skip to content

February 17, 2017


Brochure and Workshop Details

Dr. Anne Fisher
Implementing Occupation-Focused and Occupation-Based Practice 
Ensuring We Really Have the Evidence

Neuroscience evidence is currently revealing that some of the most effective and successful outcomes can be achieved when the alternate, rather than the common, cortical pathways are activated in the brain. We will focus on therapists going down perhaps unfamiliar and unconventional roads, challenging how we think and act regarding critical issues such as scholarly activity, task-based assessments, and innovative therapy solutions for evidence-based practice. Current neuroscience evidence suggests that as occupational therapists, when we actuate underutilized, atypical skills and talents, unlimited potential can emerge, facilitating excellence in clinical practice, development of scholarship, and advancement of the profession.

 Dr. Fisher is Professor Emerita, Division of Occupational Therapy, Umeå University, Sweden and Affiliate Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, Colorado State University, USA. She is an internationally renowned expert in occupational therapy theory, instrument development, and outcomes research.  A key focus of her research has been on the development of occupation-centered assessments that support occupation-based and/or occupation-focused practice and evidence-based research. Dr. Fisher has published more than 100 articles and more than 40 books or book chapters.  She is a member of the Academy of Research of the American Occupational Therapy Foundation; and she was the 1997 recipient of the Eleanor Clarke Slagle Lectureship. 

About the Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship
The Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship was established in 1994 to honor the first program director of occupational therapy at Texas Woman’s University, Fanny B. Vanderkooi. It celebrates the School of Occupational Therapy’s legacy of commitment to vision, professional values, and leadership development in occupational therapy education, practice and research. The 2014 event was attended by 295 occupational therapy professionals, inclusive of students. 

Founders -
Vanderkooi Endowment       
Advisory Committee

Community Building Workshops 
Planning Committee

Roland & Virginia Chandler Dykes Regina Michael Campbell, Chairperson Marsha Neville, Chairperson        
George & Grace Gilkeson Virginia Chandler Dykes Noralyn Pickens
Bonnie Strauss Lucy Aguirre-Kelley Claudette Fette
  Monica Bosman Shannon Levandowski
Thomas Halka Debbie Buckingham
Heather McBride Sarah Taylor (PTE rep)
Belinda Williams Martha Linyard (PTE rep)
Cynthia Evetts Paige Brassart
Noralyn Pickens Vicki Mason
Adele Polk (Emeritus)
Bonnie Strauss (Emeritus)


 Previous Vanderkooi Lecturers

1993 Lela Llorens, PhD, OTR
1994 Charles Christiansen, Ed.D, OTR       
1995 Penny Kyler-Hutchinson, MA, OTR/L, FAOTA
1996/97 Catherine Trombly, PhD, OTR
1998 Carolyn Baum, PhD, OTR
1999 Beatriz Abreu, PhD, OTR
2000 Shereen Farber, PhD, OTR
2001 Linda Fazio, PhD, OTR
2002 Karen Jacobs, EdD, OTR
2003 Barbara Kornblau, JD, OT/L
2004 Patricia Crist, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA


2005 Jim Hinojosa, PhD
2006 Suzanne Peloquin, PhD, OTR, FAOTA
2007 Wendy Wood, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
2008 Penelope Moyers, EdD, OTR/L, BCMH, FAOTA
2009 Kenneth Ottenbacher, PhD
2010 Barbara A. Boyt Schell, PhD, OT, FAOTA
2011 Glen Gillen, EdD, OTR, FAOTA
2012 Florence A. Clark, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
2013 Mary Law, PhD, MSc, BSc
2014 Jane Case-Smith, EdD, OT, FAOTA
2015 Susan Coppola, MS, OTR/L, BCG, FAOTA  
2016 Barbara M. Doucet, PhD, LOTR



 Thank you to our Generous Sponsors!


page last updated 1/13/2017 2:33 PM