skip to content

April 2014

Concert Choir performs at Lincoln Center in New York

On Monday evening, April 28th at 8pm the TWU Concert Choir performed in the Alice Tully Hall of the famed Lincoln Center in the heart of Manhattan. They performed their own concert conducted by Dr. Joni Jensen of TWU who also arranged their selections El Vito and La Maumariée. They also sang with the National Women's Festival Chorus, conducted by Sandra Peter, a collection of choral works for female voices including, Gjeilo’s Shimmering, Hagen’s Moon Goddess, Szymko’s Arise, My Love, and more.


March 2014

Graduate students Matt Sawyer and Nick Galanos perform at 2014 NASA Biennial Conference  

This March the Texas Woman's University Saxophone Studio and the Brookhaven Saxophone Studio combined forces to perform at the North American Saxophone Alliance (NASA) Biennial Conference held on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Matt and Nick were chosen as part of The TWU/Brookhaven College Saxophone Ensemble to perform on March 22nd at the 2014 NASA Conference. They performed two world premieres at the conference that were commissioned by and dedicated to Roy Allen, Jr., adjunct saxophone professor at TWU and Director of Instrumental Studies/Professor of Saxophone at Brookhaven College, and the Brookhaven College Saxophone Program.We are so proud of The TWU/Brookhaven College Saxophone Ensemble and their performance at NASA.

2014 North American Saxophone Alliance (NASA) Biennial National Conference
Saturday, March 22nd, 2014
Saxophone Ensemble Showcase | Krannert Center for the Performing Arts | University of Illinois

TWU/Brookhaven College Saxophone Ensemble
Grace Chen, David Janes, Eduardo Garcia, Matt Sawyer, Nicholas Galanos

Sidewalk * (2013) by Garrett Wingfield (b.1992)
Droste Dances * (2013)by Greg Newton (b.1993)


NATS Results

Congratulations to the TWU Vocal students who competed in the DFW National Association of Teachers of Singing Competition on March 22nd! We also want to recognize accompanist Mr. Sung-Yun Kim for receiving the award for Accompanist of the Year.

Musical Theater Category
Caitlin Collins – 1st Place College Women’s Division III and Anne Weeks Jackson Award for Outstanding Female Musical Theater Division
                        Student of Laurie Lee Cosby
Ashley Phillips – 2nd Place College Women’s Division III 
                        Student of Laurie Lee Cosby

Classical Category
Jasmyne Marshall – 1st Place Division V (sophomore women) and Betty Utter Award for Outstanding Singer Lower College Classical Division
                        Student of Laurie Lee Cosby
Kristen Buabin – 2nd Place Division V (sophomore women)
                        Student of Dr. Nicki Cohen
Laura-Beth Grentz – 1st Place Division VII (junior women)
                        Student of Laurie Lee Cosby
Joanna Ceja - tie for 1st Place Division IX (senior women)
                        Student of Beverly Hoch
Linda Hiort – tie for 1st Place Division IX (senior women) and James McKinney Award for Outstanding Singer Upper College Classical Divisions
                        Student of Beverly Hoch
Amy Lindsay – tie for 1st Place Division XIII (Adult Competitive) 
                        Student of Laurie Lee Cosby

page last updated 10/21/2014 10:13 AM