highest recognition.

With nearly 70 faculty and staff PKP members on campus, TWU's chapter benefits from involvement of faculty and staff who care about the quality of their students education and who enjoy the honor bestowed upon their eligible students who elect to join the Honor Society. 

TWU PKP has over 560 active members.  In Spring 2014, we initiated 243 new members, including six faculty/staff member and one alumna.  The chapter maintains social networking sites through FacebookBlackboard and LinkedIn. We also maintain a WordPress blog

National Information

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines. Its chapters are on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Each year, approximately 30,000 members are initiated.

Since its founding, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than 1 million members into its ranks; all of these members have received emblems and certificates of membership. However, Phi Kappa Phi is much more than an emblem and a line on a résumé. It is a global network comprised of the best and brightest from all academic disciplines - a community of scholars and professionals building an enduring legacy for future generations. [from]

Eligibility Requirements

  • Undergraduate students who have been nominated by their faculty in any department of this institution and
    • who, in their junior year, rank academically in the upper 7.5 percent of the class, after completing at least two academic years or 72 semester hours or the equivalent including 15 hours at Texas Woman's University, or
    • who, in their senior year, rank academically in the upper 10 percent of the class after completing at least three academic years or 90 semester hours or the equivalent including 24 hours at Texas Woman’s University at the time of invitation.
  • Post-Baccalaureate, graduate and professional students at this institution who demonstrate an outstanding record in graduate or professional study by ranking scholastically in the upper 10 percent of all post-bacc, graduate, and professional students, are nominated to membership by their faculty, and meet one of the following requirements:
    • Have been registered as post baccalaureate students on a full-time basis for at least one academic year or on a part-time basis for the equivalent of at least one academic year or 18 semester units or the equivalent.
    • Are former post baccalaureate students who have been awarded an advanced degree since the most recent invitation of members to join the chapter.


Spring Book Drive

The book drive is on again! We are collecting books & DVDS in Houston to benefit St. Luke's Cooley Transplant Center - donate in the Student Life Office.
Denton & Dallas are collecting new and gently used novels for all ages and children's books to benefit our Little Free Library. Donate in the OMB Rotunda, the MCL Megalab, the Write Site, and Lowry Woods in Denton and in Student Life and the elevators between the library & computer lab in Dallas. Or bring a book to the banquet!

Upcoming Events

Initiation Ceremony & Banquet - Monday, April 6, Denton campus
Student Meeting - Monday, April 13, Denton Library 234 | Dallas 8201 | Houston 7305

PKP Member Spotlight

Dr. Sandra Cesario (nursing, Houston) and nursing doctoral students recently traveled to the Hiroshima Radiation Effects Research Foundation (RERF) as part of a study-abroad course titled “Historical Research in Nursing – Exploring Japan.” Their visit was highlighted in the RERF’s quarterly newsletter, titled “Update.” A photo of the group is on the cover of the newsletter, and the story of their visit begins on page 4. The newsletter is available at

Dr. DiAnna Hynds (biology) was a judge in the developmental biology and genetics section of the 2014 Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS), held Nov. 12-15 in San Antonio.  Dr. Hynds also recently published a paper, with Dr. Brain Beck (biology),  titled “Non-Prenylatable, Cystolic Rac1 Alters Neurite Outgrowth while Retaining Guanosine Triphosphate (GTP) Loading” in the journal Cellular Signalling.

Dr. Patricia Nunn (dental hygiene) recently completed the 2014 Chairs and Academic Administrators Management Program (CAAMP), a leadership and management course designed specifically for department chairs and academic administrators within colleges and schools of the health professions.

Dr. Claire L. Sahlin (women’s studies) gave an invited lecture, “Women’s Studies and Ethical Issues in a Global Age,” sponsored by the University Centre of International Relations and the Departments of Women’s Studies, Christian Studies, Criminology, and Library and Information Studies at the University of Madras, Chennai, India, on Dec. 19, 2014.

Former TWU softball standout Bailey Vrazel has been selected as one of the top 30 honorees from 446 school nominees for the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year award.  She is one of 10 representing NCAA Division II institutions for this prestigious award. Bailey is one of our three chapter scholarship winners this year!

Did you know?

This year (2015) we are celebrating 35 years as an active chapter at TWU!  TWU founded its chapter of Phi Kappa Phi in 1980.